Garden Journal Challenge Early June

in Natural Medicine3 years ago

image.png

Well, it's early June and it's time for the GARDEN JOURNAL challenge! Less of a 'challenge' really and more of a 'let's enjoy this opportunity to brag about our gardens'. It's freezing down here in Victoria, Australia, but things are still growing as we never really get snow, and never on the ground really. My biggest problem is my chickens breaking into my brassica patch!

Oh, and farting from eating too many yakons - thanks, @simplymike!

Frustratingly, I lost the template for the rejiggered image from last week, so I had to make another thumbnail. PLEASE DON'T USE THIS IMAGE IN YOUR POST - nothing worse than the same image appearing over and over on HIVE!

Guidelines

  • Reblog appreciated
  • Use the #gardenjournal tag
  • Post in any community you like
  • Put the link under this post - no link, no entry
  • Refer back to this post
  • Comment on others using that tag through the week, up to Friday 11th
  • No more than 10 photos - I can't scroll forever! If you're a newbie, using this code will put your images side by side:

<div class = "pull-left">IMAGE HERE</div> <div class = "pull-right">IMAGE HERE</div>

Have fun, and happy gardening! There's 10 HIVE on offer this week, which will go either to a super duper amazing post or be distributed amongst the ones I like the best. Obviously, I'm looking for quality photos, interesting stories and some effort! Go gardeners!


With Love,

riverflows.png

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

Woo hoo

I am impressed by the difference two weeks made, the garden looks so much happier now. You did a great job with getting a nice variety of veggies in that 8x 12 space. Nice going @owasco, have a blessed and peaceful day.

 3 years ago  

I'm here with a little veggie humor to join the fun...🥒🍆😂
https://peakd.com/hive-120078/@plantstoplanks/a-little-fun-in-the-gardenjune-2021

 3 years ago  

lol

Shame on you @plantstoplanks, being a little naughty aren't you?😊
As always, a fun , informative and beautifully photographed post. Your garden looks excellent , ours is coming along well also, although you are ahead of us by probably a month weather wise.
Enjoy your day and don't work out too hard.
.

 3 years ago  

🤭🤭🤭

WHEEEEEEEEEEEEE another photographic trip down the gardening lane! Hope you are nice and snug on your wintery side of the world @riverflows!
https://hive.blog/hive-120078/@buckaroobaby/reality-bites-wintery-june-garden-journal

 3 years ago  

Oh yes we are chain sawing as well!

Hey loved your idea !! waiting to see some amazing gardens here !

heres my entry :

https://peakd.com/hive-120078/@polessins/garden-during-pandemy

Hi Everyone. I love this idea and I really want to get into the habit of journalling the changes in our garden monthly, but I made a start. You can see my post here https://hive.blog/hive-120078/@andrastia/recycling-in-and-of-the-garden

Monsoon gardening is on.... here's my June gardening post:
https://hive.blog/hive-120078/@amy-goodrich/monsoon-gardening-let-the-rainy-season-begin
Happy gardening!

Sigh, as usual I posted the update a few days back, and no time to do another for a while....

 3 years ago  

You can add it here @goldenoakfarm!

Ok, here it is. There were 2 parts to cover all the gardens, but I am posting Part 1:

https://peakd.com/homesteading/@goldenoakfarm/the-garden-tour-part-1-may-31-2021-goldenoakfarm

Another side of my garden, a side worth seeing. I have been collecting these plants for years now and its time to show them off. I love them for the amount of joy the bring to me. https://peakd.com/hive-120078/@sofs-su/cacti-in-bloom-garden-journal

Sup! I am just adding mine, but I totally understand if it's too much of a mission!
Cheers!
https://hive.blog/hive-120078/@edprivat/this-month-on-the-farm-4

I can't open your link, @edprivat

I've changed the link @simplymike let me know how it goes

Yep, it works now!! Great post

Gardening and growing food and flowers is a passion of mine. Seeing seeds pop into tiny plants always amazes me. I love it. Then when harvest rolls around I feel I have really accomplished something good.
Nothing better than providing for yourself.
Hope you have a blessed day.

 3 years ago  

Can't wait to see your post @farm-mom

Hi there @riverflows, it's a little tricky for me to do a journal, I may have to get a little creative since my garden is also @thebigsweed s, and he does such great job. So we will see what I may or may not come up with. 🙄
I think it's really a great way to document each years' planting lay out and the yield , as well as the different varieties . For years we would just write it all down in a book , yup, the good old fashioned way, pen and paper.
I must say, I do really enjoy reading about others' gardens, especially from different parts of the world.
I guess you are getting into your winter, while we a gliding into summer.

