You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: AMA - ASK ME (NINE) ANYTHING!

in AskMe3 years ago (edited)

Indeed, indeed, it does feel somewhat like truth or dare! Loving the peppered questions!

I am unable to narrow to one favourite artistic medium. I’ve explored so many things. Of those, my favourites are carving, food, and gardening. These three are favourites for the same reason, in that, no matter how “practiced” I become, they are a perpetual challenge.

Favourite three pieces of art I’ve seen/experienced; I can narrow to four with my best efforts.

  • A netsuke “Mummified Child” carved by Peter Welsh
  • Paintings by The Group of Seven, in particular, Lawren Harris’s “Icebergs”
  • “The Crying Game”, at The Elgin Theatre
  • Concert by Dead Can Dance, album “Spiritchaser”, at Massey Hall

WTF is up with the super uber macro pics?
Being that I evolved into creating primarily miniature carvings and needed high quality photos, I had to figure out a solution that didn’t involve hiring someone to do them for me. I already did photography, so I taught myself how to shoot macro, the only way to capture quality shots of the miniature carvings. Somehow, all of this involvement with small and the most minute of details got me hooked on macro photography.
It has brought an even more heightened attention to details that mostly and frequently go unnoticed by most and myself. It has also taught me how to see light differently. So now, I play with it on a regular basis to see what “develops”.

Very hard pressed to pick a most favourite meal (I don’t eat dessert), so to do that, I've had to think of what I would find very difficult not to have, so that would be eggs, served up in any way, except raw.

Does this answer enquiring minds, or is there more pepper? Perhaps lemon pepper? 😄