Diary of a Wannabe Vegan

DIARY of A.png

Hello Hive!

This is my first time writing in this community. It has been more than two weeks in my attempt of eating more plant-based meals. I don't know how long this will last but I will keep cooking and trying.

I used to be a vegetarian

I was a strict Lacto-vegetarian, sometimes vegan for seven years when I was in my 20s. "You are what you eat" was a line I heard many times while researching a college thesis. The interviews that I have conducted in designing a wellness center two decades ago led to many years of being a vegetarian. It was also a necessary change back then when my family joined a meditation group.

My Mom decided to take the vegetarian route in the late 90s and made it mandatory at home. Meat, seafood, and eggs were suddenly banned and forbidden. Cans of corned beef were hidden inside closets and were used for blackmail between siblings Lol

As for me, I was the one ratting out who kept a can of meatloaf haha just kidding.

My Mom practiced vegetarianism religiously for more than 22 years with the last 2 years being a vegan.

Advantages and Disadvantages

I didn't know much about the morality and environmental impacts of animal farming back then but the idea of eating plant-based meals felt right for me at the time.

I brought home-cooked vegetarian meals to work or snacks to nibble on anywhere, so it was not a problem when my friends teased me about eating grass at parties when there was nothing that I could eat.

The physical and emotional changes that I noticed back then were the following:

  • My skin cleared up.
  • I felt lighter and energetic despite being overworked and hyper-stressed.
  • Naturally soft-spoken, I was even calmer. I rarely got angry which became a problem because I needed to use intimidation in my old job to get things done. It was a dog eat dog environment hence, I resorted to acting lol
  • An inexplicable sense of clarity
  • Deeper focus during meditation practice
  • I rarely got sick.

By my late 20s, I gave up the vegetarian lifestyle not long after I got married. How, you might ask? One day, I ordered a Whopper out on a whim and that was it.

I suppose I got tired of preparing two different meals daily and I was also curious to try all of the exotic dishes we encountered while traveling since the best way to understand a foreign culture is through food.

How I lasted seven years before that was a self-motivated decision. So the question is-- how committed am I to do this now and why?

After watching documentaries about animal conditions and their environmental impact, I found myself cooking more vegetables and eating more fruits. I started missing my old vegetarian lifestyle and I am curious to try it again.

Time will tell. I am in it for health reasons. I have embraced Keto and Dukan diet for more than a decade throughout my 30s. Now that I am in my 40s diagnosed with high cholesterol levels, I am committed to giving it a shot.

The Challenges

During the first week, I have been preparing separate meals. My 7 yo daughter who is fond of meat and aversive to vegetables wasn't thrilled by this change. My husband on the other hand seemed to be on board for as long as I creatively replicate the meat dishes that he loves. Hmmm...

The hardest would probably be giving up cheese. Since I am in the Philippines and specialty cheeses are expensive, it works out in my favor.

A Part-Time Vegetarian

A recent chat with a friend who is a part-time vegetarian expanded my views on another possibility. They cook plant-based meals, almost vegan at home and when they're invited to dinners and parties, they eat whatever is served.

It is a brilliant solution to the challenge-- the discomfort and strain of offending friends and relatives. It relieves any stress from the host and it takes the pressure off as well from any unforeseen situation. I might try this for a while.

I am not against meat consumption and I don't regret the years I spent doing so. There's no cookie-cutter approach to food and lifestyle choices. To each his own and always at one's own pace.

I, however, would like to eat more plant-based meals. Everything they say is good in moderation.

Going back to that Whopper, I was flabbergasted to find a Plant-based Whopper in Burger King yesterday.

Thank you for reading. In case you've been on this vegetarian journey, care to share any advice with someone transitioning in this lifestyle?

What were your biggest challenges? How did you manage to do it? What were the advantages and disadvantages? Ultimately, why did you decide to choose vegetarianism or veganism?


Discovering Arni.jpg

"I am an old soul who simply loves coffee, who finds joy and beauty in both tangible and the unseen."

@discoveringarni

Curiosity and imagination lead to unexpected experiences. Interested in Nature, Places, Roads Less Traveled, Minimalism, Authentic Living, Anything French, and International Cuisine. Feel free to follow her, re-blog, and upvote if you enjoy her content.

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

I just hit 8 years plant-based this summer. I made the switch after starting to research the health implications, then went down the rabbit holes of environmental and ethical impacts and haven't looked back! I think I'm pretty lucky where I live because there is a wealth of vegan foods available. Both fresh, whole foods and vegan mock meats, cheeses and the like. I continually read and watch documentaries or presentations to stay motivated and up to speed on all the latest research. I also love seeing all the recipes shared on here from people like @carolynstahl, @sreypov, @justinparke, @amy-goodrich and so many more! The @plantpoweronhive account just got going as a place to find all of that content, as well.

