How To Thrive On Hive...The Challenge!

in The CTP Swarm2 years ago

juut.png

A few months ago, I did a post that detailed some strategies that newer members of the community could potentially implement for their journey on the blockchain.

I feel like I can speak to a huge number of us because...

I had very little technical knowledge especially about blockchain when I first started. I didn't know a single person either. And to top it all off, I didn't have stashes of crypto I could flip and become a whale overnight.

I defined the grind on Hive. And these strategies I spoke about, seemed to work well for me. And not only on Hive, but across all platforms when it came to building a business. It did not require massive upfront costs, it did however required...Grind!

The original 'plan' was called the 5-500-500 formula.

It worked like this....

Engage with 5 different members of the community. Whether it's through commenting, re-blogging, interacting, whatever you felt comfortable doing...Just make sure at minimum you engaged with 5 different people a day.

Which led to attracting 500 followers on chain. This meant you were delivering value and was a good gauge on how well you were doing on Hive!

And finally, shoot for the target of reaching 5000 Hive Power. Simple enough, the more value you bring to the blockchain, the more you will be rewarded.

There was no time limit, just a plan to follow which I lived by for the first year of being on chain.

A few months ago, I revised the plan and basically put it down to 2 goals!

This was my little 'cheat sheet' I drew for it...

IMG_4292.jpeg

The first goal was to reach 1000 Hive Power. And I showcased some strategies you could use, everyday to learn about Hive, grow your account and continue to add value to the blockchain.

The second goal was almost a by-product of reaching the first goal because after you hit 1000 Hive Power, you could target reaching a Hive income level daily to grow your account. I set the target at 25 Hive per day. Which again, is not crazy and out of reach for most people on hive if they put in the work.

Again, I followed that up with some strategies people could follow to help achieve that goal.

(I know that reads 'plugging' on the second last point, but it's meant to say blogging lol)

I was looking at this list today and thought it would be cool to go over some of these points and maybe even create a little checklist to help you on your goals....

Here's how it works:

Step 1: Download the checklist here! It's a PDF file, and personally, I love to print things like this out. There is something very powerful about 'checking off' a calendar when you complete an assigned task for the day! If you can't print out the PDF, here is the image you can save if you like...

thrive1.png

Step 2: Follow the steps outlined! These are just some recommendations but I know when I followed these, my journey got that much sweeter! While it's not required to do every single one every day, I know personally, it works! If you can't download the PDF, here is the image from page 2 with the tasks to complete each day.

thrive2.png

Step 3: Do the work! If you skip this step, well...This isn't school. No one is 'checking' your work. However the best part of Hive is the community. So this is why I thought it would be cool to have a tag for this challenge...

#thriveonhive

And that way, we could monitor how many people are taking part in the challenge, support each other and I know personally, I'll be rewarding participants with some upvotes, tips and HSBI shares as well!

Heck, who knows....If this takes off, maybe we can get some donations coming in to reward participants and what not...However the biggest reward will be...

Seeing your Hive account grow! You will be adding value to the blockchain and in the process getting to build relationships with this amazing community every single day going forward.

So...Are you up for the challenge?


hiveswap.png

Save BIG on all your Swap.Hive / Hive needs with HivePay:

https://hivepay.io/swap

Vote for our Witness Node (clicktrackprofit) On..

Hive:

https://peakd.com/me/witnesses

https://wallet.hive.blog/~witnesses

Gift and tip CTP tokens to awesome content creators using the brand new @CTPtips Bot!

Stake CTP and use the prompt !CTP to gift tokens to your favorite creators!

