Knitting as Meditation

in Natural Medicine3 years ago

IMG_3629.png

Recently I was or am still too excited to follow the Bitcoin and other crypto prices. I found a way to calm myself down: knitting!

I started knitting an unfinished pair of socks. I knitted it for an hour today in the day time. I could simply focus on making stitches and cleared my mind.

These days I meditate for 10 minutes in the morning time after I wake up. I realize meditation and knitting has a similar processes; following the flow of my thoughts while not sticking to them by doing something systematically. For meditation I breathe steadily and deeply, counting numbers, or imagine car traffic. For knitting I count and make stitches in a monotone pace.

I didn't feel healthy sitting in front of my computer yesterday for work and seeing prices. Today meditation, knitting and walking in addition helped me a lot to feel fit.

So if you have a pair of knitting needles and some yarn. I recommend you to give it a tray. And there is a community to share your work: Needlework Monday (and other days) 😁