AT THE END OF THE WORLD WITH ... A Mobula TARAPACANA !!!!!

in SEAPHOTOGRAPHY3 years ago

This is an authorized adaptation in English of a post in French by @marc-allaria: AU BOUT DU MONDE AVEC... Une Mobula TARAPACANA !!!!!

As my primary language is not English, there are probably some mistakes in this post.

All photographs by @marc-allaria


AT THE END OF THE WORLD WITH ...
A Mobula TARAPACANA !!!!!



In Cabo Verde


The stopovers follow one another and some of them have spoiled me with human encounters or sometimes animal encounters. Here is one of them.




cabo_verde_14_1.jpeg

Tarrafal do Santo Antão, a calm bay contrasting with the weather constantly subject to the trade winds, a few hundred souls all staring at the sea, 2000m of relief overlooking the coast, Cabo Verde is definitely spoiling me once again! Although I am totally captivated by the relief overlooking the village, it is from the bottom that a very nice surprise will come to Maesha, my sailing boat. After all these years spent observing animals, I believe that the best feeling that an animal can give me is to show an interest in myself. Self-centered feeling certainly, but so good! And so it is by itself that a Mobula Tarapacana ray, while used to living at more than 1500m depth, has come to the surface to observe Maesha at anchor.


cabo_verde_14_2.jpeg

The Tarapacana ray is part of the Mobula ray family. For those unfamiliar with these species, let's say it looks a lot like a manta ray. The difference comes from its slightly smaller size, not exceeding 2m50 adult, and the color of its dorsal dress, browner than that of the very black Manta. For the rest the resemblance is obvious.


cabo_verde_14_5.jpeg

Feeling invited to join him, I, therefore, hastened to put on my diving equipment, to take my photo box under my arm, and to let myself slide under the boat. Obviously, this animal was looking for companionship or possessed a very high curiosity character. He immediately came up to me and started circles around me that ended up lasting a full hour. First of all a few meters from me, these circles gradually approached to get closer and closer, and eventually brush against me. It was a total surprise to me that twice the Tarapacana tried to touch me with the tips of these wings! The first time was a failure since it touched not a part of my body but the metal frame of my photo box. Without a doubt, his reaction was fear and a sudden flight. But during a second pass, he came this time to touch the skin of my hand, and there, what an incredible sensation to see the line remaining in contact for a few seconds, thus appearing to probe me without the slightest fear. An unforgettable memory.


cabo_verde_14_3.jpeg

But even with all my passion, I still did not become a fish, and more than an hour in water at this temperature quickly becomes a problem for a man! So it was I who put an end to this incredible interaction by getting out of the water not without much regret but with a heart full of joy. This signaled the end of the passage of the Tarapacana which accompanied me on the surface then immediately set off again towards the bottom and disappeared.


cabo_verde_14_4.jpeg

Nature sometimes makes superb gifts to those who know how to be patient, this one will remain unforgettable for a very long time!



marc_allaria_signature.jpeg

Sort:  

Que espectáculo. una manta ! Majestuoso