My Entry: Natural Medicine's Wild Edible Contest

in Natural Medicine4 years ago (edited)

Good morning hivers!

Here I am once again to share my natural wild edible, that I never knew, it could be eaten. I was planting it for the leaves only and the peel of the trunk of this tree is also a good source of natural medicine for allergies. I never that the fruit is also edible.

The other day I harvested the fruits.

inbound5484459812086870617.jpg

Once a year it bears fruits but I just let it go or dried it up for planting purposes.

Later on, I heard from one of my friends that it is a very delicious viand from the mountain. So, I tried it and here, I will show you how I cooked it. I'm fasting today for my last day of Ramadan and got ready for this food for breakfast later after the sunset.

inbound7043575823739362751.jpg

It is then ready to eat viand and it is called Moringa with Coconut Milk

inbound4017500656406695756.jpg

Ingredients

3 sticks of moringa fruits
1 onion
1 tomato
1 ginger
Moringa leaves for flavoring
Lemongrass
Black pepper and salt.
Coconut milk
Water

Procedure

Simply bring the water to boil and add on all the spices and all the ingredients. Add salt and black paper then, the coconut milk for the last touch. After 5 minutes, please remove from the fire.

inbound3913774280688492264.jpg

The spices and coconut milk.

inbound8239039687446151128.jpg
Main ingredients of the recipe.

inbound1427321646680201735.jpg

The final presentation, it's time to taste it but sorry for now, I'm fasting. At night I will eat a lot. The aroma is spreading around the inside house.

Additional information

Since the moringa tree that I planted 10 years ago, it gave medicinally benefits to all my neighbors and my employer's friend. One of them, a certain man who can't walk but when he eats a raw moringa, he can move from the bed to his comfort room alone and even go to the sala. They are telling me and it really surprised me. He just chews the raw leaves of the moringa once a day and it helps him. I'm not a professional expert who could say the exact benefits of moringa but the more I learned personally when I applied it to myself. When I eat it, there's no pain in my body. I also heard that it could help eliminate the coronavirus19 from our body. My experience using and eating moringa is enough to tell the world how useful edible it is.

Thank you @naturalmedicine for this initiative.

Stay home and keep safe!

inbound4562775465435689710.gif

inbound141447688884865797.gif

Sort:  

Hello @olivia08, this is @notconvinced on behalf of Natural Medicine.

I've heard Moringa is a very nutritious and medicinal plant, but wasn't sure what it treated. Now I see it helps pain.

I use kratom for my pain, but think I'll try moringa to see if it's a bit better on my liver. Thank you for sharing.

curation.png

Discord II Community**

My dear @notconvinced, thank you for dropping by.In the Philippines, this is our basic food since childhood. When we were wounded it cured using the fresh extract of the leaves. We never bought any medicine. When my grandmother had a rheumatic arthritis, she bonded her knees with heated moringa overnight and the next day, the pain went away.Now, there is one Saudi who chewed up fresh moringa and he became stronger. That is the living testimony of my employer's friend. Husband of my employer's sister, is taking 1 teaspoonful of grounded moringa everyday and he said it lower his sugar. I don't know it it is true or not. It's almost two years that I gave them grounded moringa leaves from.my garden in Saudi Arabia. I'm a maid from Philippines.Thank you again.

Ay ang galing talaga ni sis @olivia08 , nkakuha po ako technique sa inyo.. 😊..

Salamat dear

Good Information

Moringa is a wonderful tree. I grow them in my garden. The pods are delicious and I love how you can eat the flowers too - they taste like mushrooms when fried.

Oh yes, thank you so much! Now I know the correct term for the fruit of moringa, is it the pods, I will note it. The flowers is so yummy too.

Also it's fruit! Really healthy!

Yes, my dear. It's delicious and healthy.

Enjoying your post so much. Morginga is a very resilient tree, If you cut it down another one grows back up like nothing 😄

True, do you know that I'm living in the desert? There was no moringa before and I'm the one who brought it here.

Wow. Its great that you planted it and its helping everyone around you 😊

Yes, sister it helps us.

@olivia08 thanks for sharing this. I have moringa in my garden but I am not aware it's fruit is edible. I will give it a try soon.

You are welcome and please try to discover the hidden benefits of moringa, a miracle tree.

Yup. If you eat the seeds it will taste bitter and sweet at the same time but I prefer drinking the leaves as a tea

 4 years ago  

a great entry @olivia808. I'm so pleased you discovered something new by researching for the contest. That's what it's all about - learning and sharing wisdom. I do wish moringa grew wild here!

Thank you @riverflows for the beautiful words. I love you all in this community but sometimes I have no vacant time. When I saw this topic, I drank coffee so I could stay awake. Moringa healed me and many Saudi took moringa tea, since the day I introduced it to theme. I'm souch busy because it's Ramadan here. Again thank you so much.

A wonderful post! I have moringa growing like crazy in my Thai garden and yes, we also have pods. The Thai people make something similar, but spicier. 😆 Nice entry to the challenge!

Thank you so much @atrtemislives. Are you'd Thailander? Moringa is very important to me here and in the Philippines. I don't like spicy foods. Black pepper is enough.

LOVE to see you write and share in our TOBACCO challenge - some seriously good Hive prizes! The How-To is here: https://peakd.com/hive-120078/@naturalmedicine/tobacco-poison-or-medicine-challenge

Super yummy gyud ang bunga, labi na may camote, igisa lang.

Wala man koy kamote