Some Of The Best Medicine, Comes From Celebrating Life!

in Natural Medicine3 years ago

Last weekend, we held our Summer Solstice Festival and it really exceeded all of our expectations. When you plan things like this, you never really know how it will turn out, but we were all so passionate about what we were doing, that we knew no matter how many people came, that it would be a success.


photo_2021-06-22_08-24-37.jpg

In the end around 400 people attended our event, with the largest crowd present for the Solstice Ceremony and the performances that followed. The energy was amazing throughout the whole two days. There was a wonderful market on the first day, with over 20 stalls, plus lots of wonderful food sold as well.

photo_2021-06-24_21-52-16.jpg

The collective ran a bar, which sold, pine needle tea, turmeric tea, a selection of juices, beer and wine. As well as delicious vegan burgers. We did underestimate the amount of people that would attend and by the second day we had run out of alcohol (which is really not a bad thing at all).

photo_2021-06-24_21-53-09.jpg

The Sunday, started out slowly, with those who had stalls arriving early to set up and help create a very chilled atmosphere. I was there early and after setting up my stall , I had a very refreshing dip in the pool.

photo_2021-06-24_21-53-28.jpg

The land where we held the festival, had four different terraces. With lots of fruit, nut and olive trees. the top terrace was where the kids area and camping was.The second terrace, had a pool and main dance space and stage. The third terrace was the chill out are and the fourth was the healing area.


photo_2021-06-22_09-06-48.jpg

The highlight for me, was definitely the ceremony that we held. It was beautiful how we were able to incorporate Spanish, Nordic and Celtic traditions, whilst highlighting the similarities that they all have. Each group sang a Solstice song and then made an offering to the Solstice fire.


photo_2021-06-20_22-43-10 (2).jpg

I led the Celtic group and asked everyone to make a pledge to the earth, a pledge that would create positive change within the world. As we focused on that pledge, I asked everyone in the ceremony to hum. That hum really united us all and the energy we created was amazing. I get goosebumps every time I think about it.


photo_2021-06-22_09-07-52.jpg

Afterwards we sang our Warrior song, which I wrote about in a post a few days back and then danced away the night, to the DJ's that came and played for us. The whole day for me, really represented what our collective is all about, connecting people and taking back responsibilty for our own lives, whilst creating our own independent infrastructures.


photo_2021-06-24_22-52-11.jpg

The next day was all about healing, with a drumming workshop, sound bath, shamanic journey and both Ecstatic dance and Biodanza. I took part in the drumming workshop which was great and also the Biodanza.


photo_2021-06-22_11-30-44.jpg

This was my first time to do a Biodanza workshop and although I didn't get to attend it all, the time I did attend was amazing. I loved the way in which we were encouraged to connect with others and also celebrate our connection to the earth true dance. This really resonated with me and I look forward to attending many more.

The whole festival, really re-energized me, it deepen my connection with the community and also with the earth. I had some really profound experiences, some with people whom I rarely knew and yet who I felt really could see who I was. Such is the power of coming together, to celebrate life and the earth, to celebrate all that we have achieved and what we still have to achieve.

image.png

Most of the photos were taken by a dear friend of mine.

image.png

image.png




<
image.png


DESERT ADVENTURE.png

Sort:  

Awesome weekend!!! I'm inspired to run a summer solstice festival next year where we are... it could be a great goal for us to look out for especially with the change of energy you know I'm trying to achieve there.

I love the healing day, great idea at the end. Good job holding space for so many people!

 3 years ago  

Yes you really should, it was such an awesome weekend and I still am getting really positive feedback about it. Be well, my friend, much love to you xxx

We are trying to get rid of all the bad energy that comes from some friends who like their hard drugs when they come hang out... By next summer solstice I think we'll have made it understood that it is now banned in the Sanctuary.

Sounds like you had a really beautiful experience! And it's lovely to see group events like this happening again, and also very cool that there were so many cross-cultural participants. We're Scandinavian Pagans around here, so we tend to celebrate "midsummer" on June 23rd even though it's not astronomically the solstice.

Bright Blessings!

 3 years ago  

Thank you @whitelightxpress, it was such a magical and inspiring festival. I hope you had a wonderful midsummer xxx

 3 years ago  

Oh I'm so happy for you that you have this beautiful community that came together to celebrate the Solstice in such a marvelous way!
Happy that it re-energized you and allowed you to make some new connections and have profound experiences!
It was a Happy Solstice indeed!

 3 years ago  

I am feeling very lucky @porters, it really recharged me and I still get goosebumps thinking about the magic we created. Thank you xxxxxx

 3 years ago  

Looks like a vibrant crowd and a hoot of a time. I haven't hung out with with even as much as 7-8 people for almost two years, but not by my own choice.


@NaturalMedicine supports wellness of body, mind, soul and earth on HIVE.
Come say hi via Lotus Chat or drop by our Hive Community - we'd love to have you!


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io