Shelving Prep, Graduation, PDC and ManU, Shelf Building, Modem, Ram Fest - Thursday

in Homesteading11 months ago

Yesterday morning I tried to work smarted not harder and semi succeeded. The power to the Tardis is not on a very big breaker so I couldn't use my chop saw where the stack of lumber is, I had to take the lumber to the saw. I counted out the sticks I would need and loaded them into my truck to drive across the farm.

IMG_20230525_100936_HDR.jpg

I got within about 20 feet of the saw which was close enough.

IMG_20230525_101358_HDR.jpg

Then it was a load of measuring and cutting as I worked my way through the list of lengths I had made.

IMG_20230525_102114_HDR.jpg
IMG_20230525_103012_HDR.jpg

I had to cut 48 shelf boards each 4 feet long. I had spent a bit of time deciding on the size of the shelves and ended up with 3 sections each 4 feet wide. The half sized shelves (compared to the others I built at 8 foot shelves) are super strong since the boxes of books will be going on them.

IMG_20230525_103153_HDR.jpg

I stacked all the cut pieces in the truck bed then unloaded them into the Tardis.

IMG_20230525_104245_HDR.jpg

As I unloaded I counted again and found that I was off a few boards so I carried those back to the saw and cut them up.

IMG_20230525_113445_HDR.jpg

All the wood sat and waited for the afternoon.

IMG_20230525_113648_HDR.jpg

@stryeyz came home at lunch for J's Teach On To Lead One graduation at the school. The program is nationwide but we are the first school in Washington state to try it. The point is to teach the kids various qualities of leadership and I can only compare it to the Boy Scouts as the closest type of info they learned. The adults are volunteers from Spokane that came in once a week with the 3rd grade classes. We brought both boys home with us when done as it was half an hour before the end of school and I didn't need to drive back and wait for them.

IMG_20230525_125443_HDR.jpg
IMG_20230525_125448_HDR.jpg

Got home in time to see the end of the PDC Final where MVG broke the record with his 7th title. I swear he has Andre The Giant voice. I keep expecting him to yell, "HELLO LADY!"

IMG_20230525_134206_HDR.jpg

Then Man Utd put on a clinic against the crumbling Chelsea and secured their place in the Champion's League next season.

IMG_20230525_134227_HDR.jpg

Back out at the Tardis I got to work on the shelving construction. First was to mark all the legs where the rungs go. I had to mark 4 on both sides for the middle legs.

IMG_20230525_142022_HDR.jpg

Then I installed the rungs on all four leg sets.

IMG_20230525_142844_HDR.jpg

I set them against the wall of the Tardis then had to make room down the wall of the Tardis which meant moving all the boxes of books.

IMG_20230525_145607_HDR.jpg

I set the two lets inside and got them standing close the the right spot. I had heard UPS deliver so I went out to find that our new modem had arrived.

IMG_20230525_151649_HDR.jpg

Thus began the hour of getting the thing setup and our network settings correct. It is really nice to have ethernet again as we have more than enough wifi signals bouncing around as it is.

IMG_20230525_153309_HDR.jpg

After fighting the modem but eventually winning I was able to get out and build the first part of the shelves. I started installing the shelf boards from the bottom shelf up which allowed me to stand on the shelves to get to the upper ones which proved how strong they are. I had to be done as we were all heading out.

IMG_20230525_170707_HDR.jpg

We loaded up in the truck and headed up to the high school for Ram Fest on the football field and track. There were a bunch of vendors, different organizations like the community college and military, then a few food trucks and a bunch of games.

IMG_20230525_174144_HDR.jpg

We roamed around the field and the boys saw a bunch of their friends and classmates.

IMG_20230525_180413_HDR.jpg

Some solid storms built up but they all stayed to the west. This setup ended up building up into a nice cell that dumped on Deer Park just 7 miles west. We got street tacos from one of the trucks and sat and ate on the bleachers.

IMG_20230525_184509_HDR.jpg

The Guard had a climbing wall setup and a strength course. On the way out to head home J couldn't help himself and picked up the set of kettle bells and began lugging them down the grass. He managed to eventually get to the end then he looked down at the weights and yelled, "their 40 pounds each!" I was a bit surprised he was able to carry them as far as he did.

IMG_20230525_190810_HDR.jpg
IMG_20230525_190821_HDR.jpg

He got back to the start but just barely. Right before we were leaving the Coke trailer was giving away all the remaining root beers and J happened to be the first one to get one. I went over and grabbed a few as well to take home. AS we were watching J with the kettle bells kids were taking the sugar free cans of root beer and exploding them on the concrete, which I have to admit was rather fun to watch.

8428.jpeg

We were home in time for the sunset soak. I had the Stars game on and I was happy to see they managed to eek out a win and keep the series going. I hope they take it to game 7, even if they lose that means Vegas would have far less rest than Florida so hopefully that would be the nail in their coffin.

IMG_20230525_195126_HDR.jpg

Today I finish building the shelves and rearrange the Tardis, haul the grass to the sheep, a lot more weedeating needs to be done, I'm watching the winds constantly in hopes of kiting some more, I need o finish the cucumber strings in the greenhouse, and I hope to grill tonight so will have a fire going mid afternoon most likely.


300x600-2
^Affiliate/Referral Link^

High Liquidity, NO KYC Exchange


For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, following, and sharing!

Donations or Tips

Bitcoin : 1C6idTJBJ3CJJt9kHoKi4av1XLzg8eQ7rv

Capture.JPG


FFF Runic.png

Sort:  

https://leofinance.io/threads/flemingfarm/re-leothreads-myeheyk8
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( flemingfarm ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

Wowie! That sounds like a busy day! I love the shelves and they do look sturdy! We need something like that. I see they went into a container. We do a lot of projects with containers around here, including a few apartments and a tower even. We have to use metal as it holds up better than wood in the tropics.

I am surprised more construction doesn't use containers. They seem to be the perfect modular setup. It's bad enough with humidity here due to our creek but I can't imagine the tropics.

The humidity is high here during rainy season. We're in the mountains, so the temperature is nice. The containers hold up well here as long as they don't have any holes in them!

Nice Construction sir..Weldone. I really gain alot from your activities

You have put so much effort into creating a wardrobe, we can see the way everything has been done with so much discretion and the weather is going so well where you are going and this baby is so cute.

It was so crazy how we won Chelsea with so much difference
Hahahaha
I was able to throw some banners at their fans

Chelsea has been in melt down mode for weeks. Thankfully ManU picked up the points as they needed them.