Nine Cygnets have Arrived!

in Photography3 years ago

I live across the road from two village ponds. I've been waiting patiently for the swan's cygnets to hatch. In the meantime, I heard the lido swan's brood had arrived, so I hotfooted it down there.

I found nine lovely cygnets swimming quite happily with their parents. They tend to keep them away from the bank in the first week, to protect them.

The cygnet on the left is going to be the independent, trouble maker I think!

From now on, the people in the village, will be counting the cygnets every day to make sure they are all ok. Sadly, some don't always survive. Fingers crossed though!

Photos by @ellenripley - Julie S. All rights reserved.

Sort:  

Oh my goodness, what great shots! I love the cygnets!

They are really sweet. They've got their hands full with this brood!