You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Challenge: Baking with Natural Yeast

in BreadBakers4 years ago

スクリーンショット 2020-04-17 12.36.29.png

I had your sister bread recently ... My daughter and I liked it somehow and ate few slices with butter 😁

It was made with beer yeast (white beer + water + sugar + flour), which a supermarket informed their customers. According to the supermarket, it's a Grandma's time method. I was tempted that I can make yeast alternative just in a day! But yeast water split to water and other part. It looked nothing was going on. I left it for 5 days in kitchen but no progress happened ...

Sort:  

I'm laughing! These breads and their yeasts need a lot of loving!
It is quite tasty, though, isn't it? It just doesn't look how we have come to expect bread to look.
I've just checked my Refreshment Dough (a sort of intermediate stage), it has separated but there are bubbles on the water and it smells a bit funky - not bad (or mouldy), but not especially yeasty. I'm going to wait a little longer. I'm reluctant to put more flour into it and then it is wasted ... dun-di-dun-dun ... 🤣

I don't know how to say, it has certain addictive taste ;) I made this kind of bread few times ...
And yes, on some point we have to stop gambling ... feeding precious flour to starter.