You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Exercise? (re)Gaining Health?

in Homesteadinglast year

Doing your own yard work is great exercise and you get both health and savings benefits. I love seeing a DIY maintained yard. Two thumbs up Jerry for taking the challenge head on.

And at our age, the short work sessions is key. I do the same thing.

Would be very interested in hearing how the mower works out over time. I use gas powered for mowing, trimmer, blower and battery for hedger, edger. I do my own small engine repair, but do love the simplicity of battery, so don't really prefer on over the other, both have pros and cons.

Hope the high winds this past week finally subside as it's interfering with Spring cleanup here.

Sort:  

I do my own small engine repair
If I could do that, I've probably have gas powered things, but the battery powered things are working out well so far.
I have an EXCELLENT "Ego" Blower

Which is quite powerful, and will run a LONG time. I wanted a mower by them, but couldn't find one to suit my budget, yet
Thanks for commenting @nthtv

It's an excellent choice to go battery for the smaller engines. I crank n crank and crank to get my blower started to the point I'm half exhausted before I even start lol. 2 cycles engines you just can't adjust like a bigger 4 cycle.

On the other hand, my batteries seems to die after 2 or 3 years, while my gas mower is still young and purring like a kitten at 21 years old (dang, just jinxed it). However, maintenance on gas powered engines is time consuming and meticulous. Choose your poison.

I am sure His Majesty prefers quieter, in all things. My outdoor kitty asks each season, "Could you cut the lawn with scissors this year, pleeeeze..."