Fumbling Toward Jesus: Keeping Negative Thoughts In Check

Our thoughts can exist as a positive force within our lives, or they can be a serious detriment. What we spend our time thinking about impacts our relationships with self, with others, and with God. It’s important to keep them in check.

Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.

Philippians 4:8

As a person who deals with chronic patterns of negative cyclical thinking, this verse is another waypoint on the road to recovery. The negative thoughts that creep into our minds require mindful discipline to quell before they consume.

I spent years feeling like I had no control over my thoughts, and that simply isn’t so. Obviously, we’re humans. We’re sinners. We have thoughts in our subconscious mind that come and go—sometimes they’re fleeting, and other times they want to hang out—but it is up to us to remain alert to catch them early.

Remember, every fire begins with a small spark. Our thoughts can definitely be a wildfire if we don’t extinguish the flames when they’re small.

Social media has been a huge element in my own life that I’ve had to figure out how to navigate with some kind of mental control and discipline. Facebook, in particular. As a musician in my local and regional market, Facebook is necessary to use to book gigs. That’s where my money comes from. At this point, I can’t just totally leave it behind. It would be like quitting a job without calling in or giving notice.

However, instead of simply getting my work done there, I have had an awful tendency to get on there and just compare myself to everyone. This triggers those negative cyclical thoughts and then I find myself engaging in a destructive and sinful pattern, which is unhealthy both to my own mind, and in my walk with God. I’ve been working diligently to reign that in as soon as the feelings show up—I quickly remove myself from the scenario to achieve some perspective.

To achieve that perspective, I typically get out my Bible and start reading. Sometimes that reading is pointed and direct, and other times I will simply open it up and see what God wants to say to me through a “random” Bible passage. It blows my mind to observe all the ways God can and will speak to us.

Over the past few months, I’ve spent a lot of time hitting a reset button within my own thought processes. I no longer seek to escape my reality through chemicals, but rather I seek to embrace my reality and all of its trials as part of my journey to sanctification.

...and when I mess up, which I do...a lot...I am working to not be so hard on myself, but instead to pray and repent and make all efforts to make it better the next time I’m faced with a fast trap.

But you, O Lord, are a shield about me,
my glory, and the lifter of my head.
I cried aloud to the Lord, and he answered me from His holy hill.

Psalm 3:3

Finding the lessons in the dark moments will help bring you into the light.
If then you have been raised with Christ, seek the things that are above, where Christ is, seated at the right hand of God. Set your minds on things that are above, not to things that are on earth.

Colossians 3:1-2

Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed b the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good an acceptable and perfect.

Romans 12:2

It is ever-important in this day of social media and invasive technology, that we remember to set our sights on Godly things, and resist the temptations of the world that are ever-present and can apply heavy pressure vying for our attention. For as it says in 1 John 5:21, “Little children, keep yourselves from idols.”


The Praises section of my prayer journal also really helps me to keep myself in check. Proverbs 17:22 says, “A joyful heart is good medicine,” and I couldn’t agree more with that sentiment.

Taking the time to give your praises and blessings the attention they deserve and giving the thanks and praise to God that He deserves is also a nice moment to step back from the negativity.

We should always strive to perpetually remember that we are truly in God’s loving care, and that as believers we possess and have access to those ”fruits of the spirit” as mentioned in Galatians chapter five: love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. These are all good things and should give us confidence in our journey as we work to become closer to him in body, soul, and mind.

Joy is a natural by-product of our salvation. Lean into Him, and you lean into joy.



Remember Peter Pan? Even he was required to think lovely thoughts to activate his ability to fly, and it’s no different for the Christian! Like any discipline, this is hard work, and we’ll mess up a lot—that’s what fallible humans do. However, as long as we are committed in spirit to fumbling upward, next time we will do better. Resisting mental temptations builds our confidence in Him, and He builds our strength. With Him, you can do it; He will deliver you! <3

<>< <>< <>< <>< <>< <>< <><

1. What methods do you utilize to keep your thoughts in check?

2. What are your favorite Bible verses of comfort for you in the negative moments?

(Mine is 1 Peter 5:7)

Drop a comment below, and let’s grow together in His grace!

<>< <>< <>< <>< <>< <>< <><

I am Jessamyn Orchard (@jessamynorchard), and I am a former youth pastor, worship minister, and church lay leader, who graduated from a Christian college. Most recently, however, I’m an addict in recovery who rededicated my life to Jesus about 6 months ago. I was raised in church, and saved at age 12, but I did a lot of straying over the past 10+ years, falling into pits of sin through addictions and self-pity. I’m no authority, just a believer in a big God and called to spread His word through as many conduits as present themselves to me. Fumbling Toward Jesus is a multi-media ministry campaign and includes a written blog of daily devotions on Steemit and an accompanying monthly podcast on Anchor.fm, and it represents years of study—both over the years and lately, and now combined with a whole load of human experience. I’m just a super nerdy sinner saved by a really awesome grace.

Do you need a Bible?

Download YouVersion Bible for iOS and Android: Benefits include multiple popular and hard-to-find translations, tons of Bible Study programs and Reading Plans by modern and historic scholars, built-in social media platform, and it’s FREE!

Download eSword Study Bible for PC: Benefits include extensive translations, commentaries, scholarly materials, customizable format, and more!



Fumbling Toward Jesus Introductory Post in Steemit Christian Felllowship

Featured Past Fumbling Devotions:

A Sinful Woman Forgiven Series:
Part I,Part II, Part III, Part IV

When Depression Strikes

The Discipline of Darkness

Prayer Request Wednesday Initiative Introductory Post



Scripture quotations are from The ESV® Bible (The Holy Bible, English Standard Version®), copyright © 2001 by Crossway, a publishing ministry of Good News Publishers. Used by permission. All rights reserved.
All stock photography is sourced exclusively from pexels.com. It is used with permission, and all photo editing is done by me.


Thank you for reading Fumbling Toward Jesus on Steemit! Your upvotes, resteems and follows are graciously received and appreciated.

............

Follow Fumbling Toward Jesus on Steemit for daily devotionals, encouragement, prayer requests, and MORE!