Roasted Garlic & Red Pepper Hummus, Vegan and Delicious

in Natural Medicine3 years ago


image.png

Hummus has to be one of my favorite foods. It can be eaten the classic way with pitta bread or with raw carrot and cucumber. I enjoy adding it to couscous and roasted vegetables too. I even spread it on toast. I love to make it fresh and usually go for the classic recipe but I wanted to try something a bit different today. I haven't written a food post in ages and decided this would be a yummy one to share. Who doesn't love hummus right?

This version is a little sweeter than the original recipe and there is something quite mellow about it. I tend to use canned chickpeas as time is a huge factor but this recipe can also be made with dried ones that have been cooked too. Simply convert the weight ratio if you decide to follow this recipe. It is super easy to make and you don't need fancy gadgets like big food processors to do it. I have a little hand blender that works well. When I lived in Spain I made it with a pestle and mortar and potato masher for a more rustic look.

What you will need.

  • 1 can of chickpeas 400g (250g drained weight)

  • 3 Tablespoons of Tahini

  • 3 medium cloves of garlic

  • 1 Lemon, juiced

  • 1/2 a red bell pepper or capsicum

  • 2 Tablespoons plus a little drizzle Extra Virgin Olive Oil

  • 1/2 Teaspoon Cumin

  • 1/4 Teaspoon Paprika

  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

  • A little water for consistency

  • Sesame seeds, olives, and either parsley or cilantro to garnish.

Preparation

Start by adding a little olive oil and 3 cloves of garlic, skin on, to a skillet or ovenproof pan. Next add half the bell pepper, sliced into chunky strips. I started my skillet off on the hob and transferred it to my oven which was preheated to 220c or 428f, gas mark 8. Simply cook until they are slightly charred. The garlic needed less time than the pepper so I pulled it out earlier.




I juiced the lemon by hand and added it to the pot with the tahini.I blended this together until it was a nice creamy texture.










This took a few minutes and a little stopping and scraping.










I then added the olive oil, cumin, salt, and garlic cloves, skin removed. I blended this until all the ingredients were consistently smooth.


Add the drained chickpeas. Start with half the can and blend until smooth. If it is too stiff to move, add a couple of tablespoons of water. Note: the water from chickpeas makes a good egg replacer and it is worth saving this in a container and freezing.

Once blended, add the rest of the chickpeas and repeat the process until you have a nice smooth paste. Finally, add in the roasted peppers and blend until the desired consistency. I like to leave a few chunkier bits in to add texture but if you prefer it smoother, keep blending until it is completely smooth.


image.png

This makes quite a big batch so I put some in a pot to eat for an early lunch and the rest I placed in a lidded tub and have stored in the fridge. It will last about 5 days like that and I am sure it will all be gone before then as the little dudes like hummus as much as I do.

image.png

For a garnish, I sliced some olives ( I think black ones would have looked better but I only had green), drizzled a little olive oil, and sprinkled a pinch of paprika and sesame seeds to make it look pretty. I later added some cilantro too as it compliments the flavor really well. The parsley is just to make the plate look pretty. I am not a fan of parsley haha.

image.png

Thank you for reading my post and maybe let me know what your favorite hummus flavor is in the comments.

~ONE LOVE~



holisticmom.jpg

***


CommunityIIDiscord

***

abundance-tribe2.gif

***

ecoTrain_logo_main.png


Peace, LOve Happy Banner.png

Sort:  

That is looking so yummy! I will try it someday. Thank you for sharing ❤️

Thank you @sreypov yes it is delicious. 🤗💚

Saludos ,se ve muy rico y un plano muy nutritivo,los garbanzos son ricos en vitamina C y B6 ,especial para la salud de nuestro corazón, así como también para bajar los niveles del corazón.

Sí, es muy delicioso y creo que también tiene algunos beneficios para la salud.
Muchas gracias por tu comentario y por leerme 🤗💚

Congratulations @holisticmom! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 30000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 31000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!
 3 years ago  

Oh I love hummus, we eat it almost daily in the summer, especially with sprouted chickpeas and hemp seeds. Like the roasted garlic touch will try this xxx

Ooh I've never tried it with sprouted chickpeas. I bet that adds a whole new dimension to the flavor.

Yes the roasted garlic is really yum too I definitely recommend it xxx

I loveeee hummus
I have saved this to try it
Thank you

You're very welcome. Thank you for the lovely comment and I hope you enjoy making and eating it one day 🤗💚

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @kaerpediem & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.gg/mY5uCfQ !

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!

Thank you @diyhub and @kaerpediem 💚🤗

 3 years ago  

I can even eat a hummus spread after a full meal, I don't know why it is a dish there is always belly space for. I like your recipe, and of course why not throw some olives on there too. My family still hasn't tried green olives yet, but they're a fan of the black ones.


@NaturalMedicine supports wellness of body, mind, soul and earth on HIVE.
Come say hi via Lotus Chat or drop by our Hive Community - we'd love to have you!


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

Yeah there is something really more-ish about hummus. Thank you, yeah the twist just adds that little change which is always a good thing. Mind you I can eat a whole jar of olives too even after a meal so no wonder I chucked a few on top haha.

Thank you for your lovely comment 🤗💚

Congratulations @holisticmom!
Your post is featured in our latest Plant Power curation post -
Strawberry Cake, Taro-Pumpkin Crackers, Chocolate-Walnut Cake, Roasted Garlic & Red Pepper Hummus, Decadent Rum Cake, & More!!.

image.png
You've been curated by @justinparke for Natural Medicine's curation project aimed at supporting fruit, vegetable and grain recipes, dialogue about cruelty free eating, conscious eating for the planet, and quality meat free food blogs! We upvote, reblog and tweet your great #plantbased content.
Delegate II Community II NaturalMedicine.io II Discord II Curation Trail II LotusChat


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

Awesome, thank you 🤗💚