Sort:  


~~~ embed:1560184212212391936 twitter metadata:bXlwYXRodG9maXJlMXx8aHR0cHM6Ly90d2l0dGVyLmNvbS9teXBhdGh0b2ZpcmUxL3N0YXR1cy8xNTYwMTg0MjEyMjEyMzkxOTM2fA== ~~~

The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @jongolson, @mypathtofire, @chaosmagic23 ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thanks for the cool tips.

Setting goal is really the way to go forward!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Gotta work on that first Goal.
The most challenging thing for me is creating content - I am such a slow writer. :)
Nevertheless, I also have this goal of making quality content in the least possible time.

Thanks for the advice and for sharing your formula: 5-500-5000. :)

Appreciate you stopping by :)

Let me know if you need any help getting started!

!CTP

Let me know if you need any help getting started!

Sure and thanks a lot in advance. 🙂

I have been listening to all episodes of cryptomanics in sequence from the beginning since I got it to show up in my podcast app ( I am up to episode 51ish). It is a great history of the chain. The biggest theme I got was that it is all about consistency. I have been here nearly every day on Hive since the start but lately I have no energy to post. Being consistent is difficult at the moment and I applaud those who can do it. For now, I am consistent in my inconsistency.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

It's tough. So easy to tell people to show up and put in the work, harder to actually do it. I fight with myself daily to keep doing things lol

Thanks for checking out the podcast too, hope you enjoy it.

!CTP

@Jongolson - As I'm sitting here reading the goals I have a couple of questions?

  1. what is 'commenting through engagement' or should that say 'engagement through commenting'?

  2. what is ment by 'Game Fi'? And can this be done with other games besides Splinterlands?

Sure, sounds good :) Engagement through commenting works!!

Game Finance....Earning income through the actual game and the assets within them. And yup, lots of other games have it for sure.

!CTP

Thanks! Nothing like a little clearification.

For me, the single most important thing is to show up, because nothing is going to happen all by itself.

I think that's one of the things I like best about Hive: To a very great extent, the outcome is up to YOU, and how you approach things.

=^..^=

Absolutely!

It's 100% on us to show up, and hopefully the community can support the people that do put in that work!

!CTP

Loving this idea. Success is about building habits and taking small incremental steps towards those larger goals every day. This is a great way for people to track, get motivated and build such habits.

Thanks man. Thought it would be cool that everyone could take part in. Don't need big bank, just some hustle and dedication.

!CTP

I have made it past Goal #1 and now on to Goal #2. I need to benchmark where I am in that aspect so that I know if I am making progress. I currently look at it on a weekly basis instead of daily. One step/goal at a time.....Slow and Steady...

!CTP

That's the trick to it all. Steady!

!CTP

This challenge seems fun and it seems I'm being on this path from the last year!!! The only problem is that at the moment I'm passing through an apathy phase and I can't shake it up, but I will try to keep up!! Thank you for posting this, @jongolson!!! Maybe this is what I need to shake it out! !CTP !PIZZA !LUV

I hear ya! Sometimes our worst enemy can be the one between our ears. But that's what this community excels at...Helping each other. Let me know how I can help!

!CTP

Thank you so much, @jongolson! The reality is I don't know what's wrong with me. I used to enjoy writing every Splinterlands report I wrote weekly, but since two months ago I can't sit and write anything. I still have my daily statistics and I say to myself, "tomorrow I'm gonna finish belated my report", but then I feel like I'm devoid of all will. I don't know what's wrong with me. Thank you very much for reading and answering my comments, man. You rock!

You know what always helps me...Follow me here and see if this might help.

When I get low on content and things to write about, I usually read a book. That gives me a ton of ideas.

But let's say you want to focus on Splinterlands. What I would do, follow some of the video creators like @bulldog1205 and @infidel1258 and see what they are talking about on their daily videos.

That'll give you some good ideas on what the community is discussing and then write your opinions on it. Or watch a town hall too, and write some notes down that you think needs to be discussed more.

Hope this helps.

!CTP

Thank you very much! That made me think. Maybe I need to switch doing content for a while. You know? It's not bad idea about the books. I'm an avid reader and I could write about those books I like, That's something that I've never done in HIVE. I love @bulldog1205 and @infidel1258! I never miss their Splinterlands videos and I love Bulldogs streamings! I will try to change a bit my Splinterlands content and see if I can create a conversation around the game. My reports I think are fine, but in the recent months for some reason I haven't had the need to talk about them. It's weird because I write almost daily about my progress in Splinterlands in Twitter, noise.cash, and now LeoThreads when I can. I will sleep on it. Thank you again for the support, man!

For sure, and the best thing is...You dont ever have to impress anyone. Just write about what you love. The 'right' audience will find you and you will attract them with your content and passion for your topic.

!CTP

Thank you! I know this will help me a lot! !PIZZA

Really a detailed post! Thanks for exposing the #Thriveonhive tag to me. No one ever told me of it. I'll try all you've suggested and hopefully, someday I'll be like you! Thanks Jongo!

