Motor Fight, Filled Hole In Wall, Fire, Pileated Damage, Boys, Grilling, Kraken Crumble - Friday

in Homesteadinglast month

It is a seriously frustrating venture trying to get this stepper motor to work right and yesterday morning I spent hours fighting with it. I managed to FINALLY get a bit of code to move it smoothly without sounding like it was going to explode or grind itself to pieces. The dumb stepper libraries are not acting like they are supposed to from all the other people who can get it to work right... I am now stuck at the Arduino hangs after the motor moves 4 rotations, more to the point the motor driver hangs and I can't figure out how to get it to break out of the loop and restart correctly. The code should work but the stupid driver isn't responding right.

fight.JPG

After my fight in the early morning I managed to drag myself away and head out to get the wall built. There was rain to the south heading our way late in the day so I had to get it done before the weather hit. I grabbed a few sticks of 2x4 and cut them to fit the opening and frame it in. I had to fill in holes at the bottom with bricks and am going to have to use a can of spray foam to close off all the gaps. There isn't much but there is still gaps.

IMG_20240322_125815.jpg
IMG_20240322_130805.jpg

I was watching the clock and managed to get myself to the school on time to pick R up and as soon as I got back I dug out the sheet of OSB I had and got it cut to size.

IMG_20240322_142449.jpg

I had an hour to work before I had to go pick J and C up after running club and I was able to get all the wood fastened down over the hole. The bottom section sits a bit more shallow than the upper due to the thick wood the building is built with. I overlapped the pieces to cover the transition and again I will have to spray foam from the inside to fill gaps.

IMG_20240322_145702.jpg

It took me 10 minutes to get the tar paper stapled over the wood and the wall ready for weather. I was done in the exact timing to quickly head across the highway to pick the boys up.

IMG_20240322_150852.jpg

Back home after the rush I got things picked up from construction and the tools put away before I got the fire going in the pit for the evening. The pine needles gave it a nice flare and added a healthy amount of ash when burned. The ash needs to get spread around the gardens before I till. I have a trash can nearly full along with a tub and then the pit.

IMG_20240322_164045.jpg

@stryeyz got home from work and as we walked around the yard we noticed the damage to the fir tree. The red of the under bark was super bright and stood out distinctly. It is the tell tale signs of a Pileated Woodpecker tearing the bark from the tree in search of bugs.

IMG_20240322_172505.jpg
IMG_20240322_172511.jpg

The bark pieces are strewn about the base of the tree. I've generally only seen them do this to trees that are dying so I have a good idea the tree will come down this summer, along with the one next to it. I likely killed them by dumping the tons of grain over their root areas. We are not hurting for trees on the property though.

IMG_20240322_172521.jpg

The boys spent their time like this on the couch playing with the switches. C's mom stopped to pick him up on her way home and will do so each Friday they have running club.

IMG_20240322_173135.jpg

I kept the fire going through the evening and piled more needles and wood on, though the needle pile is still pretty big since it is slowly drying them.

IMG_20240322_191026.jpg

I got the burgers on to grill as the Kraken game came on. There was a glimmer of hope as the game stayed tied for the first two periods but then as per their norm they pissed it away in OT.

IMG_20240322_192032.jpg

They have gotten into the losing ways and don't want to let go it seems. Now at .500 for the season they got beat by the team below them in the standings.

IMG_20240322_193304.jpg

We went out to soak and I came in to see the loss. Kept poking at the code and can't for the life of me figure it out yet.

IMG_20240322_204652.jpg

Today it's raining and R has his last wrestling tournament for the year as we are NOT going to the one at the arena as it sounds absolutely awful. This afternoon once we are home I'm going to hopefully get out to the garden as the spinach needs to be planted still which will be good to do while it is raining the next days. I'll get a fire going to grill for dinner and then keep trying to get the stepper motor to work right.


2024 Y/E Hive GoalsGoalCurrent+/- Goal+/Week
HP30,00024,785+229122
HBD Savings4,0302,639/21
Hive Posting Streak Days16811398/7


300x600-2
^Affiliate/Referral Link^


For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, following, and sharing!

You can Also Find Me On:

nostr icon.jpg

Donations or Tips



Zap Me ⚡️ Alby Addy.JPG btc.jpg Sparrow.JPG LBTC LBTC.jpg

!

Veteran.jpg


FFF Runic.png

Sort:  

https://inleo.io/threads/flemingfarm/re-leothreads-25tkjcofc
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( flemingfarm ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

Manually curated by brumest from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

That tree is so tall
Do you have any idea of the name maybe mahogany and the likes?

We have Douglas Fir which is that tree and then Ponderosa Pine on the farm.

It's the same with housework. When something goes wrong, it's a big problem and needs to be fixed first. Good thing you've prepared a special meal for the kids and they'll be happy.