Roasted Chayote Salad

Gifted with a rather abundant supply of Chayote fruits this week, I was a little stumped what to do with them. While there were plenty of suggestions online and locally the suggestion was "curry", nothing really took my fancy.

And so I posted about chayote last week (post link: Chayote, Food Security & Sustainability) and got one really great suggestion from @buckaroobaby - to roast them, like you would a potato or a sweet potato. And so this afternoon, in my modest little kitchen here in Chiang Mai, Northern Thailand, I officially created a new dish:

Roasted Chayote Salad.

ChayoteSalad1 (2).jpg

My Ingredients:

Chayote & a little oil, salt & dried oregano for roasting them
Broccoli
Red cabbage
Green, purple or snake beans
Tomatoes - cherry, roma or little local Thai tomatoes like mine
Roasted green pumpkin kernels
Spring onions
Fresh coriander
Small to medium red onion
Lime (or lemon) juice & a tiny drizzle of organic black sesame oil for dressing

ChayoteSalad7 (2).jpg

I started with some of the Chayote we'd been given, and used 4 of the bigger ones.

ChayoteSalad8 (2).jpg

I peeled them, quartered them, and then took out the seeds.

ChayoteSalad5.jpg

Next I cut them into biggish chunks, sprinkled a little mineral salt, dried oregano and a drizzle of oil, and mixed it all up so the pieces were coated.

ChayoteSalad4.jpg

Then they went onto a flat try in an already HOT little toaster oven for about 30 mins till they were tender, smelled yummy and were staring to brown. So what DOES roasted chayote taste like? It's not very different from roasted zucchini. It's a GREAT food choice for people choosing to lower their carbohydrate intake, whilst getting maximum nutrition!

ChayoteSalad3 (2).jpg

While the chayote were roasting away, I blanched my snake beans and broccoli and then drained and iced them so they'd keep their colour. And I shredded up my red cabbage finely and chopped up my Thai tomatoes.

While the Chayote was cooling, I sliced a smallish red onion, chopped some spring onions, chopped some coriander and got my roasted green pumpkin kernels ready.

ChayoteSalad6 (2).jpg

This next step is critical: pause for 10 mins and enjoy a leisurely glass of wine or a pre-dinner whiskey whilst feeling like a complete kitchen goddess! 🍷

Toss everything together and then let it rest for 5 mins. Sprinkle with a few extra roasted pumpkin seeds just before serving.

Voila!!

Flavourful, filling, incredibly nutritious and superb value. Time in the kitchen was only about 30 mins - ok 40 if you include the wine break.
ChayoteSalad2.jpg

Cooking with new food sources and ingredients we're not super familiar with can be so much fun, and can open up a whole new world of flavours and ideas.

Life is too short to eat same-same every day.

What's your favourite way of eating chayote? I'd love to hear about it in the comments below.





HiveOnBoard1.gif

Get Your FREE Hive Account



Fair Trade, Sustainable, Cruelty Free. Shipping Worldwide..png

Come check out my Pure Thai Naturals online store

TwitterTiny100x100.png
Find me on Twitter: Pure Thai Naturals @BreugelMarike & @HiveLift

Sort:  

Damn that looks delicious! I don’t know if I’ve ever had chayote but I think I’ve seen it in the stores! Maybe I’ll have to give it a whirl and see what it’s all about!

Gotta say it WAS really good. I've never had a great experience with the fruits before - my mom used to boil them to tasteless death & then apply nutmeg. 😆 But this is one of the superfoods cultivated by the Aztecs & astoundingly nutritious, so I wanna learn to prepare it well. The Good News? Florida they will grow like a weed!!

OOOH - what about roast chayote guacamole? I imagine roasting themwould dry them out a little for it to work? I can't wait to try one - I planted the ones I was gifted so I still have no idea what they are like to cook with. Do they grate well? Do you think a ferment would work? I'm so intrigued... breaded and fried? layered with potato and kohl rabi in a gratin?

Fermenting sounds like a SERIOUS PLAN. And you know me - a mad keen fermenter. 😆 Really like the idea of the roasted chayote guacamole too, or a roasted chayote hummus. You're gonna need all these ideas and more, cos this is one heck of a prolific plant!! I'm planting a couple too, since I ADORE the very young greens stir fried with garlic - it appeals to me to always be able to have that as a dinner option with an omelette.