I always tell people find your own path. It definitely doesn't have to be all or nothing. Find those amazing recipes you enjoy that are easy to make at home, or the restaurants that have great veggie options if you like. I also always try to focus on all the abundance of plant foods I can have, not what I "can't" eat. Honestly I eat much more adventurous as a plant-eater than I ever did when I still ate meat!

Posted using Dapplr

Congrats, that's both awesome and inspiring.

"I also always try to focus on all the abundance of plant foods I can have, not what I "can't" eat."

That's a refreshing perspective, I'll follow that. When you said adventurous, yes I noticed that there's a lot of creativity and flavors to explore. Thank you for sharing your journey as well as your recommendations. I just started following them, there's an abundance of recipes that I'd love to try.

 3 years ago  

Happy to share! It definitely helps having people around you, whether in person or virtually to be inspired by, so I always try to pay it forward. I only wish I had more time or a bigger stomach to be able to try more of the recipes I find on here! So many amazing creations and flavors.

Yes, there's tremendous support and inspiration in being surrounded by friends and community on the same journey.
I'm also glad that my husband is on board this time around. He is preparing to make bean burger patties as I'm typing this 😄

 3 years ago  

Oh awesome! That helps so much when your partner is on board. I know that helped for me so much. I wasn't plant-based when my boyfriend and I were first dating (he actually grilled steak on our first date, haha). When I was contemplating making the change I asked what he thought and he just said "ok". 😂

Haha, I can imagine. Oh yes, it helps a lot to have our partners on board. We recently announced our lifestyle change to my in-laws during a recent chat and they got a bit stressed haha. They live overseas so it won't affect them much.

I go vegetarian/vegan on and off throughout my life, only couple of weeks at a time. I don't feel bad or guilty for eating animals or what animals have to go through, except in some cases where they are basically being tortured their whole lives. I choose it for 2 reasons: 1) I don't think humans were designed to eat meat by default(wrote an article on it), but humans can adapt and eat cooked meat to prevent starvation. 2) spiritual evolution, as something deep down inside tells me that this is the way.

When I do go on a vegan/vegetarian kick, I don't eat the roots of plants either. No garlic, onions, carrots, potatoes, etc. Only seeds, fruits, and eggs. I avoid all foods that involves suffering for some reason. Eggs & dairy are ok if there is no suffering, but I don't eat dairy because I'm lactose intolerant. I have been criticized repeatedly for saying eggs are ok.

To clarify "fruit", alot of people don't realize vegetables like avocados, peppers, cucumbers, tomatoes, and squashes are technically A fruit, and I practically declare legumes fruit as well.

My family eats meat and refuses to give it up. I think if I was single, I'd never touch meat again.

Hello Draven @xarcell, thank you for sharing your personal experience and preferences.

My Mom also cooked without garlic nor onions when she first started before when I was living at home. There was something about it and meditation. I haven't gone into deep research about that but it was quite challenging to create flavors without them when cooking.

Living with family is quite tricky but this is cool that you have vegan/vegetarian kicks.

Hello @discoveringarni
I have been vegetarian my whole life, I am right now 24 y/o and I have just tasted chicken once in my 2nd year of college and I just vomited after that strangely. Literally none of my friends even at school or college were vegetarian. It's just that my parents were non-vegetarian before getting married and after they got married they left non Veg, So I and my younger brother never had meat.

Our life is simple as you said the advantages you felt after leaving meat were amazing. Honestly, I am happy for you, It is a great practice, people around globe are preaching vegan and vegetarian meals.
Good luck with your new and improved lifestyle.
Have a wonderful day ahead.

Hi Sahiba, thank you very much for your kind wishes and for sharing your personal story and first encounter with chicken. I suppose your system is not used to it. I remember during my vegetarian years, I encountered a situation where there was nothing else to eat in a fiesta (feast) I went to and when I served myself a slice of pork steak, I had very bad indigestion and reaction to it. It helps a lot to grow up in a household where meal preferences are the same. It's interesting to know the influence your parents had on you and your brother. How did you manage hanging out with friends outside? Have they been supportive of your choices?

Actually being vegetarian in India is not that of a big deal. There are plenty of choices and almost everywhere I go be it small restaurant or a huge gathering. As far as my friends are concerned they used to tease me initially but they get use to my food preferences rather I tease them on killing an animal and eating it. Ofcourse in a fun way, Rest I accept theirs and they accept mine too.