That's the steps I took. No big bank. No inner circle friends. No endless supply of crypto to cash in. :)

!CTP

Definitely up for the challenge!

I've set some end-of-year goals for 2022 and 2023, so this will come in handy to keep me on track.

Awesome man!

Looking forward to following the journey!

!CTP

#thriveonhive....

This is cool, I believe everyone needs a personal checker even if this isn't a school, it's important to study one's growth pattern, have a strategy and know what works for them, for me. It's always staying adrift, being adaptable, flexible and accountable to myself. Following up and doing the background work.

I also added gaming to mine, just like you.....

The army called them battle buddies or something like that. We can hold each other accountable and help each other through the journey. Could add a ton of value for everyone.

!CTP

You're absolutely correct, I think I haven't paid much attention to my goals lately, hustling in real life can cause that.

You make me think this chain will survive. Keep up the work.

!CTP

!PIZZA

it really is awesome what putting in the time on the chain can lead to. Pretty fun stuff.

Dude it's magical. I keep telling the story because I know what this place can do for you when we put in the time and effort. Life changing stuff.

!CTP

Thank you very much for sharing this wonderful piece.
I have been on hive for 3 month, a little process had been made but i think i want yo do more.
This look like secret and sure doing to walk to them.💕💕

Welcome to Hive :)

Yeah this place truly is magical. It just takes time and effort to really get things going. Hope you jump into the challenge :)

!CTP

Feel free to mention me in any challenge that would help me grow please
I feel kinda lost, just moving slow
I followed you to know more and learn
Thank you friend 💕💕

Yipppee! What a WONDERFUL post about really engaging on Hive and making it work. I love it. Thank you for posting it and perhaps I'll try. :) Thank you for sharing your insight. :) Have a great day!

Thanks for stopping by Rosie! Appreciate it :)

Glad you got value from the post!

!CTP

Yes it was a wonderful post! Great job! Have a great day!!

Great steps for new people to take! Thanks for sharing Jon!

Hope it helps someone out there :)

!CTP

The checklist is a good idea for me to increase my engagement on hive blockchain. And with this I think I will hold myself accountable.

Thanks for sharing

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

For sure!

And checking it off everyday, is really powerful!

!CTP

Thank you

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Thanks for the encouragement, the checklist and your advices! It'll help me a lot to thrive on Hive and organise my schedule for jobs, studies and hobbies, I already devote a lot for.

!CTP

We each get 1440 minutes a day, not a second more. What we choose to allocate those minutes to, ends up determining our future.

!CTP

Fact. Well said, (takemyhatofftoyou)sir(/takemyhatofftoyou) 🤠😉

!CTP

I love this step-by-step approach (I think you called it "1% better each day"). There might not be an universal solution for everyone, but each of us should compile his own list of daily goals that fit well to his own personality.
!LUV

Yup, the +1 mentality. Every single day, do a little bit more. It really adds up :)

!CTP

Wasnt sure about how to do this the last time, but this time will join in :-) great initiative
!ALIVE

@beeber, sorry! You need more $ALIVE to use this command.

The minimum requirement is 1000.0 ALIVE staked.

More $ALIVE is available from Hive-Engine or Tribaldex

Thanks!

And welcome onboard ;)

!CTP

Great cheat sheet, @jongolson! Everyone needs one!
#thriveonhive it is.

I have mine printed out :)

!CTP

I love these recommendations, they will definitely lead to positive growth and performance if followed.

Yup, I am living breathing example of them working. Just need to put in the time and effort :)

!CTP

Wow. It's time to stop watching (staring) at the creepy Crypto charts n do some real n lovely activities just in line n relation with our unic n organic life ..
and this time create n earn real values. Thanks man. you'er the prophet of the best blockchain..

That's one thing I did a long time ago...Figured, I couldn't control the price of this stuff, all I could do was...Put in the effort every day and grow my stacks :)

!CTP

This is a proven and great way to grow your Hive account here on chain. I like that it's a step by step process, we just have to implement them and stick to the process. Will definitely download the pdf and get to work!

The way to start this stuff is just, get it done and get to work. That real challenge is sticking to it for the long term. Hope the checklist helps.

!CTP

How much time it'd take for anyone to get into dollar cost average with Hive? I have reached 1000 HP goal already, I delegated it and now started from new count again. I have to try this approach in the goal. I am going to try this out and see if I can follow this approach :)

When I got started, the thought of hitting 500 Hive Power was a dream lol But the price of the token went down, and I kept showing up. I hit 5000 Hive Power before my first year, and didn't go crazy...It was only about 10-20 bucks a week into Hive.

!CTP

Have been on chain for a while now but I believe is high time i do a little bit more and monitor everything I do on chain. Thanks for this great advice

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

For sure, write it down too. That helped me a ton, I do the #MyHiveGoals posts every week, it allows me to gauge how I'm doing.

!CTP

The show up every day part is the hardest. Problem: I can't make enough income with hive to give up my normal job, I can't concentrate on making hive my main source of income because I don't have the time next to my normal job.
How do you get out of the wheel?

