OWWWWWWW - Saturday

in Homesteading3 years ago (edited)

Well, THAT did not go how I was hoping.

In the afternoon yesterday I had gone out to the sheep pen to try and roll a new bale in. I was pulling the pallets that I have for the hay cage apart and had lifted the first one that was still tied to the others and as I let it go it fell and ran the corner of the 2x4 runner down my shin. At first I was not sure just how bad it was but it hurt like mad. It hurt really really bad.

After a minute of holding my leg and enduring the screaming pain I realized I had to get myself to the house before shock set in too much. The problem being I had the sheep pen fence open, them closed off from the watering area, and a couple hundred foot gimp to the house. I managed to get the gate opened, the fence closed, and to begin hobbling towards the house.

Anyone who has hurt themselves badly knows the feeling of shock as it begins to over take the body. I could feel my head pounding and then the sweat began to pour as the my body went into shock. I got halfway to the house and had to sit on the trailer so as not to pass out. After maybe 5 minutes I mustered the sense to finish hobbling to the house. Once inside I as able to lay down on the couch and had J get me a cold wet cloth to apply to the wound.

IMG_20210206_144305.jpg

When it first happened I had pulled the sock back to see a large lump under my skin below the bottom of the injury. It had me VERY worried that I had fucked up my tendons, maybe tore or cut one in the process. Though once in the house and the shock had subsided I was able to very gingerly test my foot to ensure that it could still move, the toes move, and nothing was seriously damaged.

That had sealed my day up and I was couch ridden for the rest of it. I managed to sleep okay last night though as it has rapidly gotten better. I can now put weight on it but am not able to walk correctly as the ankle is pretty swollen.

All that was just for an attempt to get the sheep a new bale of hay. Today I will get help and all of us will get the bale moved into the pen.

IMG_20210206_144311.jpg

Friday evening our Berkey water filter delivered and we have it setup and working. I am really stoked to finally have one as it has been in my wish list for years, pretty near to the freeze dryer which we have now. We got the Royal which has 4 filters possible but we are only using the 2 filters now. We have the R/O unit on the sink but that needs the well running to provide water, the Berkey is passive and needs no power. If the SHTF we have the creek to pull water from to filter.

IMG_20210206_141935.jpg

Now that I am all screwed up I am not going to be running for at least a week, which makes me pretty annoyed and frustrated since I JUST got back to it. It may be okay since it will be near zero F at night this coming week which would make for some seriously chilly runs in the mornings.

Today there is some game being played but first hopefully Liverpool destroys City. I will be trying to be productive but my leg is still really sore so I am going to have to try to take it easy.

Batch 29 will be done in a couple hours now after nearly 50 hours. I am anxious to see how the broth comes out and the cucumbers.


300x600-2
^Affiliate/Referral Link^


Play Rabona the new soccer manager game on Hive!
https://rabona.io?ref=flemingfarm
Signup With my Link and we BOTH get 25K RBN

For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, following, and sharing!


FFF Runic.png

Sort:  

Whoa that looks like you had a good time....

Your wound looks very painful! I am glad it wasn't any more serious, and that it is healing up. I think most of us at one time or another have tackled a job we thought we could do just fine, only something went wrong.

Momentary lapse of concentration was all it took. That is the general m.o. of most of my injuries.

Glad you are not hurt worse than you are, keep it elevated with ice on it to help the swelling. I'll be interested how your broth and cucumbers turn out.

Congratulations @flemingfarm! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the February 1st Hive Power Up Day

One of the first things we bought was the biggest (I think) Berkey filter. it has been in steady use ever since, just filled it this morning.

That injury sure does look awful! Wouldn't you know, it happens right when you just start running again...