It's Rick O'Clock

in Natural Medicine3 years ago

IMG_2210.jpg

Living on a farm has some perks. Sure, there are detractions too, some of the things I occasionally step in come to mind, but overall most of farm life is a positive thing. Take waking up time for instance, I don't need an alarm clock, for I have a Rick.

IMG_2206.jpg

What is a Rick and why is he superior to the alarm on my phone? Well, Rick is a young Holstein steer. Last fall my boss wandered over to the Tri Cities in Washington and came home with a trailer load of bottle calves. Two of those bottle calves came to live in my barn, Rick and Morticia (Morty).

IMG_2212.jpg

Morty is a regal and serene little heifer. When you approach the barn she arches her elegant neck and peers at you with her gorgeously lashed eyes. Morty never gets in hurry, respects your space, and her moos are soft and gentle.

Not so with Mr. Rick.


IMG_2208.jpg

Between 6 and 7 AM every single day, a sound crashes into my consciousness that resembles hard braking tires combined with a goat in a trash compactor. Rick is incredibly serious about food. I suppose that is why we are such good pals, for I am more than fond of comestibles myself. That said, I think people would have me committed if I emitted half the sounds Rick does every morning when he lets me know that he is ready for breakfast.

IMG_2209.jpg

Some days I let him bellow a bit before he gets his morning grain treat, I don't want him to think he has any power over me. That knowledge is never good for anyone to possess. His multiple gut originated screeching is actually quite impressive, so I don't want his ego to get too moosive.

IMG_2214.jpg

Rick O'clock is also a twice daily thing. I can count on being summoned approximately twelve hours later. If something happens and I don't feed by 6PM in the evening, my ears can be guaranteed a symphony of absolute bovine disgust of deafening proportions.

IMG_2215.jpg

Let's just say Rick wouldn't be afraid to speak to the manager.


And really, I have to admit it's rather cool that he cares so much. Not about me of course, although I do think he usually is genuinely happy to see me. Ah, who am I kidding, all he cares about is the hot pink bucket I carry, the bucket of molasses covered delights.

That's the thing about homesteading though, patterns must be maintained every single day, but there is a beauty and peace in completing the chores which accompany a homesteading life. They are honest, soul-fortifying tasks, and by the time I finish my morning and evening chores my brain is ready to begin and end the day. It's a resolve and settling thing.

And it's all set to a bovine composed soundtrack of it sounds like its dying majesty.


And as most of the time, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's still hasn't been dropped in a cowpie (yet) iPhone.


Sort:  

What an insistent critter! He own inner alarm clock must be very accurate.

I sometimes feel he might be part pig;)

Rick the Rooster .. lol

LOL! I think that rooster has a cold....

I wonder if he can compete with a mini donkey who gave us exactly 5 minutes from the time the light was turned on at the house at 5AM.... neighbors loved it....NOT!

I laughed like a mini donkey when I read your comment, lol lol! At least he gave you 5 minutes! You win for sure, ha ha ha!

So, if your cows are Rick and Morty, who does that make you? I was tempted to simply ask "are you Beth or Summer?"

Also, since we both have chickens, but I've never had cows, I must ask - is Rick officially a better alarm clock than a rooster?

Oh I so wanted to say “I’m Jerry!” Lol lol!!

Regarding the alarm clock comparison, Rick will shut up if food is provided. I’ve had roosters who crow ALL DAY LONG, so I’m thinking I’m partial to the bovine model. Ah, who am I kidding, I love chickens too lol.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thank youuuu!!!!

Hahaha yes, cattle are very accurate clocks in general

Agreed 100% lol! I’m sitting on my deck sipping coffee and my alarm clocks are laying by the gate just beyond the yard chewing their cuds most contentedly. That’s way better than a standard clock in my book;)

As a kid I remember how the dairy cows would come and line up at milking time. They were very punctual

 3 years ago  

There's a calf who knows what he wants and how to get it! Far better than any alarm clock!
He's lucky he has you not someone who would try to put an end to it!

LOL! You are right about him on all counts, cheeky and persistent little creature for sure!:)

Yeah...
Nothing is more important to Mr. Rick than his food. So if he feels you've forgotten, he reminds you😁
Humans are like that too.
Except that with Rick it's so perfectly timed, and always so regular.
Thank you @generikat for sharing🤗

My daughter is on Mr. Rick feeding detail right now, as school is out for the summer and I divided up our chores a bit more since I have more to do in the garden, and let's say that Rick doesn't really like her feeding time schedule as much as mine, lol! There have been lots of vocalizations about it ha ha!

Congratulations @generikat! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 19000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 20000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP