Small Grain Run, Chiro, Water Feature, S9, LoRa, Garden, Practice, Trailer, Kraken Crumble - Monday

in Homesteadinglast month

Early run to town yesterday morning for a lighter load of grain. It had sat over the weekend but still had some heat to it. Amazing how well the grain retains the heat from brewing.

IMG_20240318_044912.jpg
IMG_20240318_045143.jpg

After getting the boys to school I got the grain spread out on the hillside which nearly finished covering the length of the open space. I don't need much more to finish the coating which is mainly to try and add some nutrients to the soil and hopefully choke out the weeds some. I'm sure it has been a smorgasbord for the deer.

IMG_20240318_085416.jpg

What bit of grain was left got dumped out for the birds in the pole garden.

IMG_20240318_085419.jpg
IMG_20240318_085610.jpg

I had my chiro appointment and after went to my client's house to startup his water feature and irrigation for the landscaping. It is a twice a year gig and it's always good to catch up after the seasons have passed. That took about an hour to finish then I headed for home.

IMG_20240318_105906.jpg

The greenhouse was warm but not TOO hot yet once I was home, thankfully, so I got the side rolled up and then went in the house. I checked my miner and saw that it had dropped out again, likely from overheating. So I called it on the greenhouse heating and moved it to the small room. It sits in the window now and blows the hot air outside while there is cool air inside.

IMG_20240318_132904.jpg

I went to go pick the boys up from school and brought a LoRa with. This was sitting half a mile from the house and 2 was talking to 1 which sat next to my computer in the house. This was my first ping test at some distance.

IMG_20240318_134509.jpg

After getting home my lipo holders had arrived so I got right to work on attaching them to the back of the LoRas.

IMG_20240318_150659.jpg

I drilled a hole in each case then bolted the battery holder to the case and the screw head sits perfectly away from components on the board. I will have to swap one out as I tried soldering to the wrong spot and will redo it to be stronger. Super stoked though that they are working and charging the batteries.

IMG_20240318_150707.jpg

I walked out to the greenhouse and looked up as I went through the door as I heard the mass of commotion. Swarms of flies that have hatched out in the heat were clamoring around the inside of the plastic.

IMG_20240318_154209.jpg

The rhubarb is just poking its heads up right now and soon should be blowing up in growth.

IMG_20240318_154349.jpg

I got dinner ready early, us fed, then took R to practice. It was a thinned night for kids with only about half showing up. He still has a blast though and has a bunch of friends there.

IMG_20240318_175639.jpg

On my way back to the farm I had LoRa #2 with and was watching for it to ping #1 on my drive back. LoRa works on line of sight so as I crested the rise on the highway to the north it suddenly pinged at 2 miles away. That is with #1 sitting inside the house. I am anxious to get solar on this thing to mount it up on top of the hill to see how far I can get the signal.

I hooked the trailer up again as I have been to town for grain already this morning. @stryeyz went to pick R up as he had asked her to, so J and I watched the start of the Kraken game.

IMG_20240318_190851.jpg

It was a blood bath. The Kraken have no chance of the playoffs now and last night really proved it. They got absolutely crushed by the only team that had not beaten them yet. It was sad to watch and I went out to soak knowing the inevitable outcome was going to be.

IMG_20240318_192301.jpg

R hung out a bit longer and enjoyed the nice hot water before he went in to bed. Practice can take a bit out of him, especially after getting the wind knocked out of him.

IMG_20240318_204419.jpg

I have been to town for grain this morning, a larger load which I will empty later after getting the boys to school. I'm going to have to wheelbarrow it to the last garden to spread so will likely back the trailer into the main garden for a while. The rest of the grain will get spread on the hill. Eventually I will have to get grain in the greenhouse before I till it.

I'm learning a lot with the #LoRa and #Mesh and am going to be getting a few more soon. Taking advantage of the dip in BTC to add more even though it is a daily habit now so price is a bit irrelevant.


2024 Y/E Hive GoalsGoalCurrent+/- Goal+/Week
HP30,00024,713+22453
HBD Savings4,0302,627/9
Hive Posting Streak Days16811394/3


300x600-2
^Affiliate/Referral Link^


For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, following, and sharing!

You can Also Find Me On:

nostr icon.jpg

Donations or Tips



Zap Me ⚡️ Alby Addy.JPG btc.jpg Sparrow.JPG LBTC LBTC.jpg

!

Veteran.jpg


FFF Runic.png

Sort:  

https://inleo.io/threads/flemingfarm/re-leothreads-dchyq4mk
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( flemingfarm ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

You always have so much things to do for the day
Keep it up!

Do you have more than 24 hours a day over there? I don't know how you manage to do so much between sunrise and sundown 😊

I wish, there's many days where there just isn't enough light to get done what I want to.

I can see you love working hard and making sure everything is done right.