Scoops of Solace A Songkran Festival Story

in CCH15 days ago

สีเขียว สีขาว ท่องเที่ยว ทะเลหมอก ฤดูหนาว ภาพประกอบ เรียบง่าย Facebook Post.png

Hello everyone

During the bustling Songkran Festival, a cherished time for Thai people marking the advent of the Thai New Year, my sister found herself tirelessly toiling away at work. Despite the festive air swirling around us, she hadn't the luxury to pause, and I willingly lent a hand to lighten her load. As the scorching sun beat down, I found myself craving something sweet and refreshing to combat the sweltering heat. Glancing around the vibrant atmosphere of the Lotus food court , my eyes alighted upon an ice cream parlor beckoning with promises of cool indulgence.

Without a second thought, I joined the queue eagerly awaiting my turn to place an order. The anticipation danced within me as I imagined the blissful relief of creamy, chilled sweetness against my parched tongue. And in that moment, amidst the hustle and bustle of the festival, I found solace in the simple pleasure of savoring a delicious ice cream.

IMG_20240414_105739.jpg

IMG_20240414_110012.jpg

With eager anticipation, I finally reached the front of the line and ordered a scoop of mango sticky rice ice cream, a flavor I had heard raved about but never tasted myself. As the creamy confection was handed to me, adorned with chunks of ripe mango and swirls of sticky rice, I couldn't resist taking a moment to admire its beauty before indulging.

IMG_20240414_105939.jpg

IMG_20240414_105945.jpg

The first spoonful sent a burst of tropical sweetness dancing across my taste buds, the familiar flavors of mango and sticky rice perfectly harmonizing in every creamy bite. It was indeed as delicious as I had hoped, a delightful blend of familiar tastes with a refreshing twist.

Savoring every last spoonful, my sister and I soon finished our ice cream treats, feeling rejuvenated by the cooling respite they provided. But our respite was short-lived, as duty called once more. With a renewed sense of energy, we set out to fulfill the orders placed by eager customers, delivering the ingredients they sought to enhance their own celebrations of the Songkran Festival.

IMG_20240414_132921.jpg

IMG_20240414_133147.jpg

As my sister and I embarked on our delivery journey, we made our way towards the Moei River, where a vendor had set up a temporary food shop along its banks. This spot, nestled beside the tranquil waters, only sprang to life during the vibrant days of the Songkran Festival.

IMG_20240414_133045.jpg

IMG_20240414_133043.jpg

The Moei River, a natural boundary separating Thailand and Myanmar, held a special significance during this time of year. Its normally expansive waters dwindled in the summer heat, shrinking to such an extent that one could easily traverse its breadth on foot. Yet, despite its seasonal transformation, the river remained a vital link between the two neighboring nations.

IMG_20240414_133107.jpg

IMG_20240414_133125.jpg

IMG_20240414_133449.jpg

However, amidst the festivities, a somber reality cast its shadow. The ongoing conflict in Myanmar had intensified, prompting Thailand to tighten its border security measures. With tensions escalating, the border crossings were heavily monitored, and strict regulations were enforced, denying entry to those seeking refuge or respite.

Despite the buoyant atmosphere of the festival, the weight of geopolitical strife hung in the air, a poignant reminder of the complexities that often underlie such celebrations. As we delivered the ingredients to the vendor along the riverbank, we couldn't help but be reminded of the stark contrast between the joyous revelry of the festival and the sobering realities of the world beyond its bounds.

IMG_20240414_133452.jpg

IMG_20240414_133232.jpg

IMG_20240414_133501.jpg

Thank you for your support
ขอบคุณสำหรับการโหวต
เลิฟนะยู้ววววววว

flower_divider.png

_1.gif

Sort:  

This is the strangest ice cream I've ever seen, with sticky rice, but hey, it sure looks delicious.