SO MUCH SHOVELING, Trailer, Turkeys, Hay Path, Entry Mats - Tuesday

in Homesteadinglast year (edited)

Quite the winter we are having so far. The 20+ inches we have gotten has compressed to 14 inches plus an inch of ice at the bottom on the big stump in the yard. The weather had up to 10 inches over the next few days but that number is falling and is down to 8 inch max. That all meant that I had to get the driveway and paths all shoveled before it hits.

IMG_20221206_112345_HDR.jpg

I started on the driveway and was able to widen it a bit and take the center hump out.

IMG_20221206_133320_HDR.jpg

After picking the boys up I got the trailer hooked up for my grain run that I have done this morning.

IMG_20221206_141349_HDR.jpg

The paths all got cut with the push shovel then I cleaned the rest with the metal shovel.

IMG_20221206_151609_HDR.jpg

Jax is happy to have the paths cleared since the snow is about up to his belly otherwise.

IMG_20221206_151614_HDR.jpg

I was shoveling the circle drive near the coop and the turkeys all came huddling around me since they had emptied their feeder. They do this when it is empty, stand around me and stare at me and pip and chirp. They also like the cleared drive and paths and were quite happy to end up all perched on the trailer for much of the afternoon.

IMG_20221206_152753_HDR.jpg
IMG_20221206_152757_HDR.jpg
IMG_20221206_152802_HDR.jpg
IMG_20221206_152807_HDR.jpg
IMG_20221206_152813_HDR.jpg

I got the upper part of the circle cleared and part of the path to the trailer parking spot.

IMG_20221206_153241_HDR.jpg

Since the sheep and alpaca have worked their bale down pretty far it won't be too long before I have to get another one rolled in. With a foot and half of snow it would be near impossible to roll it so I got to shoveling. It took me about 20 minutes to cut a 5 foot wide path all the way up to the hay cage from the circle drive. The sheep and alpaca were all super curious and also now have easy access to their water trough so they aren't belly deep in snow to get to it.

IMG_20221206_155443_HDR.jpg

While I was shoveling the hay path UPS delivered our new American Floor Mats Waterhog mats. These things are outstanding and well worth the price. We now have one at each of the house doors and they do a superb job of protecting the floor. They are heavy rubber and waterproof, they stay in place very well, come in a large number of colors and size options, and are made in America.

IMG_20221206_161538_HDR.jpg

The dog would go running full tilt towards the double sliders and would skid into the old rug and bunch it all up in a ball. These new ones don't move and it has limited his speed as he runs to greet people at the door.

IMG_20221206_161613_HDR.jpg

My skin managed about half an hour before it freaked out on me, again. It is a bit better this morning thankfully but I will see how it goes today.

IMG_20221206_201424_HDR.jpg

I have been to town for grain this morning and will go empty the barrels in a bit. I need to try and dump one for the birds as they aren't getting into the sheep pen since the snow. I have an hour worth of lessons to get through which I am trying to do daily, clothes to wash, and always more snow to move.


300x600-2
^Affiliate/Referral Link^


Play Rabona the soccer manager game on Hive!
https://rabona.io?ref=flemingfarm
Signup With my Link and we BOTH get RBN

High Liquidity, NO KYC Exchange


For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, following, and sharing!

Donations or Tips

Bitcoin : 1C6idTJBJ3CJJt9kHoKi4av1XLzg8eQ7rv

Capture.JPG


FFF Runic.png


p

Sort:  

Hahaha silly turkeys, I am actually becoming a bit afraid of my Tom when he runs out of food, he puff-snorts at me! Sounds like a steam engine...

Thanks for the tour of your day in that winter wonderland, great work out there!

They are pretty funny. If your tom is like my older one he is huge and likely wouldn't be able to do much other than puff up at this point. Turkeys are so nice and mellow, especially compared to roosters.

So true, I call my male "The Floater" I could watch him float and twirl all day...

Congratulations @flemingfarm! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 9250 replies.
Your next target is to reach 9500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Round of 16 - Recap of Day 4
The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal
Our Hive Power Delegations to the November PUM Winners
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

That's just to much snow..

The boys would big to differ after I built the sled/snowboard run today. Runs the best of any I have built over the years.

Wow, what a weather you have over there.
That's quit a lot of snow and am sure this causes so much obstruction and you have to do these repeated cleaning.

Hope the weather isn't too cold as I can see the turkey doing pretty well.