You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Apocalyptic Homesteading (Day 1248)

in Homesteading15 days ago

Do you remember the time when we lived in the highlands and came back from camping, standing at the front door the fleas covered my feet. I bought a big box of Borax and poured it all over the floors, Donny said it looked like cocaine on the floors, lol. I read somewhere that it cut the fleas when they crawled through it. It worked because we did not have them anymore.

Sort:  

Yeah I remember that and think of it every time I wind up having to deal with fleas. Unfortunately Borax is not good for dogs. Food grade (or animal safe) Diatomaceous earth works super well but I am tired of breathing it.

I did not know that it was bad for dogs, poor Sebastian, :(

That was such a great dog. One of the first real things that I ever wrote was the story of him getting killed by that monster sized alligator. The look on all the kid's in class (and the teacher's) face when I read that aloud is stamped in my memory forever. I think it was our first writing assignment after summer vacation and the prompt was 'What did you do over the summer' or something like that. I think I wrote it in two parts and the first part was about camping on an island.

Yes he was a good dog for you kids. Having to work so much, camping was always something I looked forward to doing with ya'll.

Those camping trips had a huge impact on me and definitely helped to shape the course of my life. Doing it two weeks every summer and one week every spring was amazing.

Yes it did, I loved it not only for me but all of you. It would be hard to do now since there are no fish houses to get water and ice from.

Yeah and I doubt that the islands are as nice as they once were not to mention how many more people are probably using them. The litter and rats are probably nuts at this point.