The Flicker Haven Farm Files-A Lavender And Raw Dairy Kind Of Day

in Homesteadinglast month


IMG_2887.jpg


Flicker Haven Farm Files page divider.png


Fun Kat-fact time: For about fifteen years I milked goats. As did my husband, and my kids. We all milked the capricious heathens.

Not that I wasn't thankful for them, and I truly believe that growing up on raw goat milk made my kid's immune systems beyond awesome, but holy hand towels on a hat rack is milking and keeping livestock a chore.

So, as I am on a livestock hiatus for a couple years, let's just say I am enjoying my break, but I do miss certain things, raw dairy being one of them.

Especially since I have been wanting to try a bit of raw A2A2 milk to see if my body would tolerate it since all other dairy has been verbotten.

Well, a couple weeks ago I saw that I got some new neighbors and that they had started a raw milk dairy. Now here's the thing, I am super fussy about any raw dairy that I ingest. Cleanliness, animal husbandry, etc. ALL of those things are a big deal to me if I am going to ingest something, so as curious as I was about the place, I was also a bit hesitant to go there until I had more recon.

Well, it turns out that one of my long time friends, who's a goat dairy farmer, is friends with my new neighbors, so that was a mark in their favor. Then, I read the diet that they fed their dairy stock: alfalfa, non-GMO dairy feed, and kelp, and that was yet another positive.

So, my neighbor and I just went for it.

IMG_2884.jpg

And I am so glad that I did. I cannot even describe to you how glorious my half gallon raw A2A2 certified Jersey milk is. I might have even poured myself a cup as soon as I got home. YUM!

Plus, Hoodoo Homestead is just an awesome set up. Everything from the animals condition to the buying experience is just so thoughtful and well-executed. And I know how hard it is to care for producing animals, so those folks have two new, very excited and satisfied and grateful customers.

IMG_2885.jpg

Also, the milk didn't cause any of my normal symptoms of digestive upset, autoimmune flu-like achiness, or general malaise, so I am over the moooooon! That said, I am going to ease myself back into the ingesting of the dairy realm. Okay, I am also going to make myself some butter, lacto-ferment me some veggies and craft ginger beer with the whey, and so on. You all know me.

The other area of intensity over the past day has been the lavender. Now that it is all bloomed out, it is essential oil and hydrosol distilling time. Lavender for EO and hydrosol production has to be cut before 10AM, so I am up early every morning (like I am not anyway lol), cutting a wheelbarrow load of blooms.

IMG_2889.jpg

I then wheel the blooms back to the hubs and we proceed to distill the fragrant awesomeness over a four hour period. The reason lavender products are so expensive is quite a few reasons fold. It takes a lot of time and flowers to get the product. Like, not counting the bloom cutting, it takes four hours to distill eight quarts of hydrosol and between one and two ounces of oil off of my lavendula augustifolia Munstead plants. (They are true English lavender, my French lavandin cultivar grosso yields more oil per the same amount of blooms).

IMG_2893.jpg

Our homemade, $80 still is one of my favorite things ever!

I just finished catching the last quart out of the still and the temp outside is 91 Fahrenheit. I am certainly glad to be in my nice, cool abode.

IMG_2894.jpg

Especially since my abode also smells incredibly delightful right now...

IMG_2895.jpg

And on that note, I am going to go find some restorative ice water before moving on to my next task, whipping up an experimental batch of lavender fudge!

IMG_2896.jpg


Flicker Haven Farm Files page divider.png


And as most of the time, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's thoroughly coated in a nice layer of hydrosol iPhone. The text divider image was made in Canva.


Sort:  

Spam alert. Lol

I have a video going up. If you want a good cry, watch, and watch me blubber and cry.

Tried attending my granddaughter's 7th birthday today, without my wife.

Not spam at all, just a friend letting a crazy busy friend know about something amazing! Sorry it's taken me so long to get to it!

!PIZZA

If you watch it, I hope you don't cry to much! ;)

Manually curated by ewkaw from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you!!!

First time seeing your stuff, love your setups! Never heard of A2A2 milk before today, I'm glad you were able to find an alternative so you can continue to enjoy some dairy in moderation!

Thanks so much! I am glad you found your way over here!

!PIZZA

Does the raw cow milk or goat milk taste like the condensed milk we usually have out there or it tastes differently?

Not sure what your condensed milk tastes like over that way, is it sweetened condensed or evaporated? Either way, raw goat and cow milk tastes sweet and creamy if treated right as soon as it's collected!

!PIZZA

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
generikat tipped croyston117
generikat tipped rafzat
@generikat(1/15) tipped @bradleyarrow

Very cool you have dairy again! And A2 milk on top of it!