You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How I Tried Saving 3 Baby Birds, But Only 1 Survived (Mean People Suck)

in Natural Medicine4 years ago

I don't want to be another mean person, but those birds are not native to the Americas - they are a threat to the local wildlife :/

I would have probably tried the same though.

I am raising baby birds right now: quail. They eat solid foods from day 1 so that's much easier. I might have to cull 2 of them soon though, since they have major problems.
I feel your pain.

Sort:  

The sanctuary told me that since they were European, and not native, I could technically keep it as a pet in my apartment. Crazy rule.

How'd you end up with those baby quail?

I am breeding quail for a while now - I had a good breeder one village over so I just bought them off of him for the last years. This year he is totally out of stock, so I fired up my old incubator, but I had some settings wrong and the birds had troubles hatching and 2 have crippled feet now :/

They are doing ok (all things considered), but I am not sure, if they are in pain.
I will build a separate cage for the 2, in a way that they are still able to talk with the others, but can not get into fights with them.