Horseshoe-shaped coconut bites

in Foodies Bee Hivelast year

I'm not sure if it's the fresh air, my increased physical activity, or something else, but I feel like I'm in Spain these days, so I must take a siesta every day.

Don't know if I've ever told you an anecdote from my childhood, when I sneaked into the room where we stored flour and decided to improvise snow, I literally sprinkled flour all over myself and around me.

The fun lasted until the moment I appeared in front of my mom, rest is the history...These days we have snow here and there, so improvisation won't occur again, and I still remember that scolding well.

Sugar is my weapon of choice in the battle against sleepiness!

I'm sure you're all aware of how glucose impacts our bodies; despite being named the number one physical enemy, together with white flour, humans can't however live without it.

Even if we wanted to, it is impossible to avoid it as it is present in almost everything we eat or drink. Is it recommended to eliminate sugar entirely?
It's not because it nourishes our muscles and brain, provides us energy, and if we lose it and consume more than we need, it is stored in our liver.

Sugar intake should not exceed 30 grams per day, or roughly 7 teaspoons.

I believe this is the lowest sugar dessert recipe I ever posted around here.😂 It ties in with my mom's recent birthday and snow, since coconut is commonly used in cake decorating as artificial snow or tinted green with cake coloring to resemble grass.

You'll need 200 g of flour, 100 g of shredded coconut, 50 g of sugar, 125 g of butter, 1 egg, and 1/2 bag of baking powder.

You will get around 15 horseshoes from this mixture, and knowing how they melt in your mouth, I instantly doubled it, and if you decide to try this classic amongst desserts once, you will definitely double it the second time.

Sift the flour, then add the coconut, sugar, and baking powder and stir evenly to combine all of the dry ingredients. The butter should be refrigerated and sliced into chunks, add the egg and knead with your hands until the chunks of butter melt and bind all the other ingredients. After baking, the mixture will be firm to the touch, and the cookies will be crumbly.

Divide the dough into equal parts and form each into a roll shape with your palm.

And then gently bend the roll into a horseshoe shape.

That's all! Preheat the oven to 200°F and bake them for about 15 minutes, do not over baked them as they should remain white.

For storing, a tin can is preferable; this is the type of cake that is best after a few days. I say that all the time, but they don't survive up to that in our home. It is not recommended to taste them while they are still warm since coconut need time to absorb its aroma after heating.

Freshly baked and cracked. The crust will harden while cooling, but the inside will stay soft and chewy; you won't even notice the flour, and they are sweet enough to accompany coffee or tea.

And a little more sugar, powdered sugar, roll or sprinkle on top. I stopped rolling cookies in powdered sugar a long time ago, because I usually toss away the excess, sifting the sugar through a sieve is more practical for me.

Bon appetite!

untitled_linkedin_banner_1584_120_px_.png

Sort:  

CKq55bDMMa5C9zjdaYBZxnPMSS25AZZuNXNLEYfzw2o7RznvGD2vzBRbDH4vP4bFjA2DoCbXAwo9bZBWrEKeCNaumQtyN4TPp8KNR7DwgJAmPxhmWiEeMsAaUB1qorVXzqBzT95BCg7ey5BxeLdfXVFFx9gv14JaHwZrnHGXMU9JYxCPVUow8TnBRwFuii6EuvsU9aafvRqVqjJ9o343ccawwh.png

Yum! You have been curated by @sirenahippie on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Well isn't this just beautiful to look at? And I'm sure it very tasty as well.

You should definitely come join us tomorrow for #creative-sunday at the Hive Learners community to share more amazing recipes like this. I also will be nominating this post for some upvotes from them (@lazy-panda).

Here's a link to read more about #creative-sunday, and don't worry about the verification part for now. You can do that later in the week after participating tomorrow.

https://peakd.com/hive-153850/@kronias/hive-learners-community-creative-sunday-initiative-announcement-oror-everyone-is-winner

You should definitely come join us tomorrow for #creative-sunday at the Hive Learners community to share more amazing recipes like this. I also will be nominating this post for some upvotes from them (@lazy-panda).

Very much appreciated, thank you for bringing that out, had no idea and sounds fun! (:
Many thanks for sharing @lazy-panda 💫

You can do that later in the week after participating tomorrow.

Luckily there will be more sunday's, see you around!

Oh I love this, so appetizing! I could make these wonderful cookies for colleagues at work because these days I am thinking about what to make and take to work for my birthday. 😊

These are oldies but goldies, no one is crazy enough to say no to coconut!
Transportation will be peace of cake, let me know the impressions ;)

Enjoy the party, congratulations!

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @oks2crypto.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

and decided to improvise snow, I literally sprinkled flour all over myself and around me.

seems to be a constant wish for snow..😅 I love that picture!!
but improvising snow by sprinkling sugar all over the horseshoes fits you well too:)

Yeah, some might say I'm snow needy...😂 I can explain my childish reaction, I just miss the snowy winters we had, and climate is taking that from me, hoooo!

but improvising snow by sprinkling sugar all over the horseshoes fits you well too:)

Certainly much better than flour.

and climate is taking that from me, hoooo!

yes that is sad!! and I feel like as kids there was meters of snow every where quite often, that was too much fun!!