🍠Natural, organic and easy to make root developer for your plants: sweet potato 🍠

in Natural Medicine3 years ago

Hello everyone! I hope that all of you are having a wonderful week so far. Mine has been quite busy and quite stressful but I am cool despite the chaos of daily basis.

I wanted to share with you all a "recipe" for a very simple plant fertilizer or more like Root promoter that I made yesterday for adding it to my plants. Recently I have share posts in here telling you how I have transplanted some of the small seedlings I have gotten from lemon and grapefruit seeds and some other florals like the roses and the pink flower that I bought, so the intention of adding this root promoter is to try and make those plants develop new and bigger root system where I plant them, in order for them to get healthier and bigger like I want them to be.

P1080033.JPG

The preparation of this liquid homemade product is very easy, and it takes just one ingredient: the sweet potato 🍠. The idea is that you use those sweet potatoes that you bought one day and never ate, and they get old in the fridge, and even start to get dry and weird.

P1080001.JPG

I found this recipe on the internet when I was looking for organic and homemade products to give to my recently-transplanted plants. Apparently, sweet potato is good for the garden because it has many of the minerals and nutrients that the plants can use for developing new and better rooting system and also they take advantage of those nutrients to blossom best.

So, if you compost and your old sweet potatoes are already covered in fungi and too bad don't use them, but if is just old but still usable or maybe you do not compost yet, use them as fertilizer following the next easy method:

Chop the sweet potatoes into small pieces and place them on a pot and turn the stove at high flame.

P1080002.JPG

P1080004.JPG

Leave it to boil for approximately 20 minutes or until you notice that the sweet potato is soft and it can be blended. Turn the stove off and leave it to cool down until is not hot anymore.

P1080026.JPG

P1080006.JPG

Next, blend the sweet potato with the water that you used to boil it.

P1080029.JPG

P1080027.JPG

Strain the mix and take it to a big jar or some bottle. After you finish up blending all the sweet potato, you can take the solid remains of the sweet potato to the compost or if you don't compost yet, discard it to the organic bin.

P1080030.JPG

P1080028.JPG

I obtained something like 2 L of the mix after blending it, but it was too thick and is not recomendable to add something so concentrated to the soil of the plants because the excessive amount of organic liquid can alter the pH of the soil and affect negatively the plants, so what I made was to add water to the rest of the bottle until it was quite diluted.

P1080032.JPG

I will try it to my roses, other pink flower plant and also the small trees and seedlings that I have to see the changes in their growth and development in the next weeks.

Lots of gratitude if you stopped by to read my post, for your time and if you might, for you feedback as well. Regards and best wishes to all!

César.

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

I didn't know about this recipe @cesarj21! I would like to try it, because sometimes I want to do some transplanting and the seedlings have a lot of stress, so I better give them something to make the root system firm. When you know if it's viable, let us know. Regards.

As soon as I see some results I will let you know how it went! I was looking for recipes like this because it always happens to me that after I have transplanted something, the following days are very hard for that plant and some even die, and I think this is precisely because of the rooting system getting too much damaged in the process. I hope this will work and help my plants, Thanks for the feedback @sirenahippie

Hi cesarj21,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Congratulations @cesarj21! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 300 replies.
Your next target is to reach 400 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP