And It Gets Hot... - June 24, 2022 @goldenoakfarm

in Homesteading2 years ago

Storm clouds crop June 2022.jpg

It looked like this Thursday night when I went to the barn for chores. But we didn’t get any of the threatened rain. I ran around when I got up at 5AM Friday morning and got the house opened up to cool down.

Friday morning when I went up to do chores, the barn swallow fledglings from the neighbor’s barn were sitting on the wire over the entry door, watching me go inside. The parents had left as I drove up, but the babies were curious.

New Herb - Row 3 cleaned out crop June 2022.jpg

I made it to the garden by 6:30AM and started digging mint roots. I think I got most of them in this area. There are more on the other side of Row 4. Then I had to dig out a lot of bee balm from the walkway. I brought it inside to go into the dehydrator.

New Herb - peppermint 1-2 cleaned out crop June 2022.jpg

This is the peppermint bed back where it belongs on one side. I also got half of it weeded.

New Herb - Row 4, baptista crop June 2022.jpg

In Row 4, the baptista is looking very good.

By 10:30 the sun was out and I was getting too hot. So I cleaned up and decided to work on a flowerbed in the shade.

West - before crop June 2022.jpg

This bed was totally overrun by coltsfoot, wood sorrel, chickweed, and 3 other weeds. I worked on it until I was back in the sun on the south end. I stopped there, with the tansy and comfrey left to do.

West - after crop June 2022.jpg

Now I can plant it.

Garlic scapes - 1-2 harvest crop June 2022.jpg

My helper friend was here and he got the seedlings fed and the garlic scapes harvested. This is only half of them. I offered them on BuyNothing and someone took half. I’m hoping the rest will go in the morning.

South - hollyhocks crop June 2022.jpg

The hollyhocks in the South garden

The weekend is to be in the 90’s and I’m hoping I can get out by 6AM and amend, layout, and plant Row 3. I would like to at least get the mulch down on the south side. If I can, then my son can bark mulch the 2nd walkway. But I expect I will be done by 10:30 as it will be too hot for me.