The best thing about Hive, is you can do a lot of this stuff on mobile, especially the engaging. So if I'm strapped for time, I just load up Ecency, and comment through that.

Time allocation is a learned skill for sure, there is power in managing the free time you have and focus on your journey here

!CTP

Thanks, that is really very good advice, I have ecency on my phone and I am using leo threads as well. Gotta get into posting again 😎

Simple but effective.
Turn up every day and put in the effort and you will see the results.

Works every time.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Crazy right? If only there was a secret formula we could package up and sell to people that taught them that lol

!CTP

I'm so glad I saw your post this morning. I was trying to follow your 5-500-5000 plan, but life got in the way and I have stopped being as consistent, in the last month or so, than I was when I first joined. One of the biggest challenges has been finding enough things to write about in order to create content that is worth people reading, and gets votes. I guess that's a challenge we all face. Hopefully a more disciplined approach may help to improve my ability to write consistently good content.

I have downloaded your checklist and will print it off to help me keep motivated. Thanks for your tips and encouragement.

I mean, don't worry so much about 'creating' if you aren't all for it right away. That's the best thing about commenting and engaging within Discord communities too. That stuff adds up and you are adding value to people and the community by doing so :)

!CTP

The first goal was to reach 1000 Hive Power.

I think by the end of September, I can reach that number.

!CTP

That is awesome!

Keep crushing it man!

!CTP

Yeah! Thanks!

Wow, this is wonderful, even if I have missed the previous one, am not missing this and I really hope I can put something together too, I sincerely agree that coming here everyday is part of the things that leads to growth too

Great to hear it! Hope you enjoy the journey and the challenge helps :)

!CTP

i have been doing most of them you have mentioned.
I do post everyday.
Yes, there is always room to improve mainly on engagement and content.

Oh we can always improve. Problem is, sometimes we get stuck in habits that are...'basic' if that makes any sense and we don't push ourselves. Hopefully we can increase our numbers daily, and that will encourage us to improve constantly.

!CTP

Suppose I do the following in 1 day:

  1. 1 comment in Post A
  2. 1 upvote in Post B
  3. 1 reblog of Post C
  4. Take the link from Post D to include in a comment/buzz/thread/etc.
  5. Publish 1 post and reply to 1 comment

Is that considered engaging with 5 people in 1 day? The ideal would be to do each of those with 5 people each day. Good would be doing some of those with 5 people each day.

I don't want to do the bare minimum, and there may be days when I'm not available. Even so, I want to know that I gave proper effort for what I did on any given day.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I think that's an awesome habit to get into. I wouldn't worry too much about adding it up to 5, just the fact that you are being active is the win. 5 a day, 10 a day....Whatever you can do :)

!CTP

I'll take that as meaning 5 total per day rather than 5 each way every day. Anything over the 5 total per day is bonus and always welcome!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

This are helpful points not only for newbies but for some of us older ones on the chain. The PDF checklist you've created looks great. Chatting in Discord have been my weak point lol, am so hooked on Hive I just want to keep spending time on chain.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

It's like Discord is this necessary evil on Hive lol As soon as we get an on chain equivalent, I'll gladly delete Discord lolol

!CTP

Hi, Jon. Thank you!
This looks like a great plan with goals to work towards.
If for some reason someone can't keep up, don't give up - don't let that stop you (me.)
Just keep going if you miss a day or two. Pick up where you left off.
Have a great day evening, Jon!
Barb :)
#thriveonhive

Exactly, that's the key. Life happens, things go weird...So a day or two of not doing anything, happens...

The trick is to jump back on the horse!

!CTP

Guess I'll be starting with goal #2 since I've finally reached goal #1.

#thriveonhive

!CTP

Best part about that, your goal #1, grows now 'automagically' the more active you are :)

!CTP

My thing is I need more education. Like I know where to go to delegate but I don't understand how to use tribaldex to delegate. Plus I was scared of delegating thinking it would stop me from reaching my goal of 2,000 Hive by years end.

Great challenge., especially goal #2. I have a lot to learn to earn that much hive/day.

Everything is out there but the biggest thing is...Being active :)

!CTP

PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
cpol tipped jongolson (x2)
nupulse tipped jongolson (x1)
@torran(7/10) tipped @jongolson (x1)
dkid14 tipped jongolson (x1)

Join us in Discord!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

!HBIT

Success! You mined .9 HBIT & the user you replied to received .1 HBIT on your behalf. mine | wallet | market | tools | discord | subscribe | <>< daily

Contest: Nominate a symbol for the quark.

Great post 👏👏👏

!PIZZA

untitled.gif

!PGM
!PIZZA
!CTP

as a 'started with a blast, then lost all my login details' returner to PeakD & Hive, this is a great post, thanks

I'm up for it :) ... I already do this, except sometimes it takes two days for me to write a post. I'm trying to get one out daily though, and even got a Power Up Month badge once!

You forgot one point though - always reply to those who engage with you 🙌

It's very interesting! your passion about Hive excites me . 😍

Love this challenge Jon! This is a great starting point and will really help streamline my to-do list(while gaining momentum with Hive, of course).