You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Family Secrets & Inherited Traumas

How horrible that the British did this to the people down there! I truly believe trauma can be passed on, behaviorally, and through our DNA as genetic memories. It makes sense, DNA stores data and memories are data collected by a person throughout their lives. It would be fascinating if we could somehow consciously tap into this storehouse of memories.

Sort:  

When I started writing this, it struck me how odd it is that this part of South African history, namely the Anglo Boer War is not spoken about in the media yet other atrocities are dug up over and over!
You've put it very well Eric, I do believe that trauma is passed on through genetic memories.

It would be fascinating if we could somehow consciously tap into this storehouse of memories.

If only we could!

Thanks, @Lizelle. I agree, it is odd that certain events get all of the media attention. This is one way they media, and those in charge of it, shape public opinion.

It's so interesting how so many of us spend a good portion of our lives trying to figure out and heal from this kind of past trauma. My father had a very tough childhood and grew up in, quite abusive, foster care. I've seen him struggle with the consequences of that his entire life, mainly because it wasn't acceptable for males of his generation to talk about their feelings and struggles. You've talked about this stigma before too in some of your blogs. He, unconsciously, passed this down to my brother and I so we've had to work through it because he hasn't.

This has played a huge role in my promotion of meditation and mindfulness. I feel like if each person would just make the effort to work on themselves the world would heal one person at a time.