Tasty Herbal Tea I just Learned

in Natural Medicine4 months ago (edited)

We all know very well the benefits of tea, especially herbal tea which is served in various ways. I just learned a new tea recipe a few days ago when I was on a trip to Gayo Highland, it was different from the one I knew.
I am sure that is you see the picture of the tea, you will also be curious when you see the photo of the tea, look at this:

20240124_131816.jpg

Wood shaving in my glass? not just ordinary wood, but kinda herb

When I saw the menu, they said "Wedang Uwuh", I was so curious about what Wedang Uwuh is, then I ordered one, soo?? When the tea came to my table and I looked at it, the first thing I did was smell it, hmm it was so fresh and good. I did not know what was in it but as a person living in the village and familiar with many kinds of herbs, I tried to examine them one by one, by bitting them and taste on my tongue. I still have no idea what kind of wood was it. It feels the same as cinnamon but a little more bland and a bit bitter. Fortunately, I recognized the rest of the ingredients.

20240124_130956.jpg

The appearance of the herbal Uwuh tea

Ok, now let me prescribe the ingredients and I hope you can find the herbs in your area:
Please note that this is for 4 glasses of Uwuh Herbal Tea:

  • 5 grams of dry shaving Secang wood (Sappanwood/Indian redwood//Biancaea sappan), as shown in the picture.
  • 5 cm of ginger (burn it first will be better), clean and then slice it properly.
  • 2 pcs of cinnamon leaves/or finger-sized regular cinnamon
  • 2 pcs of nutmeg leaves/or 1/4 nutmeg
  • 2 pcs of Bay leaves
  • 10 cm of lemongrass
  • 3 psc Cardamom
  • 1 pc Star anise (star seed)
  • 5 pcs cloves, (it stems and 3 dry leaves if you have)
  • 2 pcs dry kaffir lime leaves (you can try with mint)
  • 1 pc Frangrant Pandan leave (Pandanus amaryllifolius)

Way to prepare it

Prepare 1 liter of water, add sliced ginger until it boils over medium heat, then add all the other ingredients to the boiling water, reduce the heat and continue to boil all the ingredients for 5-10 minutes. Turned off the fire and wait until the tea is ready to serve, add sugar/honey if you like.

It is the best tea for cold and immune booster, sore throat and restore your stamina, anti-oxidant, and some believe it can reduce the potential for cancer cell to grow. For me, it teste so fresh and make sleep better and also helps me to overcome flatulence.

Best Regards

Roy

Sort:  

This tea sounds and looks very interesting and I love the bright red color. I suppose that the boiled ginger combined with the redwood and cinnamon give it that color. The other ingredients make me think of chai but, of course this mix is truly unique!

Yes indeed, the red color is mostly from the wood and leaves, and the taste is really good, I like it so much. You need to try it when you can get the ingredients @calendulacraft

All the best

Sounds interesting!

It is indeed interesting, how are you @ligayagarden?
I wish you all good in February

Thank you.

Congratulations @el-nailul! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 6 years!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the January PUM Winners
Feedback from the February Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - January 2024 Winners List

Thank you very much