Macaroni Remix

By: Mrs. Canadian Renegade

I am not one for creating my own recipes from scratch but I do enjoy putting a my own spin on certain dishes. I also enjoy the occasional bowl of cheesy macaroni but am always left feeling like I could use a little extra protein. While thumbing through my recipes, inspiration hit me: what if I kicked up that awesome rosemary mac n' cheese recipe with a little chorizo? The result was delicious!

Macaroni.png

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb. chorizo sausage, casing removed
  • 1 box gluten free macaroni
  • 1 Tbsp Coconut oil
  • 2 cups milk
  • 2 Tbsp chopped fresh rosemary
  • 3 Tbsp butter
  • 2 Tbsp white or brown rice flour
  • 2.5 cups old cheddar cheese, shredded
  • 1/2 cup parmesean
  • 1 tsp pink Himalayan sea salt

Cheese_Rosemary.png

Directions:

Remove the chorizo sausage from the casing and brown in a medium skillet, about 7 - 10 minutes. While the sausage is cooking boil a pot of water for the macaroni noodles. Cook the macaroni for the recommended time for el dente texture. Add the coconut oil to the boiling macaroni to prevent the noodles from sticking together. While the chorizo is cooking and the noodles are boiling, wash and chop the rosemary and pre-measure your other ingredients.

Preheat your oven to 375°F (your welcome)

Once the chorizo is cooked and the macaroni is draining in the colander, prepare the sauce. If you want less dishes, I recommend making the sauce in the now empty macaroni pot. Melt the butter on medium-low and then whisk in the rice flour for about one minute. Add the milk and rosemary and continue whisking occasionally until the sauce begins to thicken, about 8 minutes. Turn the heat off and add the macaroni back into the pot. Stir gently until well combined. Fold the old cheddar and chorizo into the mixture and then transfer to a deep 9x9 casserole dish. Top the macaroni evenly with parmesan cheese then bake for 20 minutes.

Voila, a delicious spicy macaroni remix.


Sort:  

I swear I will try that but I will remove the rosemary. ^_^ Instead, I will use the dried OREGANO.


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

That also sounds savory and delicious. -Aimee

Oh my, that looks and sounds amazing!!

It really is so yummy!

 3 years ago  

Looks like this dish is made with a lot of love. I remember mac 'n cheese from my childhood, it was always something I saw at family reunions.


@NaturalMedicine supports wellness of body, mind, soul and earth on HIVE.
Come say hi via Lotus Chat or drop by our Hive Community - we'd love to have you!


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

I love feeding people good food. Sometimes, I wish I cooked simpler meals but the reward of putting the work in is always worth it to my taste buds. -Aimee