Clearing My Farmland in Anticipation Of New Planting Season

in Homesteadinglast year

Almost all that was cultivated on my farmland has been harvested. The Maize has been harvested, sun-dried and dehusk. Only the Cassava Remains, still has a couple of months to go before it will be matured enough for harvesting and consumption. So I decided to clear the land that lay bear, getting rid of weeds as the new planting season sets in.

Since we harvested our maize, the maize stem still remains and weed has taken over the area, so I decided to clear the land, myself along with some guys went to the farm early this morning, we took a handful of cutlass, sharpened it and some hoes, some rubber boots and a head gear for protective measures.

The weeds and maize stem were getting dry already been that we are presently in harmattan time here, so it was not easy getting the work done as it would have been if it were during the raining season.

We faced the work squarely only taking time out for break in-between fue to thw scorching sun and to eat some snack and water. After the the weeding, we gathered the weeded dirty to one side so that later we can set it ablaze.

Before we round up the days work, we weed in-between my cassava crop too. Some weeds that were competing with it for nourishment, so that they don't stunt it's growth.

Having done all the above, I took some selfie, this was after I had giving the guys that worked with a tip, then we call it a day. With the cost of things this days one has to be proactive and make use of any opportunity that comes by, produce from my farm has help me reduce the expenses that goes into purchase of food drastically. You can give a try also, like a small garden within your house premise.

Thanks for coming by my blog, do have productive day. @Seunny loves you...

all pictures used are mine except stated otherwise

Sort:  
Thank you for sharing this post on HIVE!

Your content got selected by our fellow curator jasonmunapasee & you just received a little thank you upvote from us for your great work! Your post will be featured in one of our recurring compilations which are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within the DIY scene of Hive. Next time make sure to post / cross-post your creation within the DIYHub community on HIVE and you will receive a higher upvote ;) Stay creative & HIVE ON!


Please vote for our hive witness <3

A!mglad to hear that,you will see more of me on @diyhub soon

That sounds fantastic. We'll be looking forward to seeing more of your work for sure. Keep up the good work.

Thanks 👍

Congratulations @seunny! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 600 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 700 upvotes.
You received more than 3500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 3750 upvotes.
You made more than 700 comments.
Your next target is to reach 800 comments.
You got more than 600 replies.
Your next target is to reach 700 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Recap of Day 9
Hive Power Up Day - December 1st 2022
HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Check your ranking
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Thanks @hivebuzz , your consistency at keeping me updated mean a lot to me, I hope to work towards achieving the new targets. I am greatful

Wow, four badges in a row, that's awesome @seunny! 🎉🎉🎉

Am glad to hear that, I look forward to getting new badge

Oh my, you made me remember my parents cassava farm in delta state. It was extremely vast. We go there to harvest the cassava clear the land immediately and plant the cassava stems. It was always fun. A lot of people come to buy the cassave roots we uprooted we go home with some to make fufu, and African salad.
Well done dear please I would be glad to have some cassava roots 🤣👍.

Thou it use to be fun back then, it's now I understand how tedious it is, our parent are really trying. Stem is available but distance is the issue o, how's been your day