You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Roasted Chayote Salad

OOOH - what about roast chayote guacamole? I imagine roasting themwould dry them out a little for it to work? I can't wait to try one - I planted the ones I was gifted so I still have no idea what they are like to cook with. Do they grate well? Do you think a ferment would work? I'm so intrigued... breaded and fried? layered with potato and kohl rabi in a gratin?

Sort:  

Fermenting sounds like a SERIOUS PLAN. And you know me - a mad keen fermenter. 😆 Really like the idea of the roasted chayote guacamole too, or a roasted chayote hummus. You're gonna need all these ideas and more, cos this is one heck of a prolific plant!! I'm planting a couple too, since I ADORE the very young greens stir fried with garlic - it appeals to me to always be able to have that as a dinner option with an omelette.

Oh yum. Mine are only a foot high at the moment, so if the house isn't sold be the time they're ready to eat I'll be sure to post about it!

Stressful time selling a house, but I have no doubt that yours has incredible appeal for people wanting to transition to more sustainable living. Tassie is a sure thing!