Easy to Grow Plants for a Suburban Herbalist

in Natural Medicinelast month (edited)

Suburban gardens have their challenges but, they also present opportunities for growing medicine that is always just steps away from the home. And there are three herbs that I recommend to any herbalist wanting to grow healing plants in the suburbs.

To be honest I am not really a great gardener of vegetables and tend to stick to what I use most, herbs! They are surprisingly easy to grow in a backyard and most of them are quite beautiful too.

~ Motherwort ~

This medicinal herb isn't extremely well known but is, none the less, super healing. The flowering tops and leaves are great for the nerves and are ideal tinctures for anyone who suffers from anxiety.

~ Aloe Vera ~

I know, this is such a classic herb that lots of people already own. but, I wonder, how often do people actually use the aloe that is growing in their yard?

Since there is so much of it here I try to use it daily. Aloe is a superb skin healing remedy that grows pretty much everywhere except places with lots of snow. From the tropics to temperate climates it will grow well and is a fountain of moisturizing sap.

Cutting up the leaves and freezing in containers is the most practical way to add aloe sap to the skin care routine. I simply cut off the skin with a knife and chop the pieces up into 2 or 3 inch sections. Several pieces fit in a container which can be frozen and used as needed.

~ Hops ~

Another herb meant for temperate climates is a key ingredient in beer ~ hops! This particular collection of hops plants has been in the ground for three-ish years. Some years they have grown better than others and by the looks of how much it has grown this spring we will be collecting lots of hops when fall rolls around.

As far as I know hops need both male and female plants to create the flowers that we are after. The hop flowers themselves appear in the fall. They are super beautiful, smell amazingly and are a great addition to fermented drinks and evening teas for relaxation.

Sort:  

Hops are amazing...shade and medicine and food! Ours usually gives nuts over Summer but this year was a sad harvest.

Better at growing herbs than vegetables... makes sense!
The only downside is that vegetables seem to be more filling ( diet wise ) but perhaps that's just my lack of experience, I only got into (some) foraging, recently ( or back into it, after losing that knowledge during my adult city life ).

I myself am very much looking forward to my upcoming move ( midway through this month ), definitely also to find out what I can harvest and grow out there.

P.S. Excited to read about the hop and to learn this:

and are a great addition to fermented drinks and evening teas for relaxation.

Sending a hug!

You are right! Vegetables are more filling than herbs. I mostly use them for tea, skin care and first aid and am eager to improve my crop growing skills and foraging too.
Thanks so much for your comment and I wish you lots of luck in your upcoming move!

I am experiencing more with foraging ( from my garden ) these days and it's pretty much hit or miss. I am aiming to buy less and less vegetables and replace them by edible plants when I can. I wanna do the same with fruit but that's a little harder ( but not impossible ).

I wish you lots of luck in your upcoming move!

Thank you! It will be one the easiest moves ever. I am looking forward to it ✨🏡🍀

Congratulations @calendulacraft! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 55000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 60000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the April PUM Winners
Feedback from the May Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - April 2024 Winners List

Manually curated by brumest from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you Ma'am @calendulacraft for a very informative blog. It is my first time to know "Hops"