Ice pit of Maidla - Dec 16th

20201216_134916.jpg

"Nice, it's cold outside today!" said no-one ever, except my neighbour, when he messaged me on the Telegram app and proposed we take a quick drive to the nearby Maidla lake and torture ourselves with cold water. Well, can you really call it torture, when you half enjoy it? The hardest part is the brief moments between taking your clothes off and getting in the water, from there on, it's a walk in the park.

I had just finished most of my work for the day and so we hopped in his car and drove to Maidla. The thermometer was reporting 1-2 degrees Celsius, so the weather was foggy and muddy, but still cold. In fact, if it wasn't for the swim, I probably wouldn't have stepped outside for a moment, since it was dark with a soggy sky and little to none natural light. But I felt the familiar adrenaline rush deep inside, when I thought of a cool swim. The fear of cold water is always creeping deep inside me somewhere, but I would be telling a lie if I said I didn't like it. Makes you feel alive and have some moments to remember and talk about.

20201216_135002.jpg

20201216_135007.jpg

At the lake it didn't really feel like a cold winter day because of the mud, rain and lack of snow. But the lack of something else, namely people and families on the beaches, told us it's cold and nasty. Just the way we like it.

20201216_140953.jpg

20201216_141000.jpg

We left the car and walked to the bridge. As it was a degree or two on the + side, we had speculated that there would be no ice and we could have a nice swim, but getting closer our hopes were shattered like a block of ice... by ice! A smooth and thick layer of cold and thick glass lazied around on the surface of the lake, separating air from water.

But luckily, we were not the only lads looking for a dip, so someone had carved a good hole in the ice right at the bridge. Not sufficient for a swim, but perfect for a dip though. Probably the local lads. You can find ice swimmers in every part of Estonia these days, that's why we're so healthy while we're not being stressed out by some meaningless problems. But we balance it out with positivity here and there and it all works out in the end.

20201216_134921.jpg

20201216_140438.jpg

20201216_134930.jpg

The water was barely above zero and the hole looked like something a polar bear would climb out of if we lingered around too long, So off with them winter clothes and into the pit! Goddamn, the nasty cold wind with rain lashing my body made the walk from the large tire, where we left our clothes, into the pit, a really nasty experience, but once inside, things started to shape up. 10 seconds past and I was feeling good already, cleaning blocks of ice that were floating around, trying to cut us with their sharp edges.

Capture.jpg
A still from the GoPro. I'm the fool with the block of ice

These near-zero degree waters really test you. My body was ready to sit in the water for a few more minutes, but my toes were screaming bloody murder, while I was quietly thanking myself for buying these neoprene divers gloves. A few weeks ago, I managed to get some frost damage from the cold pools at Trummi that left my fingers a bit numb for a week, but that's ancient history now, as I have the gloves. Already half ahead from my buddy, I can focus on enjoying the icy water. Need those neoprene socks too though soon.

We grabbed a nice overview shot of the lake as well as we left. Will be back soon here again.

DJI_0265.jpg

ezgif.comgifmaker 1.gif

Sort:  

mõnus jääauk, props drooni gifi eest :)

Oli korralik ülelennu klipp, ei tea kuhu see teine pool kaotsi läks gifi tehes. A jääauk oli tõesti väga chill

Nice to see you mate! Hope life is treating you well. As for Ice swimming...I'd LOVE to try it but oh dear, unfortunately for me, its not really 'a thing' in Thailand! What a shame lol ;-)
Seriously. No way I'd get in there but I do understand the feeling of feeling alive and fresh....naked cycling up a mountain gives the same effect......
Take care fella and best wishes for Xmas and the new year if I don't see you for another 4 months!

Naked cycling up the mountain?! Now that's a thing I'd love to try, if we had some solitude here in the hills, some people tend to be overly sensitive to this kind here, especially some families.

About ice swimming, I know some lads in your part of the world, who solve these problems by filling those large green plastic trash bins with ice cubes and sit in there for a minute or more :)

Thanks for stopping by and best wishes to you and your loved ones too! I'll try to visit Hive a bit more often now.

Curated for #naturalmedicine by @drrune.

Brrrrrr!! I've never been even close to these temperatures, I think I'd try a swim in a place like this just for the thrill, and to see how my body takes it. I do believe the health benefits must be great, especially if combined with other practices. Glad you can enjoy these things close to home! I hope to visit Estonia eventually!

Did you know that you can earn a badge from @hivebuzz for posting about #mentalhealthawareness? Read more details here!

We encourage content about health & wellness - body, mind, soul and earth. We are an inclusive community with two basic rules: Proof of Heart (kindness prevails) & Proof of Brain (original content). Read more here.

Our website also rewards with its own Lotus token & we'd love you to join our community in Discord. Delegate to @naturalmedicine & be supported with upvotes, reblog, tips, writing inspiration challenges for a chance to win HIVE and more. Click here to join the #naturalmedicine curation trail!

We also encourage you to follow our sister accounts, @lotusshares and @uplotus for announcements and reblogs.

Thank you! I've been afraid of cold most of my life, until a few years ago I realized that there is actually pleasure in the pain of cold and my health hasn't been this good for a long time. And now I'm hooked!

tegid kätekaid ka hiljem, et sooja saada v?

Polnudki vaja, soojad riided selga, sooja autosse ja asi timm. Õhtul tõmbasin küll kärsa kõveraks.

Congratulations @furious-one! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 52000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 53000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Offer a gift to your friends for Christmas
HiveFest⁵ feedback and contest results