Both Gardens Planted - June 16, 2022 @goldenoakfarm

in Homesteading2 years ago

Small garden - amended crop June 2022.jpg

Thursday morning I was on my own. I decided to get the cleaned compost under cover. It was still dry and it was supposed to rain Thursday night. I filled 2 large totes with it and got it in the Tonka garage.

I discovered when I got back there that 2 totes of amendment for the Little trees had been left outside yesterday. I wrassled them into the Tonka garage also. All these were a bit too heavy for 1 person, but must needs...

Then I set about getting ready to plant the Small garden. First I put the custom amendment mix down on the cleared area, saving some for the area with the mulch pile.

The day was cool, in the mid 70's, cloudy, and a good breeze was blowing. It was very pleasant to work out there.

Small garden - plants in and mulched crop June 2022.jpg

Then I went through the seedlings and selected the ones I needed for this garden. There were 18 hills and each had 3 plants. There were:

Little Dipper Butternut Squash
Desert Zucchini
Good Egg Godiva Pumpkin
Sweet REBA Acorn Squash
Slick Pik Summer Squash
Moonshine Pumpkin
Sweet Meat squash
Sunshine Kabocha Squash
Small Ornamental Gourds
H19 Little Leaf Cukes ( 2 hills)
Kakai Seedless Pumpkin
PMR Delicious Melon
Sugar Baby Watermelon
Tendersweet Orange Watermelon

I decided to mulch around the plants of each hill as we were to have thunderstorms in the night.

Small garden - 1st 5' of mulch down crop June 2022.jpg

It was nearly 11:30AM when I finished planting. I started to mulch from the pile, but only managed 5' before I had to stop.

Robins after worms1 crop June 2022.jpg
Robins after worms2 crop June 2022.jpg

I started to put equipment away and noticed a daddy robin teaching his offspring how to find worms. (Sorry for the poor photo quality, shaky hands, long distance...) Obviously the robin family from the shed have fledged and are being taught to live on their own.

On Friday my helper friend will be late coming but my backup helper will be here at 8AM. I plan to get out early as it will be cool and cloudy again. I hope to finish the mulching.

Sort:  

Those birds look so cute! Much work done by yourself alone!! That would be too demanding for my injured muscles!

Still waiting for complete healing.

Grey sky with cool breezes! This is good for gardening!

Ooh cool so many big plants all in one space, will it be completely taken over come fall with vines? :)
Let's see if the beer fridge has been refilled...
!BEER

Yup, a solid mass of vines by August...


Hey @goldenoakfarm, here is a little bit of BEER from @phoenixwren for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.