When Life Give You Lemons

Lemons are something of an exotic & expensive luxury here in Thailand, where we use LIMES by preference, which are always abundant, local and cheap. But over the last few years, a few more lemons have been surfacing at local markets as clever Thai people have started to grow what they think western expats and tourists (with - they think 😆 - more money to spend) want.

FFWD to last week when I was at the vegetarian co-op in town picking up Black Rice, when I saw these beauties!!

Lemons1.jpg

I bought only 2 at 15 baht (USD $0.50) each, thinking initially they were Som-O (pomelos) - an Asian less-bitter sort of grapefruit.

"NOT Som-O, Madame!" the sales assistant laughed. "Is lemon. BIG lemon."

As soon as I got back to the office, I put the bigger of the two lemons on a scale, only to discover that the bigger one weighed in a OVER 1 KG. The smaller of the two lemons?

Lemons2.jpg

850 grams!

The SIZE of them presented somewhat of a practical problem. 🍋😆

Lemons4.jpg

And so I ended up gouging out a small segment with a small sharp knife and putting it through my small teak hand-lime squeezer.

Lemons6 (2).jpg

That worked! Yay!! And they were just so absurdly juicy!

BUT...

They lacked the serious sharpness of a true lemon and a discerning palette (mine!) was able to detect a distinct pomelo-grapefruit after-taste. Very delish, I might add, and perfect for a vodka & soda cocktail. 🍸

My purist organic friends made suggestions it was some weird frankenfood, since the first fruit I cut had not even one seed. But I was THRILLED to see the second fruit full of mature seeds ready to plant.

Lemons5 (2).jpg

YES, I am going to grow them and see what happens and I had more than enough seeds to share with a friend. Cos the world can never have enough healthy, vitamin C rich citrus for mixing with green tea or vodka, or adding to baking, salads and yummy Thai food recipes.

I'm still none the wiser HOW these huge 'lemons' came into being here in Northern Thailand, but not getting too stressed about it and, rather, feeling grateful.

If life gives you BIG lemons, make more lemonade! 🤣 That should be MUCH easier now.


HiveOnBoard1.gif

Get Your FREE Hive Account



Fair Trade, Sustainable, Cruelty Free. Shipping Worldwide..png

Come check out my Pure Thai Naturals online store

TwitterTiny100x100.png
Find me on Twitter: Pure Thai Naturals @BreugelMarike & @HiveLift

Sort:  

Holy smokes those are some Frankenstein lemons lets us know if you manage to sprout them.

They def DO have the Franken vibe to them, no? But I think just a combo of clever hybrid with ideal organic growing conditions. They came from the Buddhist communist community who are super-organic and who run the not-for-profit veggie co-op here in Chiang Mai.

Whaat the fuck. Thats some big lemons haha, shit! I have never seen that in my life :D

I took a huge step back first, too... like WOW! And organic too.

Haha damn!
Ofcouse its Organic, its beautiful! :D

Amazing! All organic?

Yup - all organic! Grown by the Buddhist community that runs the Vegetarian Co-Op here in Chiang Mai. Thailand's answer to Findhorn?? 😆

Findhorn? What's that?😊

Findhorn is an iconic organic community in Scotland - and renowned for the MASSIVE veggies and fruit they grew just by talking to them, singing to them and providing them with an idyllic natural environment. https://sanda-halcyondays.blogspot.com/2014/07/what-happened-at-findhorn.html

Cool! I talk, sing & flirt with my plants,too...now i only need some tropical sun!😉

But it's true that plants feel the energy. Once i created a bed in Feng Shui Style with meander shapes/flows i got 3 meter high Cherry Tomatoes!😀

Wow these are lemons on steroids🤣🤣 I can't believe they are organic...spectacular.

😆 it's not only the mold that grows like there's no tomorrow in the tropics. 😆

These are really big lemons

Totally HUGE 🍋 😍

Really Really Really Big Lemon! Are they mutant lemons? 😆

I think hybrid rather than mutant... 😆 but yes, they look like they might suddenly sprout limbs or something. Ginormous!!

Heyyy, those lemons are huuuugeee!

So they may be a cross of pomelo and lemon? :D

Slight pomelo taste... the tough segment dividers suggest pomelo hybrid for sure.

But the seeds, skin and the oil in the skin all scream LEMON. 🍋

It is the biggest lemon I have ever seen, a pleasure to prepare a refreshing juice with it.

It's a perfect fruit, in many ways, for preparing fresh yummy juice. And both fruits were DRIPPING. Sooooo good!

Omg!😱
Are you sure?Is it lemon? I think it is pomelo. 😆

I THOUGHT it was a pomelo when I picked it up. The lady at the veggie co-op told me point blank it wasn't - that it was a LEMON. Smell of skin and colour are all lemon. Taste and the think segment divers look pomelo. Taste is half-half - not as sour as a true lemon.

A carefully cultivated hybrid, methinks.

WOW! Those are hands down the biggest I've ever seen! I'd be making lemonade for days.

I'm excited by that thought. Life is HOT in Thailand and the idea of growing more of these beauties for future yummy & healthy drinks is a great one. 😊

If life gives you BIG lemons, make more lemonade!

Wow!

I guess that's why they invented long drink glasses...
voor limonade van dit soort reuze citroenen

Groetjes!

Groetjes, Vincent! 😘

I am getting more of these fruits and putting the peel in vodka for 6 months. 😆 And yes, more long, cool, healthy cocktails!! Gonna grow me some too...

Hope all is well with you. x

Omg lol 😳

wow that lemon is huge! lemon juice please!

That’s some lemonade

LOL - yup - that's a LOTTA lemonade!

they are very beautiful lemons, a pitcher of lemonade should come out of each half lemon

LOTS of juice! And so yummy with fresh organic honey. I love the way that nature gives us so much choice for health and great taste!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Wow!!! A lemon big like this, I haven't even came across an orange that is as big as this.. the lemon is very big very sure it would make two glass of lemonade juice 😅

Half a lemon easily makes a pitcher - 4 glasses - of lemonade. Sooooo good! Appreciate you stopping by!

 3 years ago  Reveal Comment

Actually there are SO MANY varieties of lemon and lime - and they vary so much in size, juice levels, flavor etc. Hybrids are fascinating and something that does occur naturally, only just usually very infrequently.