Apocalyptic Homesteading (Day 1121)

in Homesteading5 months ago

Hello Everyone!

A long day without naps, An eggnog overload, Less clouds more sun, Another cold snap & Feeling better!

Alright, the sun set a good while ago but I am still more or less on time with my writing routine... which is always a good thing. Having that sort of consistency to my day makes a big difference... and often times now if I had not been trying to adhere to it... I would have failed to make a daily entry at all.

As far as days go it was a rather 'full' one because I got up not all that long after dawn... and remained up the rest of the day without napping. My memory is a bit hazy on exactly when I fell asleep last night... but it was much earlier than when I have been falling asleep for close to a week now.

After my supply run yesterday I drank a bunch of cheap eggnog (that I had purchased) and even mixed some in with some cereal and 'lactose free' milk. Since I do not usually get milk at all... and the sticker shock of what it cost made me not want to get it... I settled for the inexpensive 'lactose free' milk.

My thinking with it all was that since I cannot really chew food much at the moment... that I would get some breakfast cereal (another item that I never get) because it was much cheaper than the tiny cardboard canisters of 'quick oats' (oatmeal) that they have for sale there. One thing that I learned last night (after getting a bit of a queasy stomach) is not to consume too much (at one time) of that 'milk' mixed with eggnog... poured over cereal!

Anyways, the weather cleared up some and although it was not super sunny... most of the cloud cover had moved out of the area. I am really glad that same storm system missed here... because it spun up what sadly turned out to be several fatal tornadoes north of here.

Since it is going to freeze again tonight I had to do all the freeze prep... and get the water system taken offline per usual. I once again procrastinated doing it until just before dark... but I at least got all the water jugs filled first... and made sure the chickens were watered... unlike what happened last time when I was kind of sleep walking while taking the system offline.

That chicken that had the little tussle with the dogs the other day seems fine and does not seem to be injured. The more that I have thought about it the more that I think that the whole affair may well have been over an egg... because she has been super broody lately.

On a different note. The new berm that I have been working on held up well through all that recent rain... and I am super glad that I took the time to add those extra leaves, clay and topsoil to it when I did. It also seemed to do a pretty good job at diverting the runoff water from the solar shack... so all in all it even performs its intended function!

In other news my teeth only hurt a little last night and some of the soreness in my chin has receded... so it seems like my combination of taking amoxicillin and ibuprofen is working. I was definitely still feeling feverish last night... but today I have not felt my body heat up like that again... which is a good sign that I am on the mend.

IMG_2023-12-11-17-43-42-862.jpg

It was a neat looking sunset!

Thanks for reading!

hive-banner.png

Please check out the Homesteading Community:
https://peakd.com/c/hive-114308/created

Homesteading Resources:
https://peakd.com/hive-114308/@jacobpeacock/homesteading-resources

Want to join Hive?
Sign Up Via My Referral Below!
https://peakd.com/register?ref=jacobpeacock

hive-banner.png

That Is All For Now!

Cheers! & Hive On!

All content found in this post is mine!

BTC Donations & Tips are appreciated!

bc1q0hgsylf3e5g6ycd6mdv0cs6cffvh5epy7233xm

Sort:  
Loading...

I am so happy to hear about your teeth feeling better. When you get rid of all of the infection go to a consultation with a dentist and see what he can do to help you.