Finished Chimney and Fireplace Removal, PDC, The Motor Fight, Bricks, Kraken Cave - Thursday

in Homesteadinglast month

After getting the boys to school yesterday morning I spent couple hours working with the Arduino some more before I headed out to get some work done. We had clouds around all day with chances of rain and I had the fireplace only partially removed and a bit too exposed to the elements. So the next couple hours were spent taking it all apart. It was pretty wild and still amazes me that I hardly had to use a pry bar for any of the bricks, they just lifted off by hand as the mortar was just soft powder.

IMG_20240321_105105.jpg

So much sand and ash came out from the structure and I had to keep shoveling it off into a pile to get to the base of the chimney.

IMG_20240321_105114.jpg

The fire brick all came out and got set to the side while I tossed the red brick to a big pile. The metal header plates came out and I began pulling the bricks inside the wall but had to stop. I had pulled bricks so far that I could see inside the studio. There was still stuff on the mantle inside and things in front of the cardboard that had to move. By this point it was noon so I went to watch the PDC while doing chores in the house.

IMG_20240321_113229.jpg

It went faster than most as a lot of the matches were pretty lopsided. MVG lost again, (YAY) and Luke Humphries won the night.

IMG_20240321_133124.jpg

A little bit before I had to go pick the boys up from school I got my stepper motor delivered and I got it hooked up right away to test. This then became the point of frustration for the day as I worked to make all the pieces work together.

IMG_20240321_134304.jpg

I got the boys home and spent an hour futzing with the motor before I could drag myself away to get back to work. With the fireplace nearly out I had to clear the inside of the studio.

IMG_20240321_165630.jpg

I had taken out a lot of bricks from the outside and only had the face to remove from the inside.

IMG_20240321_165638.jpg

The mantle bricks lifted off with no resistance and I tossed them outside. I took it down a few courses then stepped outside to finish the removal.

IMG_20240321_165647.jpg
IMG_20240321_165951.jpg

There is now a huge gaping hole in the wall of the studio and I have to excavate the dirt along the bottom as I have to add bricks to fill in the foundation on either side of the central concrete. I grabbed my roll of painter's plastic and the stapler and got plastic up on the inside and outside to keep the elements out.

IMG_20240321_171007.jpg

I have all the wood I need to fill it in and will work on that these next days. Rain is forecast for the weekend so I at least want the wall up before it hits too bad.

IMG_20240321_171950.jpg

My new pile of brick that stands nearly 3 feet tall. It will all get moved this summer at some point to likely by the tool shed near the greenhouse.

IMG_20240321_171955.jpg

The Kraken came on after the NCAA wrestling championships were on which was wild to watch the "pros" and how insanely fast and strong they are, R saw a few matches. The Kraken did as expected and lost. I do it to myself watching the train wreck but it's hard to look away from the carnage.

IMG_20240321_200022.jpg

So I have moved the stepper to an Uno to try and avoid interference and have a SUPER simple bit of code and a button. Something is up with some part and I am trying to zone in on the problem exactly. The motor won't turn CCW even with the correct code and all the wiring exactly as it should be. Today I will break out my multimeter and make sure that the motor driver is actually working. I read that it does drop a couple volts so that could be my problem as I am using just 12v for its power and might need 14v+ to get it to move correctly.

IMG_20240321_202812.jpg

Today I have to get the hole in the wall closed up, work on the motor issue, clean around the house, I get my new #lora and will set them up, the boys to and from school and J has running club this afternoon, then I will have a fire going in the pit and will grill for dinner.


2024 Y/E Hive GoalsGoalCurrent+/- Goal+/Week
HP30,00024,776+237116
HBD Savings4,0302,636/18
Hive Posting Streak Days16811397/6


300x600-2
^Affiliate/Referral Link^


For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, following, and sharing!

You can Also Find Me On:

nostr icon.jpg

Donations or Tips



Zap Me ⚡️ Alby Addy.JPG btc.jpg Sparrow.JPG LBTC LBTC.jpg

!

Veteran.jpg


FFF Runic.png

Sort:  

https://inleo.io/threads/flemingfarm/re-leothreads-2fmhj6tck
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( flemingfarm ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

You think the Kraken were hard to watch.. Kentucky was on suicide watch..

Whenever a change has to be made inside the house like this, it is a hassle to remove all the stuff and work like this.

Your day was busy as usual
I love that!