Bread bakers challenge - Best sandwich bread

in BreadBakers4 years ago (edited)

I saw @shanibeer do a post for this challenge. I thought I would post a sandwich I made today for lunch.

I do love sandwiches and have them most days. I take some to work with me. There is a canteen, but that gets expensive and with the lockdown there are restricted times I can go there. I like to eat when I am hungry. Today I was at home anyway, so I can do something hot.

Sandwich

This one is actually a combination of breads. I have been making bread for the family in our machine. Yesterday I did one that was mostly white flour with what wholemeal we had left plus a few porrige oats. Today I just had white. We have a big sack of that thanks to a friend who works at a mill. I put it on before running my half marathon and it was ready in time for lunch.

Loaf

It is a nicely proportioned loaf. This is the large size, but the maching can do an extra large too. I need to try that some time. It takes four hours to make, but there are rapid settings that give good results.

It has been a while since I had a veggie 'bacon' (facon?) sandwich. There are various types, but we had some Quorn brand. It has some of the smoky taste of bacon, but you cannot make it crispy. I am not intending to eat meat again, so this will do for me. I cooked the mushrooms first in some butter.

Bacon

The 'secret ingredient' in my bacon sandwiches is this chilli sauce. It is not particularly hot, but I like it. I prefer the sweet sauce to the peppery ones. I had some of those with veggie burgers and sausages last night.

Sauce

The family went for the white bread and I felt I should finish the brown, so I just got one slice of white. It all sliced well, but we often find that this bread ends up with a hole in the middle of some slices. I was thinking I should have done a couple more mushrooms.

Preparation

I did enjoy my sandwiches washed down with water and followed by a banana. That kept me going until dinner. I was doing various stuff around the house and garden.

Bon appetit!

Sort:  

Thank you for participating to the challenge @steevc! I was laughing when I read the "facon" part ;) ;) It's a really good naming ... Using chilli sauce is an interesting idea. I must try it. Seems the sandwich gave you energy to run half marathon for less than 2 hours. That's super!

My oven has blown a fuse or something like that, so we have to buy bread, which everybody is complaining about...

Bravo! Have you posted it in the challenge?
That chilli sauce looks very good :)

I have posted it there. I discovered that sauce years ago and not found another to beat it for my tastes.

Oh, that's great - good to support the challenge.
Where do you buy the sauce from? Someone else mentioned home made chilli sauce with tomatoes and apricots but the recipe hasn't arrived yet.

We get it from Sainsbury's. Home made would be cool, but I am no great cool. My daughter is more into experimenting. I'd love to get her posting on here, but she is less interested. She does have an account that she has not used.

Tasty looking sandwich!

Now I'm hungry! I need a machine like that one. On my parent's house they have one but they lowered their carb intake and stopped using it. The sanwich looks very good!

You can't beat fresh bread. It doesn't keep well, but then we finish it off in a day or so.

Yes I remember that we used to make one each day.

Wow, that is quite the sandwich. I could do the facon though. We used to eat a lot of Turkey bacon, but we eventually found out it isn't any better for you than the other stuff because of the high sodium content, so we just gave it up.

I don't generally check on the nutrition details of my food. I figure anything is okay if you don't overdo it. Daughter made a great chocolate tart that I just had a piece of :)

I tried a loaf last week and it failed to rise. Sod's law after it taking 6 weeks to get flour. I have enough for one more bash so that's a job for tomorrow.

I really like facon. It doesn't seem to be as readily available in our local supermarket but I grab it when I can.

Was your yeast okay? It goes off eventually. I keep mine in the fridge. I need to put on another loaf tonight for the morning.

It says it is still in date but it has been open a while. I managed to get a small packet from the Co-op so will be giving that a go this time.

Yeast can be hard to find. You would think the supply chain would have caught up by now, but I've seen people selling it for silly prices on ebay.

Wooowww,..this yummy,..

Good day

Never knew you are a great chef man.
Perhaps one day I can taste your delicacies

I'm not that good at cooking. The bread machine makes it easy and frying stuff is not hard. Luckily there are others in the family who cook better.