You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [Eng-Spa] Late april garden update | Actualización del huerto de finales de abril

in Natural Medicine3 years ago

I have tried pumpkin flowers but never cassava leaves!! i think is awesome that many many common things are edible and really nutritious, if you could reach me some recipe to cook it, it'll be awesome (also if you have knowledge of how to cook the banana blossom heart, i'll appreciate it too!!)

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

This is an old recipe I shared a long time ago. It's Indonesian style. Just remember you have to remove the cyanide from the leaves first. I basically boil them like pasta and throw away the water.

My wife @sreypov is the banana blossom chef, I'll summon her to share any recipes she may have.


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

wow great!!! thank you!! I'll try them both!!

I was checking the recipe and it called my attention you are from Suriname! hehe we are pretty close! I am from Venezuela! I loved the recipe, I really will try to make something, this can be cooked in croquettes or fritters too right?? I love them

 3 years ago  

Yes, I live in Suriname, but I am not from here. Only Guyana separates us. You could fry them, but you still need to boil first to destroy the cyanide content. Some African countries boil them and then dry them in the sun, destroying even more cyanide. Cassava leaves are super high in protein, so you will find yourself quite full after eating a lot of them.


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

the part of the protein is the one I liked the most! thanks for taking the time to explain me!! Maybe I will share it later!