When life gives you lemons, make lemonade πŸ‹πŸ‹

in Natural Medicine β€’ 3 years ago (edited)

When life gives you lemons, make lemonade right? And why not?

When life gives you lemons, make lemonade!!
πŸ‹πŸ‹

In its proverbial meaning, this phrase wants to encourage optimism and a positive can-do attitude in the face of adversity or misfortune. Lemons suggest sourness or difficulty in life; making lemonade is turning them into something positive or desirable. [wikisource] :x:x

20180419_112909.jpg

But I was thinking about making lemonade for good! It is one of the most popular beverages around the world and pretty much everyone enjoy its taste and all those good healthy benefits.
πŸ‹πŸ‹

Bassically, lemonade is a sweetened lemon-flavored beverage. It contains lemon's juice mixed with water.
πŸ‹

Now, the combinations are never-ending. You can add other fruits or berries (all kind) making berry lemonade or fruit lemonade; you can also add aromatic herbs or edible flowers like rosemary, thyme, lavander, mint, cinnamon, roses, cardamom, ginger etc etc. Or you can combine different types of citruces and have citrus lemonade.

As sweeteners you can add honey, stevia, cane sugar, simple syrup. It can be a carbonated drink as well, depending on the restaurant, country or region.


20180419_113033.jpg

20180419_112929.jpg

LEMONS πŸ‹πŸ‹

You can't have lemonade without 'em! Lemons are the ones who make this beverage a healthy one.

This sweet & sour fruit is known world-wide for its healthy benefits and there are plenty of studies that attest their beneficial properties over the human body.

This is all because they are rich in Vitamin C, a powerful antioxidant. They also contains flavonoids, polyphenols, terpenes, and tannins, which are compounds that help boost health and fight disease.πŸ‹

20180427_172226.jpg

20180427_174750.jpg

I want to mention some of these healthy benefits :

  • they have anti-inflammatory effects.
  • its a really really good tonic and energier
  • it can help relieve constipation.
  • prevents oxidation of the cells and free radicals
  • One 2019 review reports that the antioxidants and flavonoids in citrus fruits can improve heart health and metabolic health markers, including glucose tolerance, insulin sensitivity, and fat metabolism. [source] πŸ‹
  • Because they are high in antioxidants (compounds that help protect the body’s cells from damage) they also can reduce the risk of many health conditions, including cardiovascular disease, diabetes, obesity, and cancer.
    πŸ‹
  • Some studies suggest that drinking lemon water may help treat kidney stones. It appears to be most effective alongside conventional therapy, but it may also be a useful alternative treatment. Increasing the amount of citrate in the body prevents kidney stones from forming by stopping calcium from binding with other compounds. [source]
  • 15 Benefits of drinking Lemon Water in the morning on an empty stomach like helping you with digestion, helping fight common cold, cleansing the liver etc [source]

20180419_113247.jpg

Lemons have unsignificant quantities of protein and fat, but they have about 6.5% carbohydrates.πŸ‹

You can enjoy lemons in form of lemon juice and lemonade, lemon tea, lemon essential oil. There are endless home remedies with lemons, in and out.

Lemons are considered a natural beauty 'product', being known for cleansing and hydrating the skin, removing blackheads and clearing up blemishes.

- they have antibacterial and antifungal properties

- they may also work well on lightening age spots or acne scars

- as an antioxidant, vitamin C may help prevent free radicals that can damage collagen, leaving you with smoother skin.

DSCN9982.JPG

Recipe for LemonadeπŸ‹πŸ‹

  • water (natural mineral water or sparkle water)
  • lemons (squeezed juice)
  • limes (optional)
  • sweetener (stevia, honey, cane sugar)
  • herbs like mint, lavander, thyme (optional)

20180427_172319.jpg

20180427_172608.jpg

20180419_113008.jpg

Check this recipe of mine, maybe you wanna try it! It was absolutely amazing! I always do such lemonade in the house, especially in the summer.


Herbal Lemonade πŸ‹πŸΈπŸ‹πŸΈ Raspberries Lavander Thyme Rosemary and Mint Lemonade .

20180427_175857.jpg

Have a wonderful day folks!

Enjoy life, your time spent with family and friends and please, take care of yourself!

Stay healthy and maybe....drink some lemonade?? :d

Missdeli

Sort: Β 
Β 3 years agoΒ Β 

Awesome post, informative, beautiful pictures, and now I want a glass. I'm burning 100 LOTUS to promote this post. Thanks for sharing this with us.


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

Hey Justin! Thank you so much for the appreciations you brought to my article! Health and natural medicine is still my passion, besides being a mom so I'm more than happy to share this with you, even though I bet you all know so well these amazing properties of lemon fruit! Thank you again! :)

Great to see you back on the chain!
Looks delicious and refreshing!

Hey thanks!!
Great to see you too, really! :)
How are you?:D

not toooo shabby! how about yourself?!


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

Hey you:)!
Well, I guess I'm doing fine Mom life isn't easy (for me) but now I feel things are a bit different and I can manage my time in order to be more efficient, more organized more 'me'. I have more energy. Big changes happen at babies from 1 to 2 yrs old. They are completely different, more independent! I feel more 'human' now :)):)).
Doing regular things around the house, nothin extraordinary! I miss travel though...I hate this freaking virus. That's a fact! :D

Β 3 years agoΒ Β 

Beautiful photos, @missdeli. Do you mind if I use one for the @lotus.medicine instagram?

I drink a lot of lemon in sparkling water (I have a soda stream) because I have a lemon tree!


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

Hi thank you :) sure, you can use any of my photos! no problem. I guess its nice to have a lemon tree in the back yard/garden! :)

You're doing a great job promoting hive outside the platform! Thanks for sharing this :)
Love all your photos of recipes! I bet they are deliciously insane! Greetings from Romania :)

That’s one of my favorite sayings and favorite drink. Lovely photos. The drinks look so refreshing.

Thanks darling! I love lemonade myself! especially in the sumer right?

Yes! It’s really refreshing. I had some today. πŸ˜†

Informative, beautiful photography, you've got the whole package in this post. Shame lemons aren't so easily obtained here in Suriname, so I'll have to satisfy the craving this post triggered with some limeade.

Thanks @missdeli for sharing this with us.

Your post is featured in our latest Plant Power curation post, Piri-Piri Chili Eye Drops, Lemonade From Life's Lemons, Falafel, Delicious Fungus Among Us, & So Much More!!.

image.png
You've been curated by @justinparke for Natural Medicine's curation project aimed at supporting fruit, vegetable and grain recipes, dialogue about cruelty free eating, conscious eating for the planet, and quality meat free food blogs! We upvote, reblog and tweet your great #plantbased content.
Community | Discord


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

Thank you Justin! I really appeciate it!
Actually we love limes soooo much! My husband is more into limes than lemons so we're always buying both. Honestly I am sooo thristy I'm going to make a lemonade right now (after I write 2-3 comments more) :P

Hello Missdeli. when I look at your beautiful photos my mouth is watering. The drinks, the flowers, the colors, the light, the recipe everything is magnificent.
The lemon is the king fruit and useful for health. Actually lemon has an alkalising effect and it can detoxify, cleanse and purify the body and the skin.


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

Thanks so much! :) such lovely words!
Yes, I know about the alkaline effect of the lemon fruit. So good you mention it! :)