Haha, that's a good one! I remember traveling to Bangalore and McDonalds have veg options during mid 2000s. That's what I miss about Dubai, I had many vegetarian colleagues at that time, there are just so many choices of places to eat and places to buy food. Although it's starting to slowly change in the Philippines. I'm just grateful that during the lunch I was invited to this weekend, my friends were pretty supportive and they were cool with it. Things are changing here as well as opposed to how it was 2 decades ago.

Hey @discoveringarni It is good to be vegetarian. I like this kind of lifestyle. Personally, it's quite hard for me to turn into vegetarian since I am big fan of chicken but slowly and steadily I am trying to reduce non veg stuff from my meal. As you said, I am actually a part time vegetarian lol.
You are doing a great job as this transformation have certain good effects on health.
Keep flourishing and stay healthy.

Hi Praditya, how are you doing? So nice to wake up to see your comment, thank you for that. Reducing is already a great deal so cheers to being a part time vegetarian 🍏🍓☕️

I am also a vegetarian. And, "grass-meal" taunt always get thrown at me when I am out with friends. But, I also felt I don't get mad. I realized its a process to digest, and follow owns way.
Happy that your family is getting along or supporting your desire.
I am also a wanna be vegan. I keep making the changes atleast a week.
Thank you for inspiring with your journey because I can so much relate.

Hello @suzn.poudel, interesting to learn that the "grass meal" really happens more than I thought it would. Cheering you on your journey too, we can do this 😊

That was my first reaction when I first saw your reference to grass meal. And, I was like Okay, it's worldwide.
Thank you so much. We can do this💫

Yess 😊 Have a lovely weekend!

Eating a Whopper is an epic way to stop being a vegetarian. Regarding the moral implications of meat eating, how do you feel about cultured meat? Lab grown meat that has less of a carbon footprint and no moral impact regarding animal cruelty or living conditions.

I could still remember that life-changing Whopper moment haha.
I think for as long as animals are raised kindly and sustainably, that would be ideal when cows freely graze and hens are free to roam.

Like my part-time vegetarian friend who eats plant-based at home and then eats whatever is served by their friends when invited over for dinners would be something, I might explore for a while.

Yeah I lived that method - your friends method, for about 2-3 years but I've since gone back to eating meat regularly.
I find eating vegetarian to be very boring and generally unsatisfying but I also feel super guilty about eating meat. I am totally looking forward to when cultured meat is cost effective and can be sold in grocery stores

Interesting to know about your lifestyle before. I know what you mean about feeling guilty. We don't have cultured meat available in the Philippines yet. I can imagine it costs way more. The ones we have are mostly organic and sustainably raised agriculture served in a few specialty restaurants.

Cultured meat isn't really a thing in North America yet, or anywhere for that matter. But a lot of companies are working on it and are now just trying to make it economical. Originally when the idea was first thought of it cost around 30 thousand dollars to make a meatball! But now is down to a few bucks. Eventually it will be mass produced and cheap enough for the average consumer to buy buy then public opinion will probably be the next hurdle. That's awesome that most meat where you're at is organic and sustainable and all that. Excellent!

There were talks about it here -articles about lab-grown meat and the like but it's non-existent yet. Sorry, I didn't explain it well. Organic meats are available in the cities in selected healthy restaurants but they're expensive. Where we live, being in the province, it's much easier be-friending the wet market owner to know where their meats are coming from as opposed to buying them from supermarkets to see their conditions if one wants to know further. There are free-range organic native chickens available, chickens raised in the backyards as added household income.

Ok, I see. Makes sense. It's nice to know where food is coming from if you can.

Hello there! I've been Vegan for four years now and I must agree to the changes you felt when you switched in to vegetarian diet. I also started as a vegetarian then slowly transitioned to Vegan. My only advice I give to people whenever they ask me on how to transition is to research. It is very important for someone to know what are available in his or her area. Research of what food you can eat. Research where are places you can eat. Everyday is a learning process in the early stages of transitioning but as time goes by, it'll feel like normal. Have fun in your journey to vegetarianism or maybe veganism soon. You will surely learn so many things such as ingredients, food and cuisines! :)

Hi @asasiklause, thank you for your valuable advice, I agree, research is essential. I have been watching a Youtube vlog called Pick Up Limes by a Vegan Nutritionist named Sadia, without even thinking that I would do this. I have been following many of her delicious recipes before I even started this veg journey. Will continue to get cracking on research on what's available locally.

If you are also in social media, follow Vegan accounts. That also hepls discovering new dishes.💚💚💚

Will definitely do that, who's your favorite?

I follow vegancommunity, thekoreanvegan, thefoodietakesflight. Theres actually alot and i also see a lot in my explore page. Heheeh

Thank you very much for your suggestions. I will check them out 😀 Have a lovely weekend!

You're welcome!💚💚💚