Oh yum. Mine are only a foot high at the moment, so if the house isn't sold be the time they're ready to eat I'll be sure to post about it!

Stressful time selling a house, but I have no doubt that yours has incredible appeal for people wanting to transition to more sustainable living. Tassie is a sure thing!

I must see if I find any in my local stores as it would be considered an exotic thing. Speaking of exotic stuff, I just tried Physallis, I absolutely loved the taste. So I am on a mission of trying out new exotic stuff.

What a great diva moment, to have a glass of wine while the food is almost ready. That's the way we do it haha. Have a blessed Sunday🤗

Let there be more Diva moments in the world - the difference between existing and LIVING.

Yes, in cooler climates chayote would be considered exotic - much the same as a brussel sprout is considered wildly exotic (and insanely expensive) in Thailand. LOL. Thanksgiving Week here they had 6 small sprouts for USD $20. 🤣

Appreciated the Follow too - thank you. 😍

Brussel sprouts exotic? Hahaha and when I think that here in Europe some folks , like me, are not even going crazy after this delicacy lol.

Insane right? It was the bitching point of the week for the expat world here. 🤣

Laaaawrd that looks absolutely delicious mevrouwtje!

Also...did you get a new camera? Loving the quality and they look really professional (hello food blogger)

LOL... my lovely tech assistant (Miss 17) showed me how to change up the settings on my camera. Trying also to remember to wear my reading glasses when I take photos 😆

Bedankt Mevrouwtje. Wij komen volgende jaar naar Nederland. Augustus. 😍

Just from changing some setting? Hmmmmm neat work on that actually!

Yay! Holiday in Hollandia time, we should surely have a meetup beer then yeah!

!BEER


Hey @artemislives, here is a little bit of BEER from @karinxxl for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.

Yummy! And? What did you think @artemislives?

I think it's like the cousin of a zucchini - same texture and mild flavour. I'm going to attempt a Zucchini cake made with chayote this week - watch your newsfeed!!! 😍

Oh yum! I love that idea

I never ate roasted chayote salad. But i think, it must be delicious. Thanks for sharing with us.

Very welcome, @aratalks - and welcome to Hive!! Commenting on other people's posts is a GREAT way to get started - to see what works and how people engage. Please tag me in your next post so I can support you.

Obviously @artemislives. Many many thanks for supporting me! Hope, our friendship will remain intact.

It looks deliciously fresh and colorful, very pleasing to the eye and I'm sure to the palate as well.

Thank you, @amart29 - appreciating the support and the time to read and comment. Best wishes from Thailand.

I only know stir-fried chayote and this one is totally new to me but worth trying! Thanks for sharing. :D

You mean stir fried chayote fruit? I'm used to stir frying only the greens but hey, good suggestion - I'm going to try that too in the next days - maybe with mushrooms and something green. Having a think about that.

Hi There!
So Happy To See 👀 You!
I have never eaten Chayote, but it did look good!
Wishing You an Awesome rest of the weekend!
👍🏼🙏🏼😇🙏🏼👍🏼

Good to see you here, @lesmann - hope you are continuing to feel inspired and happy and creative in your world. Off to check out your latest art in a bit...

Hello again!
Just getting going again after a long pause...
But I plan to be a bit more consistent,
So there should be better things soon!
Thanks though, and have a wonderful day!
👍🏼🌄☺️🌄👍🏼

Simple is best...and healthy. Looks delicious...👍

I love simple food & also I'm eating lighter as a grow older - I FEEL so much better and sleep better without all that heavy food slowing me down. Yu have chayote in India too, right?? What does Indian cuisine do with them??

Yes, the sleep is so much better when you eat less and healthier, this is what I also noticed

Chayote is found mostly in Southern part...so I am not aware much about it...


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Yummmmm! I almost forgot to make it back around to this post after I saw it pop up on Twitter. I haven't had chayote in forever, and never roasted. I've only had it in a slaw, I believe. So good that way, but I can imagine it's delicious cooked, too. And I'm liking where you and @riverflows are heading with the fermentation. I've got sauerkraut bubbling away right now and would love to keep adding to my repertoire of good ferments!

Wow, it seems so good! Love it, thanks for this nice receipe =D