 3 years ago  

Another opportunity to see many gardens! and I think I owe a post about my garden (well, actually it's some potted plants, they are few, but they are MY few plants lol). xd

Hey, my garden is tiny and in pots too! Join in! :D

 3 years ago  

We are in the same club of people with potted gardens. VIP. :D

All the cool kids are doing it!

I think it is fate, that your post popped up on me this morning, because I just thought I should run away from our garden (still new, we rented it last May )... EVERYTHING absolutely EVERYTHING gets eaten :-DDDD Last year we had snails, a lot of snails, may I call it an army? ANd now ants (and snails) are killing new plants and eating the rhubarb. But that’s not all, three days ago two thirds of my tomato plants were eaten, only the stems remained (I suspect bunnies) and yesterday - sigh and wine - my hand fed rose was completely eaten (I suspect deer).
After these experience (Oh, I forgot we also have a lot mice) I thought: why do I do this???! And then I saw your idea of a garden journal and instantly I had so many photos in mind which will let our garden look beautiful and I was inspired again (all lies naturally, its only the photos in my mind, the garden is a wilderness :-D)
Not sure if I will find the time to really write this post, but nevertheless, thank your for this lovely impulse to get a grip on my negative feelings.
I send you flowery greetings (naturally full of ants 🐜:-DDDDDD)
DC35457B-FF57-4A8D-809A-9628160CE1BA.jpeg

Here I was, waiting for the challenge to come out. I have your peakd blog set to open automatically when I open Brave, so I can check every day.
Yesterday, I started wondering why it was 7 days ago that you had posted. You don't take such long breaks, afaik. Only just now I realized peakd had been giving me troubles all week. Posts just don't show up, no matter which node I try.
So finally found it by using hive.blog. Should have realized sooner, lol.

 3 years ago  

Oh, lol! I actually haven't been posting that much lately because I've been busy, but I didn't want to miss the garden challenge!

The sun is finally here, after a terrible spring, and slowly but surely, the veggies are starting to grow.
First strawberries have been consumed, and I actually had (and still have) an awesome harvest of peas - it's the first year that growing peas actually worked.

First tomatoes have been formed, on a freaking pomato plant. Hahaha... I'll be keeping a close eye on the plant, though, since tomatoes and potatoes are considered to be bad companion plants. But I saw one in the store and I couldn't resist buying one.... experiments are my weakness 🤣

Maybe, if I feel well enough today, I might go out an take some pics. Who knows I can find the energy to even make a short post before this month's challenge has come to an end.

Pomato: I learned something today. I hope you feel better soon!

Thanks, but it's gonna take a while.

It's kinda strange, 'cos tomatoes and potatoes belong to the same family and are vulnerable for the same diseases, so I'm a bit scared for what may happen. If the plants gets sick, I hope I'll notice it in time to save my other tomato plants.

It's also kinda funny, though. Like, you see the tomato plant, it's still relatively small, but you can already see 2 or 3 potato stems above the ground.

I'm really curious to see how this will turn out.

 3 years ago  

Never heard of yakons before, but I'm interested in anything to do with farting. Apparently they are northern South American grows a lot of them. I'm surprised I never encountered them in Ecuador either.


@NaturalMedicine supports wellness of body, mind, soul and earth on HIVE.
Come say hi via Lotus Chat or drop by our Hive Community - we'd love to have you!


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

Yacon roots are sooooo incredibly delicious.
Well, it depends a little on the type of yacon, some taste fruitier than others. The ones that taste fruity are like an awesome, juicy apple.... I love 'm

 3 years ago  

Do they make you fart?

Here's my story about how nature (plants) fight through harsh weather 😊: https://peakd.com/hive-120078/@tanjakolader/fighters-during-harsh-rains-gardenjournal

Hey Hi :)
Here's my contribution! Hope I'm not too late ^^ Time flies too fast.
https://peakd.com/hive-120078/@anafae/update-from-the-jungle-an-abundance-of-peppers-and-a-shower-in-the-wild

hi again!! I love to participate in this challenge!!
here's my entry
https://peakd.com/hive-120078/@fanyokami/my-garden-update-welcome-june
I hope everybody like it!

 3 years ago  

Here's my garden update hopefully on time . I have been really busy in the gardens that I didn't have time before this to write about it.

Two of the photos just wouldn't load, I'll have to try editing it or putting them in the comments
https://peakd.com/hive-120078/@porters/june-update-hive-community-garden-journal-challenge

Hi @riverflows, I've transferred 50 lotus and 50 hive for prizes for future gardenjournal challenges (or opportunities 😁) - thank you for curating!

I may even get a post up, who knows!

 3 years ago  

GOSH!! REALLY? That's super kind of you!!!! AMAZING!