You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Taking Ownership of My Own Nutritional Needs.

in Natural Medicine3 years ago

I haven't, but I have been coming across mentions of them, so I probably should. Step at a time at the moment, though, because I'm cooking for the while family, so I can't just change everything at once or they'll complain and get McDonald's.

I've heard nightshades can be a real issue for some. I use tomatoes and potatoes a lot, so I'd hate for them to be an issue for any of us. How do they affect you? Is it digestive issues or more visible reactions?

Sort:  

Any potatoes or tomatoes and I'm in agony for 24 hours - worked that out about 15 years ago.

Severe joint pain.

And I stopped eating gluten in 98.

 3 years ago  

I’m finding it hard to move away from wheat with my husband and daughter in the picture as well. My husband particularly could do with dripping it, but he likes his bread and noodles too much. Made himself a breakfast of toast and instant noodles just the other day. I told him the other day that if he won't do anything about his aches and pains I'll by a tiny violin to play every time he complains about them. 😉

Didn't realise nightshades would do that. Are they inflammatory?

Yes they are very inflammatory - quick way to see - fully eliminate them for a week - notes what happens - then add them back in (be conservative, this can REALLY hurt) and see what happens.

Same with gluten - but make sure there will be a toilet available for most of the day

A fail on either of these and a person will never be tempted to try them again...ever!

Using a pressure cooker can help with some foods - not nightshades though, those are poisons!

image.png