Open Church: Come just as you are

Welcome to church! Open Church is a weekly post that aims to be a place where Christians on Hive can hang out, encourage and build up one another, and reflect the love of Christ. The church is not a building, but is made up of people who have been transformed by God’s grace.

Each week I will be putting up a new post with a new topic or theme for discussion. But feel free to come here just to fellowship and be a blessing to one another. Whatever denominational background your from, or if you’re just curious about the Christian faith, everyone is welcome.

So feel free to share a link to your favourite worship song, share a word of encouragement, a prayer request, or introduce yourself.

Today’s theme is: Come just as you are

In John 4, we read the account of Jesus’ encounter with the samaritan woman. There’s so much for us to learn from the passage, but today I just want to focus on the following.

Jesus meets us exactly where we are. He offers living water for us to drink freely, so that we will never thirst again. God knows every detail of our lives, the depth of our sins, yet He still accepts us and draws us to Himself.

As Christians, we sometimes have the tendency to pretend everything is OK, but God knows every detail about us. So today, as we gather as family, feel free to come just as you are, and share anything that’s on your heart; whether it’s a word of encouragement, a scripture, or something you want the community to praye for you about. Feel free to share. And please engage with comments from other brothers and sisters here. And let’s pray for one another and build one another up in the faith.


IMG_1769.PNG

Sort:  

This is so cool. “I Can Do All Things Through Christ Who Strengthens Me "

Thanks for the wonderful word. Sometimes we are even unaware we are pretending. That's one of the major probkems. I pray God opens our eyes to all sort of pretence so that we can come to him in truth

Congratulations @nextgen622! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your board and compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Revolution! Revolution!
HiveBuzz - Hive Gamification Experience
Vote for us as a witness to get one more badge and upvotes from us with more power!

Wonderful to be able to come here every week to share. Jesus accepts us as we are, but does not keep us the same when we accept him. His Word is transformative to make us grow in faith and announce to the world that He first loved us!
it is something we must not forget in order to get ahead regardless of the circumstance.
Thank you @nextgen622, for this moment infinite blessings.

Amen. Indeed, God accepts us and meets us where we are, but transforms us more and more into Christ likeness as we trust and seek Him.

Excellent welcome for all who want to drink from the water of life that the Samaritan woman drank, even though God knew her condition did not reject her, she showed her the true way and she became an Evangelist in her community. My reading for today was: Let us therefore approach the throne of grace confidently, to obtain mercy and find grace for timely help.
Hebrews 4:16

God bless you Brother @nextgen622

Amen. Blessings to you too.

This is a habit I really need to get into...I sit here, read the bible daily, do my devotionals, deep prayer...But as soon as I come to HIVE....I forget to take part in this community.

Urgh.

Appreciate this post.

May God give you the Grace to actively participate in this fellowship.

Know what you mean brother. I forget to drop by into my own community sometimes. There’s just too much happening on Hive. I need to remind myself to check in here regularly. :)

Here I am coming boldly to the throne of Grace. I have made up my mind and chosen to surrender to the Lord. I need his grace every day to overcome all my fears in this life.

Amen. Yes we need God’s grace every day.

Lord, here I come,just as I am. I lay before the throne of grace and I pour out all unto you. I surrender to you everything, withholding nothing.

Jesus meets us exactly where we are. Yes, but HE takes us to where he is.

Come just as you are. Yes, but he make a brand new man out of your old self.

There is no situation he cannot turn around for our good and to his glory.

"He makes all things NEW".

Amen! Well said brother.

Wow! I love this initiative.

Not forsaking the assembling of ourselves together, as the manner of some is; but exhorting one another: and so much the more, as ye see the day approaching - Hebrews 10:25
It is important to exhort one another and help everyone grow, while we reach out to those who will be saved.

Amen, fellowship is so important. Welcome to the community.

  • Glad to be part of this community I must sa
    My question is that can I upload the same post I uploaded in another community created by me community though related to Christianity and spirituality?

For example, I uploaded a post created by me and free from spam and plaglairsm titled Christ on the gem community, can I also upload that same post called Christ to this community? Or it is not allowed

Welcome to the community. If you go on peakd.com, there is a cross-posting feature where you can cross post your posts into another community. However, I think posting rewards on the cross post is burned.