Jewels of the Desert and Food For the Soul

in Natural Medicine3 years ago (edited)

20201128_111959.jpg

Don't these beauties look superlicious? Luscious fresh Medjool Dates from Namibia that I managed to get from my Veggies on Wheels green grocer.

original_36b2728178734d769824d1a342a5b4d5_20201127_165041.jpg

Quite amazing to think they are grown in the desert; moist, soft and chewy with a caramel-like flavour!

Known as nutrition bombs as they are loaded with fibre, vitamins and minerals, with many health benefits like reducing cholesterol, boosting bone health and reducing Triglyceride levels making them a heart-healthy treat.

Dates are a natural energy booster, much better and healthier than any caffeine-laden energy drink plus so much better for those with a sweet tooth than sugar-laden candy.

20201128_111859.jpg

So now we have food to feed the body, but what about food for the soul?

Food For the Soul
We've missed almost an entire year of seeing live shows so I was overjoyed when I was invited by my very good friend to go to our local Barnyard Theatre where talented young performers had been entertaining with brilliant music, but that was before the nasty Covid put a stop to that as well!

The theatre was opening up again, we had to fill in Covid questionnaires, have our temperature checked, wear masks until we got to our table, with the theatre only at half its capacity, but hey, the show must go on not so, and we were there when that happened!

20191008_191920.jpg

So we boarded the flight and started Rocking the Globe to fifteen different destinations all over the world; even had a drag show thrown in for some extra laughs; it was wonderful, a real tonic and felt like The Time Before!
Barnyard stage.jpg

Naughty But Nice Date Squares
OK, so I know I've been singing the praises of the health benefits of Dates, but a gal is allowed a little cheat now and then not so!
The beauty of the Barnyard Theatre is that everyone gets to sit around massive wooden tables and you can take your own food along; my job was the sweet aftermath:)

20201129_115439.jpg

20201129_115702.jpg

These almost taste like nutty Fudge, contain coconut sugar so is much healthier and definitely moreish!

20201129_115650.jpg

The Recipe

Melt together:

  • 125 gram Butter (Vegan if you wish)
  • 2 cups chopped Dates
  • 125ml Coconut Sugar
  • 1 tsp Vanilla

Add & beat:

  • 1 Egg yolk (or 1 Tsp Flax Seeds or Chia Seeds soaked in 2 Tbsp hot water)

Add and mix:

  • 1 pkt crushed plain tea biscuits (Tennis or Marie Biscuits)

Spoon into sprayed pan, press down and leave to cool for about half an hour before cutting into squares.

20201128_210942.jpg

Roll in fine Coconut and refrigerate.

20201128_212927.jpg

BON APPETIT FRIENDS!
This is where the naughty part came in as I added everyone's favourite choccies:)

20201129_120420.jpg

Heart page break.png

Do you know this Badge?
Papilloncharity.png

It says "Thank you for partnering with the Papillon Foundation by participating in the
Weekly Hive Charity Giveaway."

Do you want this Badge?
If you like this badge and if you want to help too, you can learn more about @combination and the badge in their blog post:
Some Exciting News! Badge release!

Hive animated divider 1.gif
Why not join Hive RIGHT HERE and become part of this amazing community!


Heart page break.png
Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by
Copyright @lizelle – All Rights Reserved


Banner created by @derangedvisions

PHC-Footer-05.gif


Banner created by @zord189

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

You know that sight makes my heart sing! Love some good dates, and those look absolutely fantastic! I just ordered a few different varieties from my favorite date company here in the US. I have Thoory and Khaisab coming Tuesday I believe. Can't wait to try them, though I'm still waiting for the Barhi to come back in stock to order my favorites, too. Yep, I'm date crazy. ;)

Your name always pops into my head when I see gorgeous dates like these;) They are simply divine!
I've never heard of those variants, hope we see them here and what you're going to do with them!
Thank you for the visit Katie, it's always great seeing you.

Yummy!
I love dates.
Seems easy to make!
I noticed... your dedicated coconut looks fine grind, ours are hard stringy...

They are super easy and delicious! We get coconut in all forms, from slivers to coarsely grated down to the fine one like I used, this is best for baking.
Thanks for the visit @silversaver888!

They grow in our desert too!

And I don't particularly like them. :) Sam and the birdies and lizards are all pretty fond of the dates that fall from my entirely untended date palm.

Those treats look really good, however. I'm sure I could eat one or 11 without making a face.

Thanks Lizelle!

Well at least it's not going to waste @bigtom13, but I'm sure your Mom would have made Date Bread and other kind of treats with those! I think Dates are one of those things people either love or hate, very strange as I just love them!
Thanks for popping in @bigtom13

What a delicious preparation. I've got an appetite for it haha

They disappeared so fast, now I need to make some again;)
Thanks for popping in @carmenm20, nice meeting you:)

I love coconut!
I will need to discover the different kinds available in the market.
I'm sure a food store carries fine ones, somewhere.
In the meantime, I will make your recipe! (Did you forget to say that this has to bake?)

Hi @silversaver888, this is the beauty of it, no baking, you simply refrigerate it as all the ingredients are cooked. If you can't find the fine coconut, you can roll it in any kind of sugar but coconut is best, I looove it!

Oh, okay!
I guess 1 egg will not harm.
I will let you know how it turns out, @lizelle.

The egg yolk actually cooks in the hot mixture, one has to beat it in quickly to prevent curdling;)
Enjoy!

Ah... yes! 🥰🌺🤙
!ENGAGE

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

🥰🌺🤙
!ENGAGE

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.