Thymus serpyllum (Herba Serpylli)

in Natural Medicine4 years ago (edited)

media-share-0-02-05-f38c0062b2d05437791892a5d85a063b05d1c12c0dee18cdcc2b9577373e0a35-aec585a8-9958-4c29-a960-743f989fff98.jpg

Hello! I live in Belarus! Today was wonderful weather without rain. I promised my daughter a trip to the forest. While still small, I often visited this forest with my grandfather. And I know about the vegetation of this forest.

Sometimes in this forest, as a child, I was with my mother and my mother tore grass that smelled with purple flowers there. My grandmother was sick with asthma and my mother said that this herb is medicinal and can be dried and used as tea for cough and bronchial asthma. I always really liked Herba Serpylli. It turns out that this is part of many cough medicines.

On Wikipedia, I found the following information

https://ru.wikipedia.org/wiki/%D0%A2%D0%B8%D0%BC%D1%8C%D1%8F%D0%BD_%D0%BF%D0%BE%D0%BB%D0%B7%D1%83%D1%87%D0%B8%D0%B9

>In scientific medicine, creeping thyme grass (lat. Herba Serpylli), collected during flowering, threshed and dried outdoors in the shade or dryers at a temperature of 35-40 ° C, is used as medicinal raw material. Shelf life of raw materials is 2 years. The application is the same as the thyme herb. Infusions, decoctions and thyme extract are prescribed for acute and chronic diseases of the respiratory tract, bronchial asthma and tuberculosis. The liquid extract from the leaves is part of the Pertussin preparation used for bronchitis and whooping cough. Creeping thyme has a bactericidal, sedative, analgesic, wound healing and anthelmintic effect. The aerial part of the plant is part of expectorant fees, astringent and choleretic fees and collection for baths with inflammation of the joints.

> In folk medicine, thyme is used for neuralgia, various neuroses, as a diaphoretic, diuretic, anticonvulsant, sedative and antihypertensive agent. It is used externally in the form of baths, compresses and lotions for pain in joints and muscles. In the form of ointments and lotions, thyme was used in rheumatism, as a wound healing in skin diseases.

media-share-0-02-05-cc6e29d2daf067d25a561ba5622f5c8cdf58422295d93075d6a3a37d4ea86d80-6d8e272f-d920-4163-96f4-c4dd96b1e2c1.jpg

We did not tear thyme. It became quite small compared to the previous year. I remember, as always, a purple carpet spread out on this spot. Now this was not a lot, in small heaps.



Read also my previous posts, if you are interested, about Hypéricum perforátum:

https://hive.blog/hive-120078/@nettle1984/hypericum
and about Linden flowers:

https://hive.blog/hive-120078/@nettle1984/linden-flowers


Watch my video about what the forest looked like in which thyme grows:
https://hive.blog/hive-174578/@nettle1984/hanngmzw

Sort:  

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! I found similar content that readers might be interested in:
https://www.ebay.com/itm/100Pcs-Creeping-Thyme-Seeds-9-Species-Medicinal-Garden-Decoration-Magic-Carpet-/383150557479

 4 years ago  

I love your personal stories about thyme, which I find even more valuable than the wikipedia source! I see cheetah picked you up - that might mean it's having trouble recognising your sourcing. I'm not sure why, as I can see you've tried here, so don't be discouraged.

I grow thyme in my garden, but don't ever see it wild sadly - I live in Australia.

Thanks for the comment! A cheetah is probably selling something on ebay, and it's just advertising. I have a friend from Australia.

Wonderful to find the creeping thyme growing wild! And wise of you to not pick it at this time to let it regenerate!

Curated for #naturalmedicine by @porters.

We encourage content about health & wellness - body, mind, soul and earth. We are an inclusive community with two basic rules: Proof of Heart (kindness prevails) & Proof of Brain (original content). Read more here.

Our website also rewards with its own Lotus token & we'd love you to join our community in Discord. Delegate to @naturalmedicine & be supported with upvotes, reblog, tips, writing inspiration challenges for a chance to win HIVE and more. Click here to join the #naturalmedicine curation trail!

We'd love you to enter our Self Inquiry Challenge, which you can read about here. Win an Astrological Reading!
!