Half Marathon Training Log #1

in Bee a Better You3 years ago

I will be running a Half Marathon during the annual Cebu City Marathon this coming January.

So as I continue (and be more serious) with training, I want to bring you guys with me as I prepare for the event.

image.png

Screenshot from Cebu City Marathon Website

Today's Run

Today, my goal was to cover a 10km milage. I was not particular on the speed and the stops I had to take. As it turns out, it didn't suck as I anticipated it to.

image.png

I feel very energetic and I don't feel tired. Over-all I felt light and happy during the training. I think I also have to give credit to a wonderful nap I had this afternoon and the warm cup of coffee, of course, before training.

I also need to give credit to my choice of place today.

Today's Venue

Today's training was done in Consolacion. Specifically the "park" at the back of CityMall. I have only been here thrice, including today, but I have never been here in the afternoon.

It was the perfect decision. The park had so much life and energy. I didn't know that people go there to play badminton, sepak takraw, and volleyball. To be honest, I wanted to just stop the run and just watch the game and hopefully someone get injured and ask me to play as substitute (75% kidding). 👼

Kids were playing with their skateboards, there were also people doing laps in their bikes, and there were even a group of teenagers practicing a dance routine. It all just reminded me of how it was before the pandemic.

It all made me feel happy and grateful that we are finally becoming less restricitve of the activities we can do. I do hope we don't get another surge. But that's a topic for another post.

Here are just some picture from today!

Today's Listen

Today's playlist is a throwback. Here are some of the songs that I forgot I liked.
I'm listening to the 2000s Mix playlist Spotify made for me.

image.png

Kitchie Nadal's Same Ground reminds me of the popular Kitchie Nadal Medley in the Karaoke. (share ko lang)

Today's Take Away

  1. Going outside make you happy.
    I haven't been feeling myself in the past few days. It was a good decision to go out today and be active. Being outside and being active was a good combo to help with the mood. Almost instantly, i felt better.
  2. It gets better.
    Today's goal was 10K and I haven't ran that long for a while. During the first 3-4km, I didn't feel good and it occured to me to just stop at 5km and try again tomorrow. But after the 4th km, it felt better, my legs didn't feel heavy, and I was breathing better also.
    It was a learning for me to be patient as my body warms up and adapts. Sometimes we just have to wait a little longer until it get better because it will.
  3. Focus on the fun.
    Looking fun things helps me keep my mind off of the run. If I don't distract myself, I find myself noticing the inconvenience the training brings. So a good playlist, enjoying the outdoors, and even looking for some occasional eye-candies made today's run, fun.

That's it for Log #1!

PSA: If you will be running or know someone who might also be running the race this January 2022, train with me, please. I need friends.

Sort:  

Asa ka nagregister Jan? Kuyog ko bi. HAHA

https://cebumarathon.myruntime.com/register/virtual-run
Let's gooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!!!!!

what does it mean na "virtual"

Wala gyuy actual event na people gather to run together. You just run in your own time tapos use lang an app to track your distance and time. once done kai send sa organizers and they will send you your finishers' medal and shirt. :)

Hoeeee. im tempted to join you guys.

Let's goooooooooooooo!!!

Congratulations @jannuslim! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 600 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from Day 18

The first km or so we often start out slightly too fast, and then the next few seem harder than they should. I'm glad you kept going and were able to enjoy the rest of the run 😀