You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Diary of a Wannabe Vegan

Hi Sahiba, thank you very much for your kind wishes and for sharing your personal story and first encounter with chicken. I suppose your system is not used to it. I remember during my vegetarian years, I encountered a situation where there was nothing else to eat in a fiesta (feast) I went to and when I served myself a slice of pork steak, I had very bad indigestion and reaction to it. It helps a lot to grow up in a household where meal preferences are the same. It's interesting to know the influence your parents had on you and your brother. How did you manage hanging out with friends outside? Have they been supportive of your choices?

Sort:  

Actually being vegetarian in India is not that of a big deal. There are plenty of choices and almost everywhere I go be it small restaurant or a huge gathering. As far as my friends are concerned they used to tease me initially but they get use to my food preferences rather I tease them on killing an animal and eating it. Ofcourse in a fun way, Rest I accept theirs and they accept mine too.

Haha, that's a good one! I remember traveling to Bangalore and McDonalds have veg options during mid 2000s. That's what I miss about Dubai, I had many vegetarian colleagues at that time, there are just so many choices of places to eat and places to buy food. Although it's starting to slowly change in the Philippines. I'm just grateful that during the lunch I was invited to this weekend, my friends were pretty supportive and they were cool with it. Things are changing here as well as opposed to how it was 2 decades ago.