Utd, Coop Latch, Tilling, Irrigation, Plastic, Fence, Planting Potatoes and Seeds, Matrix Marathon, Fire, Grilling - Sunday

in Homesteadinglast month

Woke with some serious TMJ pain yesterday morning which is still partly there this morning. I sat and watched the typical type of game from Man Utd where again they threw the game away in the end of the match. It should have been extra lopsided but somehow they managed to keep it close.

IMG_20240407_091924.jpg

My first task for the day was to fix the latch on the coop door. The tab broke holding my wire that actuates it. I had a vision the night before as I was going to bed of using a terminal lug which I quickly grabbed from my supplies.

IMG_20240407_094615.jpg

I used a yellow ring terminal and pulled the plastic off the end, bolted it to the latch, and reran the wire. This is actually what I wanted to start with so that the latch can be actuated manually. It is still not exactly right and I have more tweaking to do but it will hold a lot long than the old part I had on.

IMG_20240407_100027.jpg

Next was to the pole garden. I had to sweep it clean of sticks and large rocks, plus there was still roots from sunflowers that were like rocks.

IMG_20240407_101900.jpg

About half an hour later I had the whole garden tilled and the birds were like vultures swooping in as soon as I made a pass.

IMG_20240407_104434.jpg

Irrigation lines then went down.

IMG_20240407_105810.jpg

Then the plastic got pulled out and weighted down and the fence posts pounded in before putting up the fence.

IMG_20240407_111838.jpg
IMG_20240407_113028.jpg

After 2 hours I had the pole garden done and ready for planting. I headed to the basement and sorted out a tub of smaller spuds from the boxes then headed out to plant.

IMG_20240407_115636.jpg

These 2 rows got a spud per spot and ended up at 98 in total. I have 3 rows left that I can make wired for climbing stuff or I could just turn then whole thing into spuds... Not sure yet.

IMG_20240407_121905.jpg

I drove the tiller back into the main garden and to the top where I got the area south of the garlic tilled.

IMG_20240407_124259.jpg
IMG_20240407_125834.jpg

I was able to change the plastic a bit since the garlic is taking up some of the old rows. I pulled the plastic and got it all weighted down.

IMG_20240407_131519.jpg

I found I had to add some emitters on the ends of the lines as I had not planted as much prior in the rows.

IMG_20240407_153252.jpg

Some pretty old kohl rabi seeds I am trying and some NZ spinach which I know for sure grows super well here. The right hand row is going to get a line of fence put up and peas planted.

IMG_20240407_153356.jpg

Taking a bit of a break in the house I was a t the board for a bit. Seriously, everywhere but IN the bull?

IMG_20240407_160110.jpg

Around noon while I was out tilling the boys wanted to watch the Matrix movies so the afternoon saw the marathon playing in th3e house.

IMG_20240407_161119.jpg

I got a fire going in the pit a bit later but still in time.

IMG_20240407_165131.jpg

Beef chuck steaks then went on to grill and they turned out quite tasty. Made a salad to go with while the last Matrix movie played.

IMG_20240407_182931.jpg

Got out to soak and managed about an hour despite my skin being shitty.

IMG_20240407_202106.jpg

Today is eclipse day but at only 20% here I may glance at it but it's not that big of a deal. I thankfully have my chiro appointment this morning after I get the boys back to school after spring break, I have to keep tilling in the main garden, move 3 or 4 garlic, maybe plant more seeds or spuds, and the sheep are going to need a new bale rolled in soon.


2024 Y/E Hive GoalsGoalCurrent+/- Goal+/Week
HP30,00025,095+26730
HBD Savings4,0302,731/6
Hive Posting Streak Days16811414/2


300x600-2
^Affiliate/Referral Link^


For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, following, and sharing!

You can Also Find Me On:

nostr icon.jpg

Donations or Tips



Zap Me ⚡️ Alby Addy.JPG btc.jpg Sparrow.JPG LBTC LBTC.jpg

!

Veteran.jpg


FFF Runic.png

Sort:  

Matrix is a classic and those steaks 🤤 and holy crap, that's a lot of potatoes 😋

!PIMP
!PIZZA
!LOLZ


You must be killin' it out here!
@enginewitty just slapped you with 20.000 PIMP, @flemingfarm.
You earned 20.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 4/4 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

I haven't sold a single copy of my autobiography.
Sigh. That's the story of my life.

Credit: reddit
@flemingfarm, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of enginewitty

(4/8)
Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.

There will be a shit ton more potatoes come harvest time this year. I'm aiming for 1000lbs+.

Wow. That's just, wow. How much do you typically make on a potato crop?

This is my first year leveling up so I don't know. All I grew last year (488lbs) has been for the four of us and we went through more than half over the winter. I doubt it will make me much when I sell this fall but I don't know I will need 1k+lbs so will need them to go somewhere.

https://inleo.io/threads/flemingfarm/re-leothreads-mngrfqbt
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( flemingfarm ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

I have made it very near the path of totality and should get a proper eclipse view this afternoon!

Congrats on getting away for a while!

I made it, and I managed to pick a place where the skies were clear enough for a good view!

Congrats! It was cloudy here for the bulk of it but I caught just the beginning.

The difference between 99% and totality is almost indescribable. If you can make it to the one in the southwest in 2044, do it. I know from your previous posts that you've already traveled thataway before.

2017 was a pretty solid eclipse that I remember well. We have 20 years to prepare for the next one.

I saw that one, but it was only partial here in the Inland PNW. Were you in totality?

Your potatoes are so much
They look fresh too

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@enginewitty(4/15) tipped @flemingfarm