Garden Journal Challenge July : Nature gives us the right product at right time

in Natural Medicine3 years ago

We should try to consume seasonal food instead of trying to grow them in other seasons

20210703_133326.jpg

Nature gives us everything - it knows which fruit should be consumed when. Unfortunately, we have been trying to steal that and trying to grow vegetables / fruits in off seasons with a thought that we can do anything - but that is where we are going wrong.

I have come to my native place since last few days and I was excited to see these fruits / vegetables in my own home garden. In fact its not even a planned garden. Its a big space ( almost 20000 sq ft) with lot of trees and full of greenery. Some of the trees I planted when I was a kid almost 30 years back. The comfort it gives us now, cannot be matched to any artificial environment.

These jackfruits are the last yield of this year. There were enough of them as per my Mom and they distributed a lot to neighbors and friends. If you do not know, they are very rich source of fiber and contain natural chemicals they may help prevent Ulcers. When I was young in my twenties, I could eat one of these at one go. Unfortunately, our next generation are least interested (even my own kids) in these and more inclined towards expensive fruits, that may not be suitable for our region.

20210703_133310.jpg

Let me share some more pictures of what we have got ready in the garden. Here comes the Ripe Banana - almost ready to be harvested in few days. Once we see one of them showing yellowish, we cut it and hang inside home. And then we eat them for few weeks as they ripe over a time of 2-3 weeks. The ones that you get in market are barely usable after 2-3 days. The reason of that is that, now a days, they cut it early and add chemicals to ripen. It has very bad effect on our health, but we can do nothing except not using them.

20210703_133753.jpg

No chemical papaya - I just got one today and the taste is amazing and different.

20210703_133646.jpg

Coconuts full in numbers - searching for someone to climb and harvest 😀 - the ones who come are not coming as regular during this covid time.

20210703_171426.jpg

Curry Banana - we buy them in city with very high price but here we give it to friends 😀 - remains farm fresh in the tree - we grab 2-3 when we need.

20210703_133557.jpg

Carambola - add green chilly and salt - Tasty and mouth watering

20210703_133244.jpg

Guava - the small ones but very tasty

20210703_133507.jpg

Lemon - the tree is coming up with new leaves

20210703_133205.jpg

Beauty and reachable - we can harvest by hand - these are small trees.

20210703_132910.jpg

I am here for almost a week but I feel like staying here longer. I came to see my parents, but after seeing these greenery, I am thinking to make a plan to stay here for longer chunks and try to grow some seasonal vegetables. Of late I am realizing the benefit of staying with nature by producing vegetables of a particular season and consume in that season only. And all that without any chemicals. Instead of running behind money and then later paying that to doctors, its worth saving ourselves from pain and sufferings.

I would like to tag @nainaztengra and @steemflow to join in the Garden Journal Challenge July contest. Thank you @riverflows for getting me out of sleep mode 😀

Sort:  

Wow, that's called some real gardening. I wish I have such a place in future. I will surely participate, though right now the weather is so hot here 50 degrees, so nothing much in my garden.

Wow what abundance your parents have on their land, so many amazing fruits to be eaten. You are so right when you talk about the importance of eating seasonal foods. I would love to be able to grow banana's and coconuts.
Curated for #naturalmedicine by @trucklife-family. Come join us in in our new LOTUS CHAT - anyone can join, even without a HIVE account! Check it out here. Did you know that you can earn a badge from @hivebuzz for posting about #mentalhealthawareness? Read more details here! divider.fw.png

We encourage content about health & wellness - body, mind, soul and earth. We are an inclusive community with two basic rules: Proof of Heart (kindness prevails) & Proof of Brain (original content). Our website also rewards with its own Lotus token & we'd love you to join our community in Discord. Delegate to @naturalmedicine & be supported with upvotes, reblog, tips, writing inspiration challenges for a chance to win HIVE and more. Click here to join the #naturalmedicine curation trail! We also encourage you to follow our sister accounts, @lotusshares and @uplotus for announcements and reblogs.

These are a whole lot of fruits and one of the things that piqued my interest about that jackfruit is that it helps to prevent ulcer.

Ulcer has proven to be a very big issue and it can happen to anyone irrespective of their age. It's good to know that this prevents it but I don't know if it will be effective for someone that have already developed ulcer.

Well, in all, the point remains that all these natural fruits has a lot of health benefits for anyone that cares to look into them.

Nice reading from you.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

It looks beautiful!

Fresh fruits are the best! I rarely get any x)

These are a lot of fruit food, sustainable for healthy living. In all honesty I do believe that you're right. People are no longer interested in eating fruits, this could be as a result of the appeal of junk and processed food and sometimes this could be as a result of the strenuous activities of actually involving with cultivating and harvesting these fruits, I cannot really tell. I cannot believe you own all these at your yard. It's actually beautiful as well as healthy. Plus, what is the name of the fruit in the beginning with spikes, it's soursop, or I'm I wrong?


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Wow impressive. I'm remembering my young age as well. We live in city and options for us to have gardens is very limited here. But we used to have a well and a small garden. Later our house was extended and built.

I used to visit my birth place Neyveli where the opportunity for gardening is very high. Even now my aunt lives there and is my favorite spot especially for the greenery. I hope some day I'll move to a house with gardens. It is one of my dreams.

Natural thing is the best you can never compares thing to the one they preserve.

Natural gives us everything, your parents did a great job by plant all this grow vegetables, fruits.

It good to have fruits vegetables in your own garden at home. Because it make you to feel comfortable and it will save you from some expensive.

And you will be eating very rich source and contain natural chemicals that help prevent you from have some system disorder.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

 3 years ago  

Funny, I am a lover of jackfruit too, and I have been known to eat a medium-sized one all by myself. My family prefers durian over jackfruit, but for me nothing compares. I also love boiled jackfruit seeds, one of my favorite things to add to rasam. Thanks for sharing this bountiful garden with us, glad you are visiting family and reconnecting with nature.


@NaturalMedicine supports wellness of body, mind, soul and earth on HIVE.
Come say hi via Lotus Chat or drop by our Hive Community - we'd love to have you!


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

This is really so lovely having difference kind of fruit around you is a great advantage..

In fact this can really fetch a lot of money if u are to engage in the business,especially now that thing look so costly and u will also see the one u will eat for yourself and your family..

In fact this picture carry the most fruit that I always love to eat.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Hi there! I was scrolling down my feeds when I saw this post. You know, all these were normal to me when we were kids since we grew up in a colony of religious group who were self sustaining hence my we eat our own Organic produce and all plant based, meaning most of them were vegetarians and no-meat on your tables. Actually, the effect to their health was amazing.

Love your gardens and all it produces! So very different from mine. :))

 3 years ago  

Love this as it imparts such an important message - local, seasonal produce is healthier, tastier and more environmentally conscious. Keep telling people this message! Sometimes people just don't think about it or know.

We are jackfruit in season in the tropics a couple of weeks ago whilst on holiday.. it was really lovely!