Sort:  

I did not know that it was bad for dogs, poor Sebastian, :(

That was such a great dog. One of the first real things that I ever wrote was the story of him getting killed by that monster sized alligator. The look on all the kid's in class (and the teacher's) face when I read that aloud is stamped in my memory forever. I think it was our first writing assignment after summer vacation and the prompt was 'What did you do over the summer' or something like that. I think I wrote it in two parts and the first part was about camping on an island.

Yes he was a good dog for you kids. Having to work so much, camping was always something I looked forward to doing with ya'll.

Those camping trips had a huge impact on me and definitely helped to shape the course of my life. Doing it two weeks every summer and one week every spring was amazing.

Yes it did, I loved it not only for me but all of you. It would be hard to do now since there are no fish houses to get water and ice from.

Yeah and I doubt that the islands are as nice as they once were not to mention how many more people are probably using them. The litter and rats are probably nuts at this point.

Some of the islands we camped on are underwater now, others only have a couple of trees left on them. The big island where Victor broke his arm is one with a couple of trees, and the same with the one to the north, but the one to the south still looks the same. These are the three islands across the channel from the boat ramp.

The last time I camped with Kat and all the grandkids was in 2017 on Judahs Island, it is now two islands. I would not camp without a dog to keep the rats away. Litter is not bad, most people do clean up after their selves but finding a fresh hole in the woods to dig for a toilet